We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay in a beautiful home”
Review of Four Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Gables
Ranked #1 of 2 Boston Spa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Spent a lovely 3 nights in David and Anne's beautiful home. So well cared for, and well fed with Anne's delicious breakfasts. Thank you for looking after me and being so helpful and friendly. Boston Spa was a delightful, peaceful setting - hoping to return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SheffieldNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonSpaWetherby, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again, have a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

Thank you

David & Anne

PS The house is looking very festive - down to Anne and the wood stove is well loaded - down to David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Four Gables
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked a one night stay at Four Gables as a journey break between the Scottish lochs and our home in Kent but wished we could have stayed longer. It was a case of finding somewhere in the Little Green Book ( Bed and Breakfast Nationwide handbook) as a convenient halfway stop, but after sampling Anne and David's hospitality I can definitely recommend Four Gables.
We were greeted with a welcoming tray of tea and Anne's homemade teacake and upgraded to a superior double room overlooking the croquet lawn! This room had all the hallmarks of care and attention to detail including an impressive hospitality tray.
David is obviously an ardent gardener. He modestly remarked that the grounds are at their best in Spring but it certainly flourished in Autumn.
Our evening meal was at the Cafe Deli just down the road from Four Gables. Rico conjures up an understated selection of Italian and English dishes at a very reasonable price.
It's not often one gets to stay at an Arts and Crafts home; this one is on my return list if in the area.

Room Tip: Go for the ELEPHANT room! Very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Robin,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both again.

September was a busy month for us - just counted up and we got through 20 dozen free range eggs - unfortunately our 3 hens could not keep up so we had to buy eggs in.

Thank you for your kind review

David & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just returned having spent 3 nights at the Four Gables, the twin room was spacious and very characteristic of the period with all the facilities which are required for an excellent stay, immaculately clean and very friendly, Breakfast table is better than any top hotel with homemade preserves and excellent locally sourced products. Gardens are amazing and parking so easy, Absolutely brilliant. Good base for York and Harrogate and local restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Manager at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are very pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again.
For those readers who wonder just what is on our breakfast table, well...
Currently the table includes:
Fresh figs, plums, pears and apples from the garden. Plus stewed fruit - brambles (blackberries), apples, apricots, grapefruit, prunes and melon slices.
Home made jams (2) and marmalade.
Home made tea bread
A choice of freshly squeezed orange juice, tomato or pressed apple juice.
And then, of course, we offer a full English and a daily special.
Thanks again,
David & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were en route from Stratford to York and spent the night here in this lovely B andB with excellent parking, lovely gardens, and a quaint nearby village (Boston Spa) where we had a late night Thai supper. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Host and hostess friendly and helpful. Met a repeat customer over breakfast who came back for the architectural features. Only a short ride into York the next am.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are well as you say well located 1 mile from the A1 and 20 minutes from York. We hope to see you again and trust you can stay a bit longer next time

Thank you

David & Anne

PS Picked 32 figs today - hope the good weather lasts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a wonderful nights stay at Four Gables. The house itself is truly special, a tranquil, 'Arts and Crafts' building. David and Anne are the perfect hosts, from the friendly welcome to Anne's home grown and made goodies. They serve the best breakfast and we were able to book a table in a local French restaurant a short walk away to round off a great stay. I would definitely want to return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Glad you all enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

The Spice Box that Debbie referred to is about a 400 meter walk away and has had some excellent Trip Advisor reviews.

The family had visited the Yorkshire Sculpture Park & The Hepworth Gallery in Wakefield about 40 mins. away - well worth a visit.

Thank you

David & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Beautiful house, wonderful garden, comfortable bed and bedroom combining seamlessly all mod cons with little personal touches and original features, a feast of a breakfast and lovely, friendly hosts! Thank you Anne and David, we have been enthusiastically recommending you since we got back home. Rosie and Ricardo

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

It was good to read your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It will soon be time to put the garden to bed for the winter, yesterday I ordered £240 of spring bulbs so I hope we will have some colour to look forward to.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again

David & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I chosen Four Gables for its perfect location as I was visiting family and friends in the same village. The house is beautiful and the garden stunning. David and Anne were very welcoming, attentive and perfect hosts. The room was comfortable and I slept very well. Breakfast was very good, I can only recommend Anne's homemade jams. It was lovely to chat with other guest during breakfast.
Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I am hoping to book a room again soon.

I am sorry for the late posting of my review.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dannii A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

Anne is busy making more jam - fig & bramble is the latest batch.
We get through about 200 jars a year which mean this is a busy time for us.

Hope to see you again

Thank you again

Dvid & Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston Spa
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,832 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
788 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
980 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
9.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Gables

Address: Oaks Lane, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Boston Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boston Spa
Price Range: £37 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOUR GABLES is a Listed Arts and Craft home and is peacefully set, yet only 1 mile from the A1 and a 3 minute walk from Boston Spa with its shops, restaurants, pubs and riverside walks. The award winning gardens are ½ an acre with ample parking Gardens opened under the NGS 400 visitors this year. There are 3 double and one twin bedroom all are ensuite. One of the bedrooms is in a self contained cottage,pets are welcome in the cottage.Breakfast is a feature of your vist with homemade jams,fruit compote, daily specials and eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing