We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the $$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great value for the $$”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed one night on our trip from Boston to Bar Harbor. The hotel was very easy to find on a main road and located in a beautiful area near Cape Elzabeth and Twin Lights State Park and the Portland Head Light. While very 80's looking (think country blue, green and burgundy) - it was roomy with a king bed and sitting area complete with 2 large queen anne chairs, table and reading lamp. The bathroom was also basic but HUGE and very clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again. There is no pool...my finger slipped below and accidentally rated a pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pianogal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your time and writing feedback for Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough. We are glad that you liked us. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    66
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
77
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed in Best Value Inn in Scarbourough on my recent business Trip to Portland.When I travel I look for quiet place and Portland city limit is definately not quiet so I chose to stay at Scarbourough Best Value Inn.I was not disappointed. From checking in to my check out their service was excellent.Jay is very accomodating host.Rooms were large size and bathroom was about almost half size of the room. Wi-Fi was excellent. I have found a perfect hotel for my many future business trips to Portland.I would recommend this hotel to anyone whether business or family Trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you Ken for your time and providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coxsackie, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Found this place online and tried it. Excellent place with lots of upgrade. Check in was easy and quick. They had beautiful flowers which was nice. It serves all our needs. We will return if in this area again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The first time we stayed here they gave away our room. The bathrooms are very spacious I do have to say. The second time we stayed here there was dried blood on our sheets and pillow cases, and the room smelled bad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed in Scarborough for just one night to visit during our winter malaise. We opted to try this place thanks to their price and the reviews here.

It was not a five star hotel accommodation, but then, you're not paying that price! We were happy with the peace and quiet after worrying a little bit about traffic noise. No problem with that here!

We had a king size bed on the second floor, and the room was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, large, and well-maintained.

There was only one negative thing about staying here: the strange odor in the room we stayed in. It wasn't entirely unpleasant, but strange and not one I would expect in a hotel room. It was not of mold or dirt, but just a strange smell. You suffer it only mildly for the first 20 minutes and then you forget about it.

Definitely worth staying if you're not looking for huge, luxurious hotels. Very down to earth and homey.

Room Tip: Second floor has all the king beds, it seems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you providing your feedback. This is only way we know how your stay was and based on your feedback we can take actions. I assure you for satisfaction and had already taken necessay steps. Once thanks for your time and letting us know your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoin, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We had a king size on the second floor. The room was spacious with a sitting area. The bathroom was quite large. The room was neat and clean and the owners/managers were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaP155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you feedback and we look forward to server you in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I had to drive up to Scarborough to handle my fiance's mom going into end of life hospice care. The owners were wonderful people who helped us out when we needed it. They treated us well and we would definitely come back again if we are ever in the area again.

Definitely good people and good motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 14 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing