We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Motel, Decent Price”
Review of The Admiral Motel

The Admiral Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Admiral Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The rooms were clean, the price was right. It had wifi. Stayed here on a recent trip to Old Orchard Beach. Was an 8 minute drive. Close to flea markets. Family run, they do try hard and I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleShaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The rooms are small and dark - one window in front mostly taken up by A/C and everything is loud -- the A/C, the toilet, the traffic on Route 1. (bring earplugs) But more importantly, it's very clean and the owners were friendly. Request for more towels quickly met. Also like fact there is continental breakfast.
For high season close to the coast of Maine this is a bargain at $118 a night. This old-fashioned motel is good choice for those on a budget -- has micro and frig as well. Also close to beaches and other attractions in area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minimainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here for an extended stay as I was working in the area. My toilet leaked for the entire time and mildewed, housekeeping never came. TERRIBLY RUDE OWNERS! Stay at any other local motel but here! Well I would avoid the Downeaster down the street ad well, But

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We needed a place to stay overnight en-route to Seneca Falls from St-John New Brunswick, booked late so limited choice on a budget. This motel had everything we needed; close to our route, convenient parking outside the room, and even though it's out of town there are good restaurants, fast food outlets and fuel station close by. The accommodation is laid out as standard roadside motel style. Our room was very clean but the fridge didn't work. The decor was ok but more importantly the bed fairly comfortable, good hot shower, although the AC was very noisy so we were glad it was not too hot and didn't need to use it. The check-in could be easier, we had to keep ringing the bell and felt a bit like we were disturbing the owners. However, the owners were helpful and pleasant. I woudl use again for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: All rooms in a row and facing the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaHolidays13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Clean, quite, friendly and accomidating staff. We will stay there again. Reasonable rates in a good location. Surprisingly nice contenental breakfast served in the morning which saved our family a bundle.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blazeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I made a reservation for this motel. When I checked in and saw and smelled my room I felt instant regret and some trepidation. The motel is old, the rooms are not kept up and it is in an isolated spot. I was traveling alone. I tried to take a nap, but couldn't sleep. When I met back up with the people I had come to see, they asked me how the motel was. I told them it was terrible. They said I definitely should not stay, that they had plenty of room, do we went and got my stuff. What a relief not to have to spend the night there. Not only was the room and bathroom bad, the air conditioner was tiny and very noisy. It could be a nice place if they fixed it up, got a more secure lock system, and aired the rooms out from the previous guest. If my friends had not offered me a bed in their home, I think I may just have driven home that night. Awful!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conniefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Checked in to find a dirty room that smelled terrible. The floors were worn and the bathroom had a slippery film on the surface. To our surprise, on the wall was a smashed cockroach. That was enough, so we went to the office to indicate we could not stay. The manager refused to refund any part of the stay and was not sympathetic. The pictures look clean but I would avoid this place and spend a few extra dollars for a nicer location in Portland. This is one to avoid--

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Saco / Biddeford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Motel

Address: 549 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9709
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £48 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Admiral Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Admiral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Admiral Motel Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing