We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath(Brunswick)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$95
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$201
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daniel(Brunswick)
US$141
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relax Inn(Brunswick)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newagen Seaside Inn(Newagen)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
258
121
53
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
121
53
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgepopham beachthe pilot housemeal plangolf coursecandlepin bowlinglobster bakecandle pin bowlingsalt water poolblueberry pancake breakfastdirty dancingplaying golfend of the seasonrehearsal dinnerfamily vacationsome tlcquarter duck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a real gem of a spot for families. It has tons of things to do, for kids of all ages. The activities at this property include golf and tennis, but in a casual atmosphere, that teens and preteens can feel comfortable playing the 3 and 9 hole without pressure. There are kayaks, croquet, and lots of activities for the kids. There are also excursions on the property and ones nearby for fishing and site seeing. All that said, the property itself needs a bit of TLC. It has enormous potential, but it falls short of great ratings for all the little things. It needs better bedding, and towels and amenities in the rooms. The decor needs updating, and really falls short of being a charming resort because of the need for updating. I guess once someone updates it and really brings out all the innate charm, the prices will probably reflect it too. So depending on whether you can overlook these details, for us, the kids loved it more than other nicer properties, because they had so much to do.
Also, the onsite dining was excellent. And the staff overall were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated. We stayed in the older section, but there seemed to be rooms in the lodge that looked fresher.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichelleinQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear ‘MichelleinQ8’

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on TripAdvisor – it is very kind of you to take a few moments to review your time with us. We love your title – ‘Great Family Getaway Spot’ – as we certainly pride ourselves on doing just that successfully for 85 years!

Thank you for mentioning the staff and for taking part in so many activities – certainly no time to rest if you don’t want to. I will be certain to make sure that the Culinary Team knows that you enjoyed your dining experience. In regard to the need for TLC, we continue to improve, renovate and restore during our off-season months as well as what we can do during the season. I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations on that end, but we certainly appreciate the fact that you and your family enjoyed their overall stay.

We hope to see you and your family here again and thank you for staying with us.

All the best,
Michael Lynch
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently had the pleasure of visiting Sebasco Harbor with my girlfriend for a night - wish it was longer. The beauty of the area and the resort itself is enough to rate "excellent", but what makes this resort "superior" are the staff members. We got the sense that they work together as a cohesive team that works hard at guest relations. (Example: We went to the gift shop at 5:10pm, not realzing they closed at 5:00pm. The staff member was just about to lock up but when she saw us coming up the stairs, she invited us in and told us to take our time...).

We took the yoga class in the AM which was a great amenity and a super all-levels class.

They also do a fabulous job with their gardens.

I could go on and on....a great location with warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogagirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear ‘YogaGirl14’:

Thank you very much for your review of your property – we wish you could have stayed longer too! Our deepest appreciation for your mention of our staff – the beauty is incredible but our team loves being here and embraces the guest experience. Our internal motto is “One Team, One Voice, One Message” – thank you for noticing!

We always have nice reviews on the yoga class – I might have to try it eventually! We are a Green Leader in Maine, as well as recognized by TripAdvisor and certainly strive to be an honest steward of the environment.

We hope to see you again soon and all the best,
Michael Lynch
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights midweek in the Harbor Village accommodations. (This resort has a wide variety of cottages and hotel rooms ( all are not air conditioned so check before you commit.) We had a fabulous room. The king size bed was very comfortable. The room had a large balcony with a wonderful view of the bay which we took full advantage of. The room was well appointed with a bar area and refrigerator. The resort has free Wifi throughout. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Everyone was extremely pleasant and helpful. We had breakfast both mornings at the Pilot House restaurant which is on property. The food rivaled the outstanding view. One morning my wife had the lobster omlette and raved about it (full of chunks of lobster). From the resort it is about a 45 minute drive to Boothbay. Our stay was just before school let out for the summer so it was not overly busy. It appeared to be a very family friendly place with many activities for the children. There is an olympic size pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JEM02882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 'JEM02882':

Thank you very much for your review of our property- your thoughts are much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your room in the Harbor Village Suites and they do have great views of the water! We are very proud of our team members – thank you for the mention – they love to accommodate!

We made a significant investment in our wireless offering with a completely new system and our guests this season have all noticed the increased availability of service. Our food and beverage team will love to hear your comments about the food – the lobster omelet is always a winner!

We hope to see you back soon – best regards,
Michael Lynch
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by certain aspects of this resort. The game room was great fun for the kids. I wish it opened a little earlier since our kids were small (hours 7:30-9:30pm), but we enjoyed it. We enjoyed a boat ride. This is a great place for FAMILIES. I would have been miserable had I gone there as a couple. We played tennis, we went to the forts off site, we enjoyed lunch in Bath. We stayed in the most modern accommodations, which were fine. Nothing luxurious. There were NO towel hooks, which was very frustrating. Who wants to hang a towel to dry on a bar over the toilet? Gross. There were holes from hooks on the back of the bathroom doors. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which had two bathrooms. The jacuzzi tub was one of those small ones, barely for one adult. The gas fireplace might be fine for winter, but wasn't needed in summer. The kitchenette was helpful to have and came with a few dishes, which was nice. I was able to feed the kids breakfast using the toaster and microwave. The pull out couch is slightly wider than a twin - NOT full size. No way could two kids sleep there, so we had to add a cot, which really filled up the room. More positive points about the grounds - there was kid-friendly golf - a three hole course. Very cheap to rent clubs and the fella at the pro shop was mellow and friendly. My daughter and I had pedicures at the spa - those ladies were very friendly. Fun little shop on site, which was helpful for a few toys and bug spray. Also got some visors as we had forgotten hats. There was croquet, volleyball, and canoes/paddleboats to use. It had poured on Thursday, and when we went to the dock at 4pm on Friday nobody had bailed out the canoes or paddleboats, so even though my husband was strong enough to dump them out, they were very wet and dirty. The pool is not well maintained and freezing - just filled with unheated ocean water. We didn't go in. My daughter tried, but it was way too cold. Lots of mosquitoes. All in all we had a good time - the game room and kids' golf being the highlights for the kids. Also our key card to the room kept inactivating, but someone would come with new ones when we called from our cell phones. Took about 10 minutes each time. Sigh. We paid $355 a night including taxes, which felt way too high for the room itself. When you consider the activities offered, I would say it's probably only moderately overpriced.

Room Tip: I preferred the more modern admiral suites. Apparently the other buildings do not have AC. There was no elevator for the second floor, but we enjoyed having a balcony facing the water.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear 'Wendy S':

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay – we appreciate you visiting Sebasco and sharing your comments – both the positive and where we came up short. It is with this feedback that we can improve!

I am glad that you were surprised about our resort - we are celebrating our 85th birthday this year and have always remained a family owned and operated resort for all of those years – certainly unique in today’s hospitality world. The Quarterdeck is one of our most popular venues as it brings a bit of nostalgia to your stay with the candlepin bowling and other games that the kids (big and little) love. It also sounds like you took full advantage of many of our activities that we offer this time of year – sincere apologies for the water in the canoes, those should have been emptied and cleaned after the rain storm.

The Admiral Suite is a two room suite with a twin-size pullout, I am sorry it couldn’t accommodate both kids but it sounds as though the cot worked out (which many families choose). There should be hooks on the back of the door – apologies. The towel rack over the toilet is heated – this is for both the comfort of a warm towel after you shower, as well for those that re-use their towels as part of our ‘green’ program.

Our three-hole course is great for families as you mentioned and the Fairwinds Spa does a great job with all their services. Thank you for mentioning those team members!

Apologies that your key card didn’t stay activated – we should have responded in a more timely fashion when those don’t work. The pool is not heated and in the spring, depending on the weather, it does stay cooler. It does get maintained daily with the appropriate chemicals and vacuuming – apologies that it didn’t give you that impression.

I hope that if your travels take you to Maine again, you will consider us for your family. Thank you for staying with us and have a great summer!

Best regards,
Michael Lynch
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a discount package through Travel Zoo and we scored a beautiful room with a king room in the main lodge, the food was great and the boat ride on the Ruth was awesome. The beach about 2 miles away was great and the 2 forts were worth the visit. Thank you . It was great!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puremaine, General Manager at Sebasco Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear 'Cynthia W'-

We appreciate you sharing your positive comments about your stay - I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our early season specials. Thank you also for commenting on the food and the boat tour - I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team!

We look forward to your next visit,
Michael Lynch
Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews