We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

From the moment we met by Scott in reception we had a fantastic break in Sebasco.The site was excellent,the accommodation superb and the food brilliant prepared.
By far the best location so far in our tour of New England

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VernonPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of the property. We are happy that we rated so high on your tour of New England – and appreciate the comments of the accommodations and food!

We also appreciate you mentioning Scott by name – he is a great example of Pure Maine hospitality and was the recipient of our ‘Team Player Award’ at our end of season employee appreciation banquet – I will be sure to share this with him.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    111
    46
    19
    10
See reviews for
132
189
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had a lovely corner room at far end of main lodge, beautiful view and very quiet. Traditional fairly old fashioned room but in a good way.
Food in both restaurant (try to time visit to match sunset if in Autumn or Spring, view amazing) and bar. Lobster and scallops very good.
Service from all staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JulieK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really appreciate your review of the property.
I am glad you enjoyed the traditional Main Lodge and the serenity of Sebasco!

Thank you for mentioning the staff – both in friendliness and helpfulness. I am also glad you enjoyed both restaurants and the local Maine seafood!

We hope to see you on a return visit!

Michael J. Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I really liked this place. The rooms (we stayed in the Main Lodge) are quaint and have a great "Maine" feeling. We stayed two nights and enjoyed our time there. The rooms are clean and very traditional. If stainless steel and glass is your thing then the Sebasco Harbour isn't for you!

The food in The Ledges pub was a bit of a mixed bag. My partner had the Crab Sliders which were huge and a bit too big for a starter. I had the clams, which were nice, but a bit gritty. For mains, we both had the Seafood baskets, which ended up being a mass of deep-fried, covered-in-batter stodge. The second night she had the ribs, which were tremendous. I had the lobster, which was spot on. The atmosphere was great and the bar had a good selection of beers. The staff were friendly and efficient.

We didn't get to try the Pilot House for dinner, but we did have breakfast there. The food was fairly traditional fare, and there was plenty of it. The staff were again friendly and efficient. The views were amazing too!

The grounds were immaculate and a walk to soak up the views was inspiring.
I only wish that we could have stayed longer! Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJennette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you very much for staying with us and we really appreciate your detailed review of the property.

The Main Lodge is our original building and has the traditional inn feel as you mentioned. In regard to the food, our apologies that you had a ‘mixed bag’ – consistency is the key to success and we certainly would have hoped for you to have ‘spot on’ meals during your entire stay. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and efficiency of the staff!

We thank you for your recommendation and hope to see you on a return visit!

Regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Wow! Just arrived 3 hrs ago. Walked 9 holes of golf with wife . Beautiful course. Challenging for golfers like us.
Just checked in to our room. Gorgeous view. Clean,fireplace in bedroom,balcony with a view of the harbor.
Wife said I did a great job finding this place! Thank you SHR.
Already talking about next year, bring some friends of course.

Room Tip: Haven't slept yet,just wanted to get this review in before I forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you very much for staying with us I am glad we made a great first impression! We are always glad when we can make your decision look brilliant!

We love our course too – very challenging and always in such great shape – great walking course as you mentioned.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends next year! Thank you again…

Regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited this resort hotel, set in a stunning location, as part of a tour of New England. It is quite unlike any hotel I have ever been to, and I guess that your appreciation of it will depend very largely on what you expect.
It is a sprawling site with accommodation, reception, and restaurant set out on a campus with five minute walks in between, so, if it is raining you will need some kind of protection as you go from place to place.
Despite the fact that the buildings need some TLC (something that they are working on), they do have a kind of noncommercial charm and the fact that they do encourages you to alter some expectations - you begin to relax and look beyond the immediate site to the beauty of the location and its serenity. It is a place to chill out and do as much or as little as you want, either within the resort itself or in the surrounding area (such as Popham beach) The resort has many facilities from Golf and bike hire through to games rooms and salt water swimming.
If I have any problems it is with the dining arrangements. Breakfasts are fine, but the evening meal left me in something of a quandary: the upstairs restaurant I found a bit pricey and if I am honest a little pretentious, and the downstairs bar area whilst serving good honest food, was almost too downmarket. At the time of the year we went there was little in the way of local alternatives without going 15 miles into Bath.
Overall then a place worth going to, but be prepared to revise your definition of a hotel. Enjoy it for what it is with all its quaintness and enjoy the peace and the locality. Like other reviewers, I found the staff without exception to helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Talk to the reception staff as there is a variety of room types and locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you very much for staying with us and providing a detailed review of the property It sounds as though you had the opportunity to enjoy the many amenities we offer – even in the fall season (biking, golf, bowling, etc.)

Thank you for noticing the constant effort we have put into upgrading all areas of the hotel – as a small family-owned resort, we continue to invest in the property both in visible guest areas, as well as energy efficiency and infrastructure. The ‘upstairs’ restaurant you mentioned – Pilot House – does serve a more upscale casual dinner. We eliminated white table clothes and other more traditional ‘fine dining’ aspects to make it more welcoming to our guests – the food is wonderful and the views are breathtaking. The Ledges Pub is more traditional fare you would find in many seafood restaurants along the coast of Maine.

I certainly appreciate how you have described your experience and I am glad you enjoyed Sebasco for what it is – Pure Maine. We hope to see you in the future!

Regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I brought my wife up here for her birthday in October. I checked their website and it looked like a great quiet Maine resort where we could see the fall colors and sit in front of the fireplace in the cool evenings, just as the website suggested. The food is way overpriced, the fireplace is broken, and it appears there is a huge, noisy college fraternity party or something going on here. This is not restful, the fireplace is cold, the rooms are just okay, but the wifi barely works at all and keeps dropping out. The bed is hard and springy. Unfortunately, we paid in advance through Hotels.com, so when we leave a day early we'll get no refund. It'll be worth taking the financial hit to get out of spending another night in this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltLifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for staying with us – we are sincerely sorry that you didn’t enjoy any part of your stay. I regret that we weren’t given an opportunity to provide you the stay that you desired and expected following your web research.

As you mentioned, you made your reservation on-line with a third-party travel site. Although we certainly support the ability for travelers to book without speaking to property representative, we encourage our visitors to call us directly, even if booking with someone else, as our resort has many diverse accommodations and it gives our team the ability to provide you with the best accommodation that fits your needs.

Following your anonymous review, we researched all of our in-house guests to locate you and then contacted you directly via your guestroom voicemail (as you appeared to be off-property for the day) so that we could personally discuss your issues and provide an appropriate resolution. We do appreciate the fact that you called back that same evening and spoke to the front desk clerk. He did let me know he asked how your stay was and if there was anything that we could do, however further assistance from our staff was declined. We pride ourselves on making our guests happy – regardless of cost, etc.

In regard to the points above: I am sorry you felt that the food was overpriced – I don’t have any food charges on your folio so I am unable to reply to specific concerns. Our pricing for both restaurants is very consistent with other restaurants in the area. The flue in the fireplace in the Main Lodge is not working properly due to the age of the chimney– while we love a wood fire, we’ve decided to retrofit to a gas fireplace and return that welcoming ambience into the Main Lodge in a safer way. Had we been able to have a detailed discussion with you, we may have suggested moving you to a suite in the Fairwinds Spa or Harbor Village, which have their own fireplaces within the room, or our honeymoon cottage, Pebble, also with a fireplace, so your wife’s birthday would be a special event.

You mentioned that it ‘appeared’ a frat party was going on – this was a retreat for one of the country’s most prestigious business schools. I was here throughout the entire weekend and we didn’t receive a single guest complaint that I am aware of regarding this group. These MBA candidates took advantage of almost every amenity we offer. They played golf, tennis, went bowling and hiking, took a cruise on the Ruth. In short, they were all over our campus and had a wonderful stay. These students also stayed in cottages throughout the resort and not a single one stayed in the Main Lodge where you were staying. I am sorry if any portion of their stay disturbed you.

As you mentioned, you made the reservation and paid through hotels.com, so we would have been unable to provide you a refund – however, we would have relocated you to more desirable accommodation if given the opportunity. We have never said we were perfect, but 100% of the time our team tries to resolve any issues our guests may have when given the opportunity to ‘make it right’. Once again, we appreciate that you stayed with us but wished the experience was more positive for you.

Best regards,
Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foxboro
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We visited sebasco resort sept 24-26.Breathtaking views,Excellent rooms,Delicious food,Ruth cruise by all means worth taking.Everyone is so friendly.You cant get any better then this.Its just a beautiful resort hidden away.Viewed on chronicle sept sept 30th.Highly recomended to everyone.We will be back next year and bring the family.Thank you Bob Smith Gary and Bette

Room Tip: All rooms including lodge,captains harbor suite,cottages all a fantasic pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garybette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Gary and Bette:

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Sebasco in September – we appreciate you mentioning the friendliness of the staff! I am glad you had the opportunity to view the special the Boston’s Chronicle produced – it was promoted as a “Tank Away” – a place where you can visit on less than a tank of gas from Boston.

I will make sure that I let our Lighthouse Keeper, Bob Smith – know that you were kind enough to share your visit with TripAdvisor readers! We hope to see you again soon!

Michael Lynch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebasco Estates
11.3 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
347 reviews
21.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,339 reviews
13.0 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
207 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
12.4 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sebasco Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sebasco Harbor Resort

Property: Sebasco Harbor Resort
Address: P.O. Box 75, 29 Kenyon Road, Sebasco Estates, ME 04565-0075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Sebasco Estates
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sebasco Estates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sebasco Harbor Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among whispering pines on the rugged coast lies a retreat of quiet comfort and rejuvenation, where beauty and tradition abound. Tucked away on 550 acres on Maine's Midcoast, Sebasco Harbor Resort is an authentic Maine destination resort with breathtaking views and a wealth of activities the entire family can enjoy including golf, fishing, boating, swimming, hiking, scavenger hunts, pirate cruises, tennis, spa services and more. Experience Pure Maine, where memories last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sebasco Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebasco Harbor Hotel Sebasco Estates
Sebasco Harbor Estates
Sebasco Harbor Resort Sebasco Estates, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing