We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We visited Portland on a quick family trip with my 4yr old and 6 yr old. Room was perfect for family - big enough with a DOOR in between the rooms - which allowed kids to fall asleep and adults to stay up. Pull-out couch was well- a pull out couch but bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly too. We'll be coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yul_bos_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar G, Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Hello yul_bos_guy,

We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay at our hotel. Here at the Residence Inn in Scarborough we thrive to keep all of our guest 100% happy all of the time. We are very happy to hear that the suite you stayed in was up to your liking and we are definitely glad that you will be back to visit us on your next trip. Please remember to stop by for our evening cookies with your family with i'm sure your children will love.

Thank You for your review and I can't wait to have you back in our hotel for another perfect stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed here one night with the dogs. I requested a second floor room near the stairs, and the staff was very good about accommodating this. Also checked in early, and they worked hard to accommodate that as well. We had a one bedroom suite, which was well appointed and quite new-looking. Location-wise, it's not that far from Portland, and there are a lot of nearby strip malls with interesting places to grab something to eat. One thing I was disappointed in was the TV. They didn't have any on demand movie options, which was a bit of a bummer. Luckily, Bridesmaids was on a regular channel, so it all turned out ok!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We love Marriotts, and rarely have a bad stay. However, we stayed at this Residence Inn last weekend, and the stay was not up to par with other Marriotts. The halls were dark and dreary. I did not feel like the place was as clean as it could be. I slept in the sofa bed in the room. When we returned after our first night stay, housekeeping left the sofa bed unmade--so I had to make the bed myself. For the price, it was not worth it....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDumont821984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On the good side: 1- it was convenient and less expensive than similar classed hotels in Portland. 2- The staff were friendly. 3 - It was spacious with a kitchen area, living area with gas fireplace and good connectivity.

What we didn't like:

1 - Noisy: Our 2 bedroom suite faced the highway. Although the volume varied with the time of the day there was a constant sound of highway traffic our entire time there.

2 - Maintenance/housekeeping: 1 - The light in one bathroom (toilet and shower area) was out so that it was necessary to use the bathroom in the dark if we closed the door or in the half light from the hall if we left the door open. By the time we realized it it was 10 pm and we didn't want maintenance staff running around in our room. 2 - The previous month's calendar for afternoon dishes on offer was the only one in the room. 3 - On our arrival we found the dishwasher had dirty dishes in it so that there were few clean dishes in the cabinets; there was a note informing us that the dishwasher had not been run because it wasn't full as if we had dirtied them. 4 - The inside of the refrigerator was less than clean. 5 - There were hairs in the shower and mold (see photos). Ew! It was unsettling to know the bathroom and kitchen had cleanliness issues and made it difficult to enjoy our stay.

3 - Service: Requested an extra blanket; an hour passed and no one came. After the second call they delivered a thin synthetic blanket with hairs on it. Ew!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

First let me say that it's a great location- about 10 minutes from Portland. I had read all the reviews before booking and had high expectations. Of course it helped that it was a marriott chain since that is always my stepmom's first choice. As per other's advice we requested a room on the "quiet" side and noise was not an issue at all. We were in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite on the first floor (105-106, I think). We had to switch rooms due to dog or cat hair that was on the couch and got all over my stepmom. We were unaware that they allowed pets in the rooms. We covered it with a sheet, then decided to call front desk. However, neither of the phones worked so my stepmom had to walk to front desk. She said the lady behind the desk was very apologetic and quickly offered to move us to another room. The other room had the same layout. Very roomy and beds were pretty comfortable. However, the room was not cleaned good! The cabinets are old and worn and the kitchen cabinets had "stuff" splashed on them. The coffee pot had dust all on the top of it. There were cobwebs in the bedroom I stayed in, as well as the door to the bathroom was very dirty- dust all over the trimmed out edges, not to mention the "stuff" that was splashed on the wall behind the door! Our headboard was dirty, you could see finger smudges on the picture over our bed, as well as the bathroom mirror. Just dirty!! I didn't even check the bedroom/bathroom my stepmom was staying in! We had to request a new comforter for our room due to having a red mark on it that looked like blood! Could have been finger nail polish, but we weren't risking it! Gross! The fireplace didn't work (worked in the first room, but not the second). The hall way had a foul odor! We ate dinner in Portland each night so we didn't get a chance to try their complimentary dinner. We did eat breakfast there one morning. Your normal selection, but it was good considering. The set up is good too, to help alleviate the congestion in the food area This hotel has high ratings for a reason, but we couldn't figure out why. Very disappointed! Seriously, cleanliness means a lot!!! Housekeeping definitely needs to be trained better on how to thoroughly clean rooms! Once we came back in after they cleaned, they had left cabinet doors open, the stool ottoman not pushed back together- just the little things that matter. But hey, I could have even dealt with that kind of sloppiness if that actually cleaned up the dirt! Wouldn't go back nor recommend!

Room Tip: As per other reviewer's advice, request a room on the "quiet" side to keep from hearin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeLee7576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

There for 1 night and not long enough to take advantage of the very pleasant suite. It was a quiet location, even though we were not far away from the main highway. There was good shopping around if needed. Our suite was spacious and comfortable and cheerfully decorated. It was an extra plus knowing free dinners and breakfasts were available. Burgers on the grill outside were on the evening's menu. Only criticism, for longer stays in that particular suite, would be that kitchen cabinet doors needed reinforcing (one was falling off the hinges) and the tub area needed attendance. Wallpaper there had been damaged by water splashing out. For 1 night, it was a good choice for us and we were quite comfortable. If staying for a long period I would hope for better maintained kitchens/baths.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IssueBiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

As Marriott members we stayed with points for the weekend. The hotel was very clean and conveniently located to Portland. The only negative would be a quite noticable detergent like smell in the room; Also the Maine 95 highway is directly behing the hotel and you will hear it. Not unbearable and I would definately stay again..There is a new Courtyard due to open in downtown Portland spring of 14 so I may give that a try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetieBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Scarborough

Address: 800 Roundwood Dr, Scarborough, ME 04074-8219
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £81 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott Portland/Scarborough hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when visiting the greater Portland Maine area. Our suites are designed to keep you comfortable and connected to all of the fun things to do in Portland, Maine. Whether you are here for business or pleasure or a fine mix of both, we can help you go exploring. Our luxury apartment hotel is conveniently located near Maine’s scenic beaches, breathtaking state parks, historic lighthouses, or destination shopping areas including World Famous Outfitter Cabela’s or Maine’s own L.L. Bean. For a truly unique experience, enjoy harness racing at Scarborough Downs or auto racing at Beechridge Motor Speedway. Our Portland/Scarborough hotel is just minutes away from Portland’s downtown district and historic old port area. Whether you are looking for a uniquely Maine dining experience or a national chain restaurant, there is something nearby to satisfy even the most selective palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Residence Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Residence Inn
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing