We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT store”
Review of Naturalist's Notebook - CLOSED

Naturalist's Notebook
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come explore nature, science, art and the frontier of knowledge! The original Notebook in Seal Harbor offers three floors of books, gifts and interaction while the smaller Annex in Northeast Harbor gives you a little taste of the Notebook experience. Open 10-5 every day from late June to late October.
Western Mass
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GREAT store”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Like walking into your coolest science teacher who is married to your funky art teacher's work-in-progess idea of what a bookstore could be. Rooms in an old house colorfully turned into a section of the Dewey decimal system in the science section of the library. Felt like I owed buying a book as a thank you and to make sure they keep going. Easy to buy a book as there are only 10 to 15 titles per room. Nice section on Acadia, too. Stop here, visit the Seal Cove beach down the hill at low tide for great rock collecting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank malonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Fl.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Odd little shop, but fun to poke around in”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent about an hour and a half poking around in this odd little shop on a rainy morning with our two teenage boys. It is like a shop that perhaps I imagine a huge science buff owns, as it is full of interesting science facts, displays, and hands on activities. I think 6- 10 year olds would really enjoy some of the items here. There is a lovely section on the island flora and fauna also. Definitely most unique shop I have ever been to!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FamilyCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great shop, interesting and creative offerings.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This shop was so much fun to browse. Cards, games, art supplies, and natural science trinkets and projects. Great for unusual gifts and for children - we will definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluebaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Discovered this store off the beaten path when my daughter was younger and we still stop in when we visit the island. It's not only a bookstore and place for toys and gifts about the natural world, but also a bit of a museum with creative, educational displays lovingly crafted for all ages. Topics and merchandise cover anthropology, marine life, astronomy, the earth, sun, moon, the brain, endangered species and more. My daughter still has a beautifully illustrated animal encyclopedia from there. Enjoy exploring both levels and all the nooks and crannies.

Helpful?
1 Thank ellenh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“These folks LOVE nature!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

So creative, great for kids, amazing selection of books and various gifts, all nature themed which is super for this deep breather/tree hugger! Also had a neat display of outer space, brain, and other teaching vignettes that were super.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Naturalist's Notebook also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing