We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
By the shore of the lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
By the shore of the lake
Approaching Morningside from driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
By the shore of the lake
Approaching Morningside from driveway
View from screened porch
Deck and dock and gorgeous view
Enjoy!
Dock and dinghy
Porch
LR and Dining area
Living Room
Queen bedroom - main floor
Hall leading to bathrooms and up to Double bedroom
Double Bedroom, with private staircase
LR stairs leading to Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bunk Bedroom - main floor
Kitchen, from hall through to LR
Kitchen
Eat-in Kitchen
Full bath
Half bath
Evening - lights on outside porch
Morningside from the lake
View across cove
Nesting eagle on nearby island
Morningside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sebago, Maine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“peaceful”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very Quite Relaxing what a view. Adele very pleasant and particular about making the cabin comfortable . The flowers on the tables a great touch . Fire by the water at night was great with a full moon . It did rain a few days but a fire in the indoor fireplace took the dampness out and gave a cozy feeling to the cabin.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dve28
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Perfect getaway on the shore of Sebago lake.”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We arrived at the lake and were overwhelmed by the coziness and the warmth of the cottage on the lake at Highland Road. The kitchen is adorable with all things that we needed to have, the rooms are neat and great, the dining hall has high ceilings and the open fire place is fantastic… think of the Legend of the Fall movie with the lake at 10 ft away…. And then there is the porch of the cottage which makes it all just perfect: relax seating where you can read your book, linger away and get acquainted by the Maine nature on the lake… a loon will pass by and the bald eagles (2 adults and 2 young ones) are nesting on a little island just 10 minutes away by canoe.
We arrived with a little 6 months baby after a 15 hour travel from Belgium, Europe and he was on the US time after just two days. The relaxing atmosphere, the clean air and the gentle warm July breeze did wonders for our little boy. Thanks family MacGregor, we had a great stay!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
1 review
“Peaceful and Relaxing, Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in May 2016

We loved our stay in this lovely, CLEAN cottage, right on Sebago Lake! The owners were gracious and welcoming, and the cottage had all the amenities (linens, dishes, cooking utensils,an outdoor grill, etc) needed for a comfortable stay. We had coffee on the screened-in porch each morning, and cocktails on the deck each night to watch the beautiful sunsets on the lake. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, gorgeous lake views (and access) and complete privacy, this is the perfect place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Charming Cottage with Great Views”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family booked this cottage for a week in June and had the most wonderful time. We had mostly teens and pre-teens with us and there was plenty of room for them to spread out. We loved sitting on the deck and watching the lake - just so beautiful. We had brought kayaks and made great use of the dock to launch from. The kids made the swim from the dock to the floating deck many times and thought it was great fun. The kitchen has any thing you could possibly want. We loved the fireplace and used it a couple of cool evenings. The fire made the cozy living room even more delightful. There's also a great spot for campfires right at the lakeside and the kids made s'mores 2 of the evenings. The hosts are right next door if you need anything and know the area well. When we walked in my first reaction is that the cottage was even nicer than the photos, well decorate and immaculately clean. We really couldn't have hoped for more.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scot F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice lakeside cottage, but.......”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The view of Sebago is picture perfect and the weather was favorable overall. We appreciated the welcoming touches, the bouquets of flowers and warm greeting, despite the rocky start with a new dishwasher being installed for our first hour or so at the cabin.
Our big issue was a bug infestation in one of the bedrooms......thousands of tiny mites that covered the bed and our daughter as she slept for the second night. The Owners went to some effort to address it quickly. However, the full impact this had on our vacation time was a real problem. The bugs were apparently associated with a bird nest near the bedroom......we discovered them after the second night crawling all over the walls, bed, and on clothing, bedding and luggage. Despite multiple hot showers (four in one day) and multiple rounds of clothes washing, we struggled to get the issue under control.The bugs were persistent following hot water washing and drying to our astonishment. This created immense anxiety throughout our family and with visiting friends, particularly not knowing what we were dealing with. Our daughter's asthma condition was exacerbated by the anxiety; her ruined clothing was a significant financial loss to her personally. Out of all this, what we found particularly disappointing was the owners reaction to our efforts to discuss some form of reasonable compensation for our losses (loss of valuable vacation time, loss of space in the cabin, ruined clothing, out of pocket expenses for cleaning materials, and time spent on repeated cleaning, vacuuming, clothes washing, etc). The owners refused to even consider any form of compensation.....in fact they stated that they were shocked we would even consider asking. Very disappointing. We will not be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Liked least: Bug infestation and negative reaction of owners to our stress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review, as it gives us an opportunity to continue to offer excellent service to our renters. We were very concerned when this guest let us know about some tiny bugs that had traveled from a bird nest outside one of the windows of our cottage into one of the guest bedrooms. We immediately offered the family an alternate bedroom and bathroom on an adjoining property for their use, sought out a professional’s help in thoroughly cleaning the room and all linens, and removed the bird nest from outside the window. We were satisfied that we had met the guests' needs, and were happy that they seemed to enjoy the rest of their week, with family and friends. We feel that cleanliness and a welcoming atmosphere are a must for our guests, as evidenced by the number of reviews we have received with high marks for both, and we will continue to provide that for future guests as well, even when faced with nature’s sometimes annoying “gifts.”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz O
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quintessential Maine Cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great lakefront cottage. So nice and quiet! Cottage was clean and equipped with all the comforts of home. Great fire pit. My son and his girlfriend joined us for a few days and we had more than enough space. Sebago Lake does have some big waves! We have a 21' boat and left it on the mooring on those days. We had vacationed on Brandy Pond in Naples in past years and found this cottage just lovely. Adele and Mac were the perfect hosts, nearby but never intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My husband loved having wifi. The deck out back was just lovely.
Liked least: The mooring
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainegrl6...
Charleston SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for that genuine lake getaway experience!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My son, my sister and her fiancée, and I stayed at Morningside for a wonderful week. The cottage is just as its described and shown in the photos. The bedrooms are small but that just added to the "camp" atmosphere we are looking for. The cottage was very clean and equipped with all the amenities to make for a comfortable stay. Beautiful lake views, access to a dinghy and kayaks, and so close to all that Naples and other nearby towns have to offer! Adele and Mac were gracious hosts and afford their guests all the privacy one would expect but are right close by if you need them. Incredible vacation!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;