We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Painted Turtle Cafe
Ranked #46 of 87 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Great service, atmosphere, and awesome food! Will be frequenting often. Nice price too!

I had read the reviews beforehand, and didn't think it would be any good, but coworkers insisted the reviews were no longer accurate.

When we got there the serivice was prompt, police, and pleasant. The food was cooked as ordered. The food was very good. There was not any oders from the butcher shop.

One person in our party used the rest room, and there were no negative comments or complaints.

I can't tell you about the drinks because my the alcoholic in the group is on meds and can't drink at the time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Prices”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My family and I have eaten at the Painted Turtle several times over the past few years. We are always amazed at how great the food is and how low the prices are. You can get anything from a Triple Lobster Dinner for under $20 to a cheese burger for just $5. Never had a bad meal there and the service is great.

One problem that this place has, which by no means, affects how we feel about this place, is that it is attached to a meat market. If you enter through their back entrance closest to the meat market, you may smell the meat market. Be assured, as soon as you get to the actual restaraunt part, you do not smell it at all. You are welcomed with the smell of great food and the atmosphere there is warm and welcoming. Highly recommend entering through the front entrance if you are the type that would be discouraged by the"meat market" smell in the back.

Please do not let the meat market discourage you. It's a great place to eat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thankfulforsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Prices!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

25 cent wings and dollar beers. What is wrong with that! ummm NOTHING!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaidlounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very rude server charged $4 too much for our meal, and then wanted to argue about it. Also, though the portions were generous and the lobster rolls quite good, the french fries were way overcooked (brown), soggy, fishy-smelling, and greasy. The attached butcher shop smelled of rotten meat, and the restrooms were smelly too. Definitely off the list!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Painted Turtle Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Painted Turtle Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing