We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A home away from home" - "Great people"”
Review of Four Gables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Gables
Ranked #1 of 2 Boston Spa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A home away from home" - "Great people"”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Four Gables over a 2 week period as I was working at the Leeds United Football Academy which is located very near by. It was my first time in Leeds and as I was not to familiar of the area, I can honestly say I could not have stayed at a better location or home than at David`s and Anne`s lovely accommodation that they have made together. From the very first moment you know you are walking in to a "Home Away From Home" surroundings and it is a place where you can totally relax plus also be productive with work as it energizes and caters for all sorts of trips depending on your travel requirements and objectives and this was very important for me. The home made food by Anne and David is absolutely amazing and it the perfect start of the day that will help you attack the day composed and ready to go. David and Anne are one of life`s great people that during and at the end of your trip you will be very happy that your paths have crossed as they are just very positive to be around and are just good and honest people and for me they made my trip to Leeds extra special. They very kindly showed me where the Academy was on my first day and told me about all the transport, surrounding areas plus were always making sure I was ok. Even one day when they were taking a trip in the city, they very kindly gave me a lift as well so to be honest you just can`t underestimate the quality service and business that they run. I have no doubt in my mind that I will be back again sooner rather than later staying at David`s and Anne`s lovely home which is steeped in great character and stories so if you want a relaxing stay in a lovely area our need time away to be productive our creative get yourselves to the "Four Gables". Thanks David and Anne and I look forward to seeing you soon again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnoN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Well John,
What can we say, thank you for your kind comments, we seriously thought about adopting you whilst you were here helping with Leeds United fitness training.

You were an excellent guest and we are certain you will gain the success you richly deserve.

On a another subject our bee garden friendly garden seems to be working as it has encouraged some tree bumblebees to take over one of the bird boxes.

Thank you

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
58
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for only one night, but really hope to return for a longer stay. A lovely welcome from Anne with tea and delicious simnel cake, our room was very comfortable, spacious, and overlooking the beautiful garden.There was plenty of drawer and hanging space.
Breakfast was delicious, a selection of fruit ( including rhubarb from the garden ), cereals, yoghurt etc, hot dishes cooked to order, hot cross buns, various home made preserves, and, as it was Easter Sunday, some special little " bunny biscuits " !
There is a very informative folder in the bedroom, with an interesting history of the house, information about the village,and suggestions for places to eat.
We didn't have time to explore the village, but from what we did see, Boston Spa is a very pleasant place, which we look forward to getting to know better.
Anne and David clearly want their guests to enjoy their beautiful home and garden, and we certainly did.
We would recommend Four Gables without any hesitation.
Good luck with the NGS Open Day next weekend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Manager at Four Gables, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Well what can we say - thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you again, when I hope you can explore Boston Spa a little more.

Back into the garden, NGS open garden on Sunday.

Thank you

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for the first time at Four Gables in Boston Spa. The attention to detail in this charming Arts and Crafts house made a real impression on us. So did the comfortable beds, the yummy home made fruit cake on our courtesy tray and the delicious breakfast. We would thoroughly recommend Four Gables and hope to make it a regular stopping point on journeys south.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind comments. Working is now full steam in the garden as we have our NGS open day at the end of the month. The new hens have settled in well and providing eggs for the breakfast table.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Made very welcome from arrival, comfortable room with character. Excellent gardens with homegrown fruit used to make breakfast jams, absolutely delicious rhubarb and ginger jam; local bacon, sausage and eggs for breakfast and extras of homemade breads and fruit compots.
Highly recommended for a visit to the area, excellent location; we will be returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teacaddy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonSpaWetherby, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed yours stay so much, Anne was making more jam today in readiness for your return.
We have now bought 3 more hens - making 5 so we hope to keep up with all the cooked breakfasts people seem to enjoy.

Thank you again

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Probably the best B&B I've stayed in, Four Gables was like a large family home, dotted with souvenirs from around the world. The rooms were well furnished, some en suite.

Best was the food. Tea was served with delicious stollen that's moist and tender, and filled with fruit. Breakfast was a generous choice of cereals, homemade breads and jams, cooked breakfast.

Forget about staying in someone's spare room. Come here if you are in West Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Ask whether your room is on the second or third level, ifyour are less nimble and prefer fewer stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynC270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonSpaWetherby, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
We are very please you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately all the stolen has gone but Anne bakes a wonderful tea bread which guests can try with a cup of tea or coffee on arrival. The Yorkshire Champagne rhubarb is now available to this will cooked with ginger and be on the breakfast table.

Thank you and we hope to see you again

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Spent a lovely 3 nights in David and Anne's beautiful home. So well cared for, and well fed with Anne's delicious breakfasts. Thank you for looking after me and being so helpful and friendly. Boston Spa was a delightful, peaceful setting - hoping to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SheffieldNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BostonSpaWetherby, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again, have a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

Thank you

David & Anne

PS The house is looking very festive - down to Anne and the wood stove is well loaded - down to David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked a one night stay at Four Gables as a journey break between the Scottish lochs and our home in Kent but wished we could have stayed longer. It was a case of finding somewhere in the Little Green Book ( Bed and Breakfast Nationwide handbook) as a convenient halfway stop, but after sampling Anne and David's hospitality I can definitely recommend Four Gables.
We were greeted with a welcoming tray of tea and Anne's homemade teacake and upgraded to a superior double room overlooking the croquet lawn! This room had all the hallmarks of care and attention to detail including an impressive hospitality tray.
David is obviously an ardent gardener. He modestly remarked that the grounds are at their best in Spring but it certainly flourished in Autumn.
Our evening meal was at the Cafe Deli just down the road from Four Gables. Rico conjures up an understated selection of Italian and English dishes at a very reasonable price.
It's not often one gets to stay at an Arts and Crafts home; this one is on my return list if in the area.

Room Tip: Go for the ELEPHANT room! Very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, Owner at Four Gables, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Robin,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both again.

September was a busy month for us - just counted up and we got through 20 dozen free range eggs - unfortunately our 3 hens could not keep up so we had to buy eggs in.

Thank you for your kind review

David & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston Spa
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,819 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
771 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
933 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Gables

Property: Four Gables
Address: Oaks Lane, Boston Spa, Wetherby LS23 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Boston Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boston Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FOUR GABLES is a Listed Arts and Craft home and is peacefully set, yet only 1 mile from the A1 and a 3 minute walk from Boston Spa with its shops, restaurants, pubs and riverside walks. The award winning gardens are ½ an acre with ample parking Gardens opened under the NGS 400 visitors this year. There are 3 double and one twin bedroom all are ensuite. One of the bedrooms is in a self contained cottage,pets are welcome in the cottage.Breakfast is a feature of your vist with homemade jams,fruit compote, daily specials and eggs from our own hens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing