We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Memories”
Review of Higgins Beach

Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach is also known for surfing.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I remember going to this beach in college and I loved it!! It was beautiful and quiet and just such a special place for me. When I go to Maine I try to go back there and sit on the rocks and eat some seafood!! I remember my brother-in-law surfing there also. It was just a majic place for me!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful/ Romantic”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my boyfriend rented a small house right near the water, there was rarly any traffic where we were and the kids loved being able to walk to the beach. There are a few shops in the area and there are lots of great rental places. The ocean was beautiful and all the people there seemed to love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great sand , surf and sun. The most beautiful beach in Maine.lots of surfers. Good restroom facilities. Lots of parking at reasonable prices.. Lots of interesting local history. Wonderful Fourth of July parade. Weekly rentals are reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach but crabby residents”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

HIggins is amazingly beautiful and the cutest little community. But, if you're a surfer look out because they are out to get you. The residents do not like the surfing community. Mosf of them are old, crabby & unhappy people. They would love to privatize this beach. Also follow the parking rules & regs because you WILL get a ticket from the Scarborough PD.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Residential beach”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

No parking here unless you know someone. Lots of one ways. The beach itself is getting smaller every year with no room at high tide. Great tidal pools near the rock formation. It is still a beautiful Maine beach.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bearnecessite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Higgins Beach also viewed

 

Been to Higgins Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing