We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Searsport B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

What a delightful stay. Owners Mike and Brenda have lovingly restored this beautiful inn. It is warm and inviting and conducive to getting to know your fellow travelers. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the bay. Breakfasts were amazing. When we return to Maine we would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Havana Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
What a great review you wrote...and we appreciate your comments very much. The fact that you chose us as part of your Honeymoon trip is very special and we are pleased that you were not disappointed. Your comments on the food is also important to us. When deciding on our "mission" at the Inn, we wanted to ensure that we created a full experience for our guests that included creative, fresh, in-house-made food for breakfast and at the dinner table. We are always interested in seeing what our guests have to say about their stay....and mindful that we need to strive to continually improve. Hope you can visit us again (perhaps on an anniversary) and check out our evolution for even better value and service. Thanks again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    16
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
64
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon on the way up to Nova Scotia. It's a gorgeous, sprawling former-Captain's home with a grand view of the sea. We were really impressed with the high-quality of furnishings and decor throughout the inn, with the cleanliness of our room and the common areas, with the comfortable new bed, and the hospitality! This place has a lot of charm, and the owners have clearly put a lot of thought and energy into making the place special. We were pleasantly surprised about the restaurant. The chef has devised a creative, diverse, and delicious dinner menu. The breakfast was generously portioned and outrageously good. All in all, a bit pricey, but worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Oops, I'm behind in responses to your reviews...and have just written a response to your comments on the next review (the one on Aug 6). Thanks to both of your though for your lovely comments on our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

There are a lot of wonderful things about this charming inn. The rooms are comfortable, and the public areas are fantastic. Breakfast is amazing. There are all sorts of trinkets from the travels of the hotels owners. Downside is that the bathroom were we stayed was in need of upgrading, and the kitchenette need some work as well, but nothing that could not be overlooked by all the other good things. We stayed in the Captain Quarters, it was very nice with a great view, but also as stated needs a little work in the bathroom. Dont let this stop you. At $250 a night it is worth it for the space and the breakfast and the views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are certainly glad to have feedback from all our guests. As you noted, we are a work in progress....but have made quite a bit since your stay in July. The Captain's Suite has gotten more of a facelift (including the kitchen area). Hopefully our next guests will find it has the same quality of all the other rooms in the Inn. Please think of visiting us again soon.....I'd like to share all that with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We learned about this beautiful Inn from the Best of section in the "Yankee" - New England's Magazine. Initially enticed by the advertised wine and cheese upon arrival, we were surprised to be welcomed by the hosts to also join them in socializing with some neighbours in the bar area. The hospitality was grand. It was also fun being educated on wines by the knowledgeable and friendly sommelier. The room was luxuriously appointed and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast was 5 Star gourmet - far from your basic eggs and toast.

Room Tip: Being located at the front of the house placed us closer to the highway resulting in early morning v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliadennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us at the Inn. We strive to ensure that each guest feels like part of the family and has a few beautiful memories by the end of their stay. Sorry about the road noise. We are actually hoping to be able to replace the original windows this year...which will help to relieve that issue. Come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Last July, my husband and I were married at the A.V. Nickels Inn. The inn had been closed for years, and I was enchanted by it when I drove by daily. When it reopened the spring following our autumn engagement, it seemed written in the stars that we should wed there. Despite the fact that Brenda wasn't sure she wanted to get into events, and this was all taking place months after the re-opening of the inn, everything was more amazing than I could've imagined. From letting us practice our "first dance" routine to partnering with our cake maker and videographers seamlessly, to the gorgeous Captain's Suite, to the top notch dining experience, Brenda and Mike gave our event 110%!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineCoastMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
We're so happy that even after a year, you are still thinking about us and about your beautiful wedding experience. You and your wedding party were absolutely delightful. My staff also thought what a wonderful memory it was to be (in some ways) a part of your experience. We will cherish that memory, as well. Our best wishes to you both! Mike and Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Recently my wife and I took our first trip as a "retired couple". We decided that Maine would be our destination. After spending some time on the internet searching for a bed & breakfast we decided on the Captain A. V. Nickels Inn in Searsport, Maine. We were not disappointed!!! Aside from being perfectly located between Camden, Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, the Inn is a gorgeous Victorian home that has been restored by its owners, Mike and Brenda Liston. The furnishings are perfect for the Inn and create a very "you are at home" atmosphere. We stayed in the Paris room which was very comfortable and well appointed with all of the requisite modern amenities.

The food is equal in quality to the Inn itself. Breakfast was a wonderful, 3 course experience. It started with fruit or yogurt, then a main course (one morning we had Eggs Florentine) followed by dessert. All were beyond delicious. Each afternoon we were treated to excellent wine, cheese, fruit and crackers. On our final night we had dinner at the Inn's restaurant. As expected, the food was wonderful (I had the blueberry salmon and my wife champagne chicken). My wife is a retired caterer and appreciates good food. She was not disappointed!!!

As good as all this was, we cannot say enough good things about the owners, Mike and Brenda Liston. Aside from being nice people, they were very gracious hosts who were obviously concerned about making our stay at their Inn as pleasant as possible.

We will definitely return.

Joe & Danna

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We appreciated meeting you both and enjoyed talking with you about food and other interests. BTW, I just got your letter with the recipe in it as you promised. Thank you sooooooooooooo much. Can't wait to try it. Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My wife and I are from Atlanta and were looking for an "out of the ordinary" location for a weekend gap between two other planned locations in our New England summer trip. No more chain hotels or high priced resorts. As we searched on trip advisors and other sites we cam across Captain A.V. Nichols Inn. The website and the reviews led us to a decision to book a stay at Captain A.V. Nickels Inn for a short weekend ... when it was over, we wished we could stay longer. In addition to winning awards as a "best restored sea captains" inn, it was an excellent value for the money. Needless to say, we will be back to enjoy the wonderful hospitality that Mike and Brenda extend to their guests. Clearly, their approach made this an outstanding personal experience. For us, our stay was making memories for a lifetime.

If you love an older restored home furnished with outstanding European antiques and personal touches, this is the place for you. We stayed in the London room, beatifically decorated with a comfortable bed and private bath. Check the website to see the room... it looks great as does the rest of the house! One reviewer described breakfast as sinful, maybe..., but ours was both unique and outstanding! It changes every day and is personally prepared by your hosts. From the moment you arrive and are greeted with a wonderful cheese, fruit, and wine offering to the moment you depart, this is an incredible experience.

The Captain's Table restaurant as part of the Inn should have its own separate listing in tripadvisor.com as a 4 star restaurant hidden on the Maine coast. Service was outstanding. The chef has his own take on traditional offerings that makes them absolutely unique. I had the salmon with a blueberry reduction, it was incredible. Between the tapas, the main course offerings, and the great deserts paired with an excellent but affordable wine list, this is a top quality restaurant worth every effort to seek out if you are in the area but not staying as a guest of the Inn. For guests of the Inn, I loved the fact that I got to enjoy the wine and only had to walk upstairs to my room. We will be back!

Room Tip: No ratings for swimming pool and fitness center. These facilities are not part of the Captain A.V. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nickelsinnkeeper, Owner at Captain A. V. Nickels Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Your comments about our restaurants (Port of Call Lounge and The Captain's Table) are particularly welcome since so many Trip Advisor views may not realize that we are also open to the public for dining. We do sincerely hope you will visit us again next year. Brenda and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Searsport
3.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
3.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
5.0 mi away
Belfast Bay Inn
Belfast Bay Inn
#1 of 8 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
0.0 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain A. V. Nickels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain A. V. Nickels Inn

Property: Captain A. V. Nickels Inn
Address: 127 E Main St, Searsport, ME 04974-3320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Searsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Searsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain A. V. Nickels Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain A.V. Nickels Inn offers luxury accommodations in an historic setting. The Inn, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, was built in 1874 by Captain Nickels as a gift to his bride and remains almost the way he built it...just updated for todays conveniences. It is a breathtaking building sitting on 3 meandering acres directly on the island-studded Penobscot Bay about halfway between the beautiful towns of Camden and Bar Harbor. The Inn is often cited as one of the most photographed inns on the Maine coast and "creates a memory" for each guest who is treated to a level of luxury and attention to detail usually only seen in exclusive small hotels or inns in Europe. All rooms are furnished with European and American antiques, art, china and decorative touches creating the sophisticated air of a fine country home. Roaring fires on cool evenings, wicker on the lovely front porch, and lawn furniture by the water adds ambiance that invites guests to relax a while and enjoy the beautiful views from expansive windows or from the large decks overlooking the property. The bar is well stocked with a large selection of wines and local beers. Our bartender is always ready to mix our signature cocktails. Common areas include two sitting rooms, a library, a lounge, a dining room, a breakfast conservatory, a ballroom, and a loggia with views to the Bay. Evening wine and cheese is served to all guests. After having slept in spacious rooms beautifully furnished with antiques and sumptuous beds, overnight guests awake to the site of the sunrise across the bay and will enjoy a gourmet breakfast in the Inn's sunlit breakfast conservatory. Mimosa's always available on request. The murmur of waves from the Bay and wonderful sea air enhance the restful atmosphere. All rooms have private baths, flat screen TVs, wireless internet capabilities, coffee/tea service, and luxurious bath amenities. Some have electric fire places. The suites have balconies overlooking the Bay and comfortable lounging furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain A. V. Nickels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain a. v. Nickels Hotel Searsport
Captain A. V. Nickels Inn Searsport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing