We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just beside the Carriage road, away from the noise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shubert Bungalow

Relax on the front porch in the rocking chairs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on the front porch in the rocking chairs
Front of House Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Relax on the front porch in the rocking chairs
Front of House
Living Room
Kitchen with Stainless Appliances
Dining Room - total 6 chairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bathrooms
Master Bathroom
Second Bedroom
House Bathroom
House bathroom
Seal Harbor Beach
Little Long Pond - Seal Harbor
Backside of Little Long Pond from carraige road
Jordan Stream - Little Long pond-Seal Harbor
Jordan Pond
Top of the bubbles - 5 min from the house
Jordan Pond and the bubbles - 5 min from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Seal Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ezola3
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Just beside the Carriage road, away from the noise”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location in Seal Harbor. You are less than a mile from a Carriage road (not a real entrance, but there is a small path to get there). It is closer and easier to access than if you stay around Bar Harbor. Further, Seal Harbor is a nice and quiet area, away from the noise and "excitement" of downtime (negative when you have young children). Further, there is still a small restaurant, pizzeria and coffee house nearby. The beach in Seal Harbor is also cozy and easier to access than the Sand beach. It is also a few degrees warmer.
The living room is large. The kitchen is very well equipped.
For kids: the back yard is a good place to play. But if they need to spend more energy, there is a large playground a few house down on the street. And kids' equipment: GREAT! Usually, "games" means a deck of cards and a monopoly box missing pieces. At the Shubert bungalow, a closet was spilling with games for all ages, from toddler to Risk and Clue. Further, there are plenty of DVDs and books.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the patio door
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara B
2 reviews
“Great place at an AWESOME location”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family had visited MDI two years previous and had made the mistake of renting a place south of Southwest Harbor. At the Bungalow, we could literally be hiking around Jordan Pond just minutes after we left the house. So the location is great for getting around Acadia NP and the playground down the street was great for our kids when they needed additional diversions.

We were pleased with the set up of the house and the kitchen was well-stocked. We baked muffins and made a birthday cake using the trays and pans provided.

Our only issues were beyond the control of the manager. There had been a power outage so the oven had to be reset. But once we knew to pull the circuit breaker, it worked just fine. We also had issues with the wifi but Ginger was on it and tried to resolve it as soon as possible.

My only word of caution is that the shower in the master bedroom might seem a little small. My husband was a little claustrophobic but he just used the larger one. Thankfully, both showers were designed for TALL people and had shower heads mounted up high. That is a great thing!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The master bathroom shower
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karl B
Annapolis, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place has everything you need!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This place was stocked with just about everything you need, including lobster pot and crackers. It's in a very quiet neighborhood which makes for wonderful uninterrupted sleeping (except for that one night when the wounded fox started making his weird fox sounds, but he wasn't around for long). The location is perfect for striking out for Bar Harbor and the park attractions. We could ride our bikes directly from the house to the carriage paths near Jordon Pond House, or go right to the pond house. With a very short drive, we were able to launch our kayaks in Seal Harbor and paddle through the beautiful sailboats and hang out on the little island at the mouth of the harbor (with secret hut that has its own bbq!). The house itself has all the creature comforts you'd ever want, including a keurig coffee maker and 2 large flat screen TVs, and wi-fi. Great place.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quiet
Liked least: TV was a bit tricky to work, with DVR and all the other gadgets plugged into it.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greggsolo...
Peterborough, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was even better than we expected and super comfortable.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived to a very clean and nice place with a welcome book on the table with helpful information on local attractions. Everything we needed to make the stay complete was easy to find. The place felt like home within minutes. The location was perfect, not right in the middle of all the big crowds, but close to anything that we wanted to do (and there was plenty to choose from). We enjoyed many nights out on the quiet deck and felt relaxed for the entire stay. There was nothing I feel that deserves a complaint or that I would say I "liked least". For staying in the Shubert Bungalow, I would have to say was one of our favorite vacations, and I would definitely go back. The owner always responded in a timely manor, and also answered all of our questions right away. We never had to contact the owner for anything during our stay.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: sitting on the couch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mjk66
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean and homey bungalow in superb location”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled with our three children, ages 15, 12, and 9 in early July to the Shubert Bungalow located in Seal Harbor. We were not familiar with the area, and were delighted to find an extremely clean and well appointed cottage upon our arrival. We immediately felt right at home for the week. The accommodations were spacious due to the layout of the bungalow. Kitchen and two bathrooms were very well supplied. We discovered we were a 10 min bike ride from the driveway to Acadia, and a very short distance from Seal Harbor itself, where families can swim and walk the beach. Mount Desert Island is absolutely gorgeous, and we enjoyed access to Bar Harbor itself in less than 15 minutes. The bungalow is located on a very quiet street, allowing very peaceful surroundings. I would highly recommend this accommodation and location without any reservation.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No screen door on side door
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.