We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Portland, but...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wassamki Springs Campground
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were just traveling through, and called ahead to see if they had a spot for the night and when she charged us 50 dollars "plus taxes" we figured it would be a nice place. We arrived at about 2 in the afternoon. Our spot was right next to the office on a patch of grass with no fire pit and no picnic table. It had NOTHING. I started this review on a beautiful morning stuck inside my trailer because there was no picnic table. No picnic table meant that we will had to pack up and leave Just to get a cup of coffee. We couldn't leave as early as we wanted because we had to wait for the office to open to take a shower. The tiny shower closet is locked, maybe they are trying to keep the spiders in there? It was so small, a closet with one shower and not enough room to undress, nothing to sit on, low ceiling and a shelf above your head. (not enough room for a shelf below your head) It was cruddy, with spiders in the (very close) corners. When checking out the lady muttered that if I wanted a picnic table I should have asked for one. I just think that I shouldn't have to ask.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elkaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We actually visited this campground a year ago to see if it looked good for camping near Portland which is 15 minutes away. The people in the office were very friendly and it 'looked' fine. So, we scheduled a trip and asked for a site in "I" which was grassy and open but were given T19 which was a pull through and on dirt. Once your bump out is out along with your neighbors on both sides, it is like being in a sandwich. We never unpacked our chairs or rug because we didn't spend any time outside the unit because there was no space. There are technically fire rings available but if you started a fire you would have either set your unit or your vehicle on fire it was so close. The roads are dirt and are full of holes, and when it rains there is standing water everywhere to the depth that we had to jump off our last step in order to get out. The beach area is okay but be sure to wear water shoes because it is slimy and squishy. There are a lot of seasonal sites and some are not too neat. The campground is also on a flight pattern for a local airport so there are planes coming in for a landing every 20-40 minutes 24/7. If your only expectation is to be close to Portland, then it might work out. But, for us, we will look elsewhere for $57.50 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family just spent a weekend here. While we had a nice time, there were things we liked and disliked about the campground.

Pros:
-Great kids program and activities.
- Water is crystal clear
- Campground is clean, bathrooms reasonably clean
-Very friendly staff

Cons:
-Tent sites are in the middle of 2 roads, so there is absolutely no privacy. People kept walking through our site, like literally inches away from our fire while we were trying to enjoy it.
- The "sandy beach" is more like a sandy bank. You can't put a chair and sit in the sand because the hill is so steep. Beach is open to the public during the day.
-They have picnic areas for public events that are right across from the tent sites. There were literally 50+ people right across from us, walking through our site. Again, no privacy.
- They advertise activities, but they are not all available. We were unable to use anything in the rec room and the balls were almost always out. The only boat rentals they have are paddleboats.
-Quiet hours are not enforced
-Some areas were not well maintained. We watched a teen sit on a picnic table and the bench broke underneath him. We went on a hayride and the rotting bench collapsed under my husband (who is not at all overweight).

Overall, we had a nice weekend. I would consider returning, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AmyCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This campground looks better on their website than it actually is. Our site got changed when we got there (not a big deal for us). This place is great if you tent and want to camp on the lake. The lake is great. But, they do give access to the public. So, it's not just for campers (also not a big deal for us). My biggest complaint is how often people cut through other people's sites here. it can also get a bit loud at night. Other than that, there are activities for the kids like other campgrounds and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a site by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The office area and lake are very nice but when you drive back into the camping sites it is a different story. If it rains at all many of the sites are totally ponded with water. Ground is muddy and sites are very close together.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank PrimeTimeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The lake was very clean! We had a great time the last summer. We will be back. This place is a great for kids and older couple. We come here to get away and relax. Bingo was fun!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mermaidlounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Nice, well kept, clean campground. Enjoyed our stay, wife was happy that it was located close enough to shopping. Will stay again if we're back in this area.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wassamki Springs Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamki Springs Campground

Address: 56 Saco Street, Scarborough, ME 04074
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Wassamki Springs Campground Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing