We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
US$170
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
ExtendedStay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
US$172
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Higgins Beach Inn(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$337
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Admiral Motel(Scarborough)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Holiday House Inn(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
141
87
52
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
87
52
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskone bedroom suitehot tubhome friesscrambled eggsan upgradeown bathroomsocial hourindoor poolbreakfast areafirst floorbasketball courtsitting areayogurtcomplimentary breakfastold portold orchard beach
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great visit to Maine and one of the reasons was our stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The amenities were as listed. The pool could have been 5-10 degrees warmer. Otherwise, it was all good. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The Hotel has what you'd find in typical Residence Inn by Marriott. Free breakfast, kitchenettes in the rooms with a fridge, microwave and range, an indoor pool and a basketball court outside.

Overall the room was fine. The floors were a bit worn in the room and a little dated in the bathroom, but that's expected somewhat in most hotels unless they've had recent room renovations. Also they claim to have a heated pool, but my kids didn't want to swim in it for more than a few minutes because it was too cold. Indoor heated pools that aren't warm is a big pet peeve of ours. Hotels are looking to keep costs low and unfortunately keeping the water warm adds expense, so they neglect to keep it warm enough for guest enjoyment. This pool was really small too, so how much could heating it to a desirable temp really cost?

Anyhow, here's our true gripe with this hotel. We are Marriott Elite Gold members and pretty dedicated to Marriott overall. As Gold members, one of the benefits listed on the Marriott website is a 'Complimentary Room Upgrade' upon availability at check in.

For some reason, you are NEVER proactively offered an upgrade by the front desk. We've never once been offered an upgrade upon checking in by any Marriott brand hotel, instead, we always have to ask if an upgrade is available and almost every time you hear the same excuse. This time was no different. We checked in early around 2pm, and literally one minute before walking in the door to check in, we looked at the available rooms on the Marriott app on our iPhone. The room we reserved was a studio suite, but as of 2pm there was a one bedroom suite available on their website. So we asked the front desk if an upgrade was available since we are Gold members and we were told 'the hotel is almost sold out, there are no upgrades available.' So we explained to her on the website it shows a one bedroom suite is still available, and her response was 'they oversell the rooms so if someone books that particular room, we would have to give them a studio when they checked in.'

I'm sorry, but I'm not buying it. As I write this review at 11:00pm the same day we checked in, not only does the website show a 1 bedroom suite is STILL available, but a 2 bedroom suite is also available.

So if someone booked either the 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom suite right now (11pm) and they came to check in, are you telling me you wouldn't be able to give them that room? If that's the case, then you are misleading your customers by showing those rooms as being available. If that's not the case, then you lied to one of your Gold Elite guests.

Overall, the hotel is fine, just don't expect to get any special treatment by being loyal Marriott guests. In fact, I'm starting to wonder why Marriott even has a loyalty program since a Gold status seems to mean, just another customer.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Skiz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Traveled south from northern Maine to Scarborough for "mental health days" for the wife, which of course included much shopping!
Residence Inns have always been great and this one did not disappoint. Asked for and received a first floor room, which was perfect for our needs. Got the Queen bed suite, although a king would have been a little roomier.
Quiet room, away from the street. Used the pool every day. Breakfast and "social hour" were fine as well.
A snowstorm was in the works north along our travel route home so we elected to stay an extra night.
Absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: First floor all rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very convenient to get to, and close to shops and restaurants. Rooms are clean (though need updating, wall paper in bathroom was pealing off).
Staff dis a fantastic job of keeping the place reasonably clean with the heavy snow and ice.

Watch out for the corridor on the 3rd floor, smells as if a skunk went past. The smell is contained only to the corridor and did not extend to the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I usually stay at Residence Inn when ever possible while traveling. I asked for a room NOT against the highway and was informed that was how the rooms are set up, might just as well have slept on the side if the road it would have been the same noise level. Both bath rooms had foreign hair, one in the sink they other on the floor and tub. The kitchen had food crumbs on the stove and floor and there was some dried up food on the floor in front of the couch. Maybe they need to hold training classes for the employees on what cleaning entails. I will continue to stay at Residence Inn but NEVER this one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 61sarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews