We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach especially when the tide is out.”
Review of Higgins Beach

Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach is also known for surfing.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach especially when the tide is out.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Beautiful beach with old wreck and they are good to dogs, except during piping plover season but even then it's not as restricted as some beaches can be,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lco04101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    29
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best ever experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We've been visiting Maine for more than ten years. This place was the first we visited with our two liitle boys. They are both grown up now but this place has many many memories. It's beautiful. A little cold in December but in July.......memorable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Celtvistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I remember going to this beach in college and I loved it!! It was beautiful and quiet and just such a special place for me. When I go to Maine I try to go back there and sit on the rocks and eat some seafood!! I remember my brother-in-law surfing there also. It was just a majic place for me!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hallowell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful/ Romantic”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my boyfriend rented a small house right near the water, there was rarly any traffic where we were and the kids loved being able to walk to the beach. There are a few shops in the area and there are lots of great rental places. The ocean was beautiful and all the people there seemed to love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great sand , surf and sun. The most beautiful beach in Maine.lots of surfers. Good restroom facilities. Lots of parking at reasonable prices.. Lots of interesting local history. Wonderful Fourth of July parade. Weekly rentals are reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank keithPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Higgins Beach also viewed

 

Been to Higgins Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing