We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
“good value, good service”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

It was important that I had internet service. It was very spotty, until the manager brought the wifi extender to my room, at the end of the hotel. He made sure it worked. It took only one mention of the problem for it to be resolved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    66
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
54
77
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hurley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently stayed for four nights at this motel. First, let me say that the previous month we stayed at a nearby "higher end" motel which cost twice as much and offered less as far as cleanliness and other comforts (TV had technical difficulties, phone jack kept falling out of outlet and the office people did not repair it, sheets were missing on the sofa bed, could not adjust temperature in the room, etc.)
Our room at Americas Best Value was extremely clean, everything worked, the bathroom was the largest we have ever had and the heat could be adjusted easily (it was a very cold week). We read the reviews before arriving at the motel, so we knew to bring our own coffee maker and breakfast foods. A light fare was provided at the motel, but what do you want for such reasonable prices!! We will go back the next time we are in Scarborough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishermanWestHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Good value for the money, friendly staff and good room. Hotel is in a good location for local sightseeing. We were very satisfied with the quality of the accommodations, and would not hesitate to stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghwilkening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We enjoyed our six night stay here. Our spacious, attractively decorated, clean room had desk with chair, and a small circular table with two chairs. The spacious bathroom solved a problem for us. I moved a plastic lawn chair from the balcony into the bathroom so my wife, who wakes up earlier than I do, could read there without disturbing me. Our room had a refrigerator (no freezer) and a microwave. Good screened windows provided good cross ventilation. We were glad to have a room on the second (top) floor, as the floor creaked some. Continental breakfast consisted of three different sugary cereals, muffins, mini-cinnamon rolls and other commercial baked goods; juice; apples or tangerines, and coffee and tea. We supplemented our breakfasts with nearby supermarket items, as we don’t care for sugar-frosted cereals. One morning we ate at the excellent Eggs and I restaurant

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oldbrdrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We planned our across country trip a year in advance and booked many motels. We were so very pleased with the service, cleanliness, warmth of the hotel owner and his staff that we had to let everyone know. the room was great size for the money complete with a nice bathroom, wall mounted HDTV, new micro, refer, heater etc. the grounds were well maintained and the continental breakfast was adequate. Best of all was the price! A steal at the price charged!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miko1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee,Wi
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a night at ABV Inn in Scarborough. The location was great for our purposes. Easy to access from the main highway and easy to get to Portland, our eventual destination. Upon arrival, I must agree with other posters. There was an odor in the lobby/house where you go to check in. This lobby building is not pictured in the photo accompanying the advertisement for this location. It is someone's house with a garage and outdoor grill, furniture, ladders, tools, etc. with a small office serving as the lobby for the inn. It sits several feet in front of the actual hotel. The structure with the hotel rooms is separate from this lobby. But the odor was overpowering when we entered and it took me a minute to actually stop holding my breath. The woman at the counter was very pleasant and kind to us and our check in was fast and efficient. We asked for suggestions as to where to dine and she recommended only one place about two miles away on the same road. It was an Italian family style place and we actually wanted seafood. So we found other places on our phone apps and chose a crab shack a few miles further but much more to our liking (The Rising Tide... we highly recommend it). Our room request was honored. First floor. Two double beds. The room was very large, especially the bathroom. The furnishings are really old and in need of replacement as they are scuffed and scratched, but everything worked so that was all you can ask for. The fridge in the room was a nice touch for travelers with coolers. Our window was also open when we arrived and the room had a smell, but it was a better odor than that in the lobby. Hard to place the source or describe it, but it just didn't smell fresh. I would guess that it was as if at one time, there had been a lot of smoking in this room and the fabric of the carpet, bedspreads, and drapes had absorbed that scent and it was there to stay. The morning check-out was easy and fast. There was a thermos of coffee and a bowl of apples and an orange, and cellophane wrapped pastries (a close second to Hostess and Little Debbie) in the lobby. Some paper napkins and possibly some dry cereal which we passed on. We went to Portland for breakfast....tried two cups of coffee at the hotel, but it just wasn't very tasty. Our off season Wednesday night rate was $80.00 which suited our budget. We would not recommend this place to anyone, but we didn't think it was the worst we've ever stayed at either. Maybe just a little deceptive.

Room Tip: Ground floor. None of these rooms have a view, but it is easier to navigate the lower level. No el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank untired26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been traveling all over New England and found this to be the worst place that we stayed at. We normally follow Trip Advisors ratings and are unsure of how others rated this so high. First of all, the motel is not as the picture appears on the internet. I will try and provide a clear analysis of our visit. First, At best, I would give this a 2 star. The hotel is old, and very basic. The price is very good, location is ok. When we pulled up, it appeared ok but not great. We went to the office and were told that our King Bed rooms were only available on the 2nd floor. They have no elevator so I explained that my wife was handicapped and unable to climb the stairs. We asked to see other rooms and were shown a twin double room. Very old and it smelled. We were shown another room and it also smelled. It was apparent they had an odor problem as several rooms had their windows wide open. We asked to cancel our reservation and the receptionist (Meena) that we would have to call America Best Value Inn to cancel. I did this and was told by them that the Hotel would need to cancel. I went back to Meena and was again that America Best Value Inn would need to Cancel. I again called the company and they said that the individual hotel was sent a cancellation but they would need to stop the charge to my credit card. I again went to Meena and she said she couldn't read any emails and that the owner Jay Patel, would need to do this and he wasn't available. After going back and forth, we left and went down the street to Comfort Inn. Very nice, a little more money but we slept well and had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
It is very disapponting 2 rooms was not charged although the cancellation policy was passed and at time of checking in we canceled 2 rooms without charging to guest.
I would let the guest know when you book reservation with third party, you can only cancel room with them, that way we avoid paying commissions to third party.
We have all our king rooms on second floor only, which was not acceptable so we try to help them by providing room with two beds on ground level. We leave windows open to circulate air and we have two windows in our motel rooms which circulate natural air and not due to odor problem. To get fresh air is one reason why people visit great state of Maine.
In my opinion to paint picture (guessing) without color (actually staying) is not a good idea. Yes this guest did not stay for whatever reason and I do apologies for any inconvenience to them. We help people to make their stay enjoyable and not force them to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 13 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Property: Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing