We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilot House

Pilot House
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Sebasco Rd
Description: From its intimate oceanfront setting, the Pilot House at Sebasco Harbor Resort offers the most spectacular coastal view in Maine. All that - and the food is wonderful too! Maine's fresh flavors are our culinary focus and the Pilot House provides the best of what the Midcoast region has to offer - all with creative, healthy and delicious results. The Pilot House celebrates and updates regional American heirloom recipes. We take great pride in supporting local and regional farmers, lobstermen, fishermen, cheesemakers, dairy farmers, cattle ranchers and producers. As a result, we cook food that recaptures the simple and pure tastes found in locally grown, natural and sustainably harvested ingredients.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Last day of opening this season.Brilliant location at the waters edge.Food was fantastic.Disappointed it was not open for the second day of our stay!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VernonPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved breakfast here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

While staying at Sebasco Estates, we decided to try the breakfast buffet. Delicious! Loved the view of the ocean while eating, and especially enjoyed meeting the waitstaff from Bulgaria and Romania, as well as the local Mainers. Could not have been more welcoming, attentive, and ready to chat if we wished......which we did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyQuilter40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good restaurant with one qualification”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Our family had 3 dinners and 3 breakfasts at the Pilot House. The service was excellent and the food was good except for one dinner when 4 fish dishes had to be sent back because they were undercooked or too cold. The manager removed all the charges for these dishes from our bill, which was very generous, and made sure that everything was right the next night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best View Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We go once each summer to the Ledges Pub which is part of the Pilot House restaurant and Sebasco Harbor resort. This was our 3rd trip in 3 years and we picked a beautiful afternoon to sit out on the stone patio with one of the best views in Maine! The restaurant upstairs and pub on the lower floor also share this beautiful view. We live nearby and are always scouting out great food with great atmosphere. Here at the Ledges though, you get a great view but on all three occasions the food was very mediocre. Our visit this summer had great weather but our order of two flat bread dishes was a disaster. First they came with a salad which was very warm and clearly just taken out of a produce bag and thrown on the plate and most likely not washed. The crust on the flatbread tasted exactly like a store brand frozen pizza. We asked the waitress if they normally served all salads at room temperature and never chilled them. She checked with the chef and confirmed that is their normal operation. She also said the crusts were actually Nan from a local vendor. Amazingly that vendor most likely was the Hannaford Food store packaged Nan shells which we noticed in the nearby supermarket. At $12-16 for each flat bread that was 7 inches in diameter, it was a high price to pay for our fantastic view.

Our waitress was not overly experienced but really did a good job for her 1st week. Which by the way is an issue here since this is a seasonal establishment so none of the staff gets much time to learn the skills of a good waitstaff. The patio was about 1/2 full and we could here at least one issue from each table, including missing entrees, wrong entrees, and waiting 10 minutes before being greeted by a staff member (even though they had 6 waitstaff for 12 tables).

I really hope future management sees the opportunity here. This could be one of the premiere restaurants in southern Maine and could be run year round. However that requires good food and service. Portland now is a food conscious mecca of northern New England and locals won't tolerate tourist trap service, they would however reward a creative owner and chef with year round patronage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
531 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Good food with a wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We often avoid hotel restaurants, but we were happy we chose to eat at Pilot House. We had a very nice meal with a wonderful view of the water. The wiat staff was very friendly and the kitchen was very attentive to food allergies, in our case gluten free.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pilot House also viewed

Phippsburg, Mid Coast Maine
Sebasco Estates, Mid Coast Maine
 
Phippsburg, Mid Coast Maine

Been to Pilot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing