We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet smaller campground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet smaller campground”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed here twice in the past 2 years (tent camping). It is a much smaller campground than some of the other ones in the Old Orchard Beach area but it is also much quieter. There are around 10 tent sites located in the back in a nice wooded area near the seasonal lots. So there is very little movement of large trailers. This is a basic campground (no pools or hot tubs) but the sites are large and for $1 a day you can have wifi access. There are also some tenting sites with electric. The owners are wonderful and helpful for giving directions and recommendations on the area. The campground is adults only so you do not have kids yelling and screaming or running through your site like some other places. Also, you can save some money here also, its about $15-20 less expansive a night than some others. Pine point beach is just down the road 2 mins, and Old Orchard Beach is about 5 mins.
This is a great spot and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cape_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penn Run, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
452 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have stayed here two times and find it to be a centrally located, clean, quiet campground. The sites are a bit close together and roads are a little tight but if you take your time you should be fine. We will stay here again if in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norridgewock, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent the night at site P3, which is for small RVs or campers. It had a great view of the salt marsh. These Peninsula (P) sites were more spacious than most of the other sites. The Rv's are packed in pretty tightly elsewhere, so try to get one of the P sites if your camper will fit. This is a very clean campground with a wonderful restroom. There are nice touches everywhere, such as planters of flowers placed on top of tree stumps. You can take a canoe or kayak on the marsh only from half to high tide (4 hrs), so pay attention to the tide schedule if your plan includes being on the water.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granitegneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I only spent two nights here so we could go to Portland on our return from Acadia to NY. We wish we could have stayed longer. The campground was immaculate, peaceful, and in a great location. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Llambert38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at Wild Duck for several one-nighters over the summer. I always stayed in the tenting area. The sites are tidy and fairly spacious (some more than others). Some sites do feature electric hookups for just a few dollars more, which is convenient. The WiFi for $1 per night was actually quite good and easy to connect to. The bathrooms are well maintained and very clean.

The staff is ultra friendly - the owners have done a great job maintaining the property and always welcome their guests with a smile. They are very responsive to e-mails (a rarity these days) and were prompt in their replies.

If you're looking for a lot of fun and activities, this isn't the place for you. It's an adults only campground and they adhere to that policy. But if you're looking for a quiet environment to just relax and unwind without the hassle of kids screaming and music blaring, then this is the perfect solution. It's not a large campground, so it's an easy walk if you want to head up by the front entrance and watch the ducks swim around in the pond. There are Adirondack chairs randomly placed throughout the campground as well in which you can just sit and enjoy the peace and quiet.

This campground is conveniently located right off of Route 1, and less than 15 minutes from Old Orchard Beach. It's less than a 20 minute drive to Portland, where there are tons of restaurants. And it's also about 20 minutes from Cape Elizabeth, where there are beautiful seascapes as well as lighthouses to see.

I have thoroughly enjoyed all of my stays at this campground, and am looking forward to heading there again next year for my one-day 'vacays'.

Room Tip: Tenting sites are limited, if you're going to be staying for several days, be sure to book your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ha-p-2-b-home-n-ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This small campground is a great place to camp when you are touring the Maine coastline. It is a small campground (70 sites) with some reserved for tents and some reserved for seasonal trailers and fifth wheels some of which have not moved for years. However, there are about two dozen sites left for transients including big rigs. It is a wooded campground so don't count on being able to use your satellite TV setup. The side provides basic cable for free and Internet for $1 per day per device. The campground is "adults only" not senior. That means there are no screaming kids running around. It is dog-friendly but there is no dog park. No pool or recreation center; make your own entertainment. The big advantage is location. It is just a few miles from Old Orchard Beach with restaurants and rides. It is very close to Portland and all that it has to offer. The Saco river is close by with canoeing, etc. There is a bowling alley, Nascar track, harness racing track and a 12-screen movie theater (including IMAX) nearby for those rainy days that will happen in Maine. The rates are reasonable. The sites are level. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them the size of your rig. Some sites can't handle big rigs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardHammerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My wife and I spent four days at this campground during our visit to the Old Orchard Beach area. It is literally ten minutes away from restaurants, shops and amusements. The campground is not a particularly large one and there are a limited number of overnight sites. Many of their guests are seasonal campers. And many of the sites are a bit close together. However, the vast majority do have full hookups, and there is an exceptionally clean shower, bath and laundry facility. They also have a section put aside for tent campers. Be advised however there is one thing that is unique about this campground. It is an adults only campground. And if you're looking for game rooms, hayrides and swimming pools, this won't work for you. There is no pool on the property. However, I must confess my wife and I enjoyed the peace and quiet of camping the way it used to be. Everyone respected others. Everyone said hello. And when it got dark, the silence was refreshing. If you are campers without children and want an evening or two in a campground that offers peace and quiet, rest and relaxation, and quality courteous service, give this place a try. There are also many hiking and biking trails nearby. We found it most delightful. We'll deduct one point for the lack of a swimming facility, but after all, the beach is just minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for sites that aren't "pull through". They have more room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
5.3 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in South Portland
1,262 reviews
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
4.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc

Property: Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc
Address: 39 Dunstan Landing Rd, Scarborough, ME 04074-9202
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Duck Campground & RV Park, Inc Scarborough, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing