We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely site” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wassamki Springs Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wassamki Springs Campground
Lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely site”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Only stayed one night but the site was very good. Had a lovely spot next to the lake. Staff friendly and helpful. Camped with 30 foot RV. Site clean and with easy access. Small camp shop very handy. Friendly ducks.

Room Tip: Get a spot near the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    6
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We reserved 2 sites in June, only to arrive an find out that they had placed a campsite in between our two campers. The staff at the office, who is a member of the campground owners family was very unprofessional, rude and actually had a temper tantrum, called his father and carried on for 5 minutes about how he is suppose to handle all the reservations and how can he do his job is the other staff do not tell him what is going on. Aside from this terrible first impression, the campground is sufficient. The lots are average size with a nice lake. It is close to Portland and the coast with out the cost of staying closer to the water

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waitingtosail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I know that I use these reviews when i travel and they are very helpful to me so I am going to tell you the good and the bad. Good things are as follows...Location is great..close to Portland and Old Orchid Beach, Wells etc...Lake is very nice, water is clean, fishing is good. Staff are very friendly. Now for the bad... Sites are on top of each other literally... they sell every square inch of that campground there is even a site right next to the dumpster...yuck! We were traveling with two other trailers and we requested beach sites which we paid extra. Although being on the water is very pretty the beach it self is a 45 degree angle slope so you can not sit on the beach in a chair and you can not see your kids in the water if you are sitting at your site so that for us was not a good thing. The camp store is VERY small and does not have very much in it at all, but as previously stated the staff is very nice. The arcade is rather a joke really...there are 4 very old video games total and only one was working when we were there. There is an air hockey table that only has one paddle so you can't play that and there is a very old pool table that you have to walk all the way to the office to get the cues for and leave a deposit...not user friendly at all. Now for the worst part of our stay...remember I said we paid extra for beach sites, well we assumed that meant that the portion of the beach we were on was for us to use, NOPE...We were told that the whole beach is for every one so we had all the "seasonal campers" walking through our site to use the beach even though there was a Puplic Beach Access Path for them to use. I have to say that of all the campgrounds I have been to there are always those "Seasonals" who think they own the campground and are very RUDE to the casual campers...this campground had a few of the worst "Seasonals" I have ever met in my life. One in particilar came across the street and picked a fight with one of the older women that was with us...threw her beach blanket on the ground and told us to " GO HOME" I had to go to the office and report him as he continued to say things to us from across the street...The staff came to the site and handled it and he did eventually stop acting like a child, but it did not make it very comfortable for the rest of our stay. I do want to say to the owners of Wassamki, that I know that your Seasonals are guarenteed income, but with Seasonals like Mr. D11 you will lose return customers and that is not a good thing for your business, Hope this review helped....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mamabug67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were just traveling through, and called ahead to see if they had a spot for the night and when she charged us 50 dollars "plus taxes" we figured it would be a nice place. We arrived at about 2 in the afternoon. Our spot was right next to the office on a patch of grass with no fire pit and no picnic table. It had NOTHING. I started this review on a beautiful morning stuck inside my trailer because there was no picnic table. No picnic table meant that we will had to pack up and leave Just to get a cup of coffee. We couldn't leave as early as we wanted because we had to wait for the office to open to take a shower. The tiny shower closet is locked, maybe they are trying to keep the spiders in there? It was so small, a closet with one shower and not enough room to undress, nothing to sit on, low ceiling and a shelf above your head. (not enough room for a shelf below your head) It was cruddy, with spiders in the (very close) corners. When checking out the lady muttered that if I wanted a picnic table I should have asked for one. I just think that I shouldn't have to ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elkaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We actually visited this campground a year ago to see if it looked good for camping near Portland which is 15 minutes away. The people in the office were very friendly and it 'looked' fine. So, we scheduled a trip and asked for a site in "I" which was grassy and open but were given T19 which was a pull through and on dirt. Once your bump out is out along with your neighbors on both sides, it is like being in a sandwich. We never unpacked our chairs or rug because we didn't spend any time outside the unit because there was no space. There are technically fire rings available but if you started a fire you would have either set your unit or your vehicle on fire it was so close. The roads are dirt and are full of holes, and when it rains there is standing water everywhere to the depth that we had to jump off our last step in order to get out. The beach area is okay but be sure to wear water shoes because it is slimy and squishy. There are a lot of seasonal sites and some are not too neat. The campground is also on a flight pattern for a local airport so there are planes coming in for a landing every 20-40 minutes 24/7. If your only expectation is to be close to Portland, then it might work out. But, for us, we will look elsewhere for $57.50 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our family just spent a weekend here. While we had a nice time, there were things we liked and disliked about the campground.

Pros:
-Great kids program and activities.
- Water is crystal clear
- Campground is clean, bathrooms reasonably clean
-Very friendly staff

Cons:
-Tent sites are in the middle of 2 roads, so there is absolutely no privacy. People kept walking through our site, like literally inches away from our fire while we were trying to enjoy it.
- The "sandy beach" is more like a sandy bank. You can't put a chair and sit in the sand because the hill is so steep. Beach is open to the public during the day.
-They have picnic areas for public events that are right across from the tent sites. There were literally 50+ people right across from us, walking through our site. Again, no privacy.
- They advertise activities, but they are not all available. We were unable to use anything in the rec room and the balls were almost always out. The only boat rentals they have are paddleboats.
-Quiet hours are not enforced
-Some areas were not well maintained. We watched a teen sit on a picnic table and the bench broke underneath him. We went on a hayride and the rotting bench collapsed under my husband (who is not at all overweight).

Overall, we had a nice weekend. I would consider returning, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyCoombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This campground looks better on their website than it actually is. Our site got changed when we got there (not a big deal for us). This place is great if you tent and want to camp on the lake. The lake is great. But, they do give access to the public. So, it's not just for campers (also not a big deal for us). My biggest complaint is how often people cut through other people's sites here. it can also get a bit loud at night. Other than that, there are activities for the kids like other campgrounds and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a site by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
4.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wassamki Springs Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wassamki Springs Campground

Property: Wassamki Springs Campground
Address: 56 Saco Street, Scarborough, ME 04074
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Wassamki Springs Campground Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing