We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not brillient.”
Review of Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towne Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skowhegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Ok we normally stay in hotels or B&B's so my review is probably a bit biased because of this. Your choise of lodgings is limited in Skowhegan so we booked after reviewing Trip advisor. Our room was very clean and and the bathroom had an excellent shower. The room was fairly spacious and had opening windows. Sadly we couldn't open our windows as our neighbours smoked and their smoke poured into our room (as it does when your a non smoker). We asked for a quiet room (room 221) and even though it was on a busy road it was.......until the family arrived downstairs with their dog. They played "pin the tail on the dog" until about 11.30pm or they had circus performers from the visiting state fair there and their antics vibrated up our walls! The bed was a generous king size but very hard and not comfortable. It was more like a Eoropean bed as they like them very very firm. They have a good pool which we did not use but it was clean and in pleasant surrondings. The hosts recommended a good restaurant next door which offered a good meal in a pleasant environment. The breakfast provided offered healthy options! Fruit, yogurt, cereal etc with tea and coffee. It was all one need to start the day. Finally the staff were friendly and professional. Whilst in town make sure to visit the New Balance factory store.

Room Tip: Upstairs should be quieter as this seems a popular stop with families due to the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Towne Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just back from white water rafting on the Kennebec River and really enjoyed our stay at the Towne Motel in Skowhegan.I was a little hesitant booking a "drive up motel" but was pleasantly surprised. It was centrally located , property was well cared for with a nice outside pool. Room was spacious and clean. Bathroom had updated fixtures as well as a nice tub surround. Breakfast was good as well. Overall very impressed! would definately stay again if in Skowhegan area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed at the Towne for buisiness, was a little shocked when I got an actual metal key for my room at check in. But that is part of what makes the Towne charming, has a family feel, it's clean and well maintained, and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmad110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My wife is a traveling nurse and we needed a place to stay in Skowhegan for 3 months. After looking around the area for 2 days we were unable to find anything we were comfortable moving into.
The Towne Motel owner where we were staying suggested we stay at her motel in a kitchenette. It turned out to be a good thing to do. With all services provided it was less expensive than a normal, single rental apartment would have been. The staff were excellent and responsive to our needs. We would recommend the Towne Motel to anyone needing a comfortable and reasonable place to stay while in the Skowhegan area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eshelmankenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at the Towne Motel when we came to Maine for our son's wedding. We were pleased to find a clean, quiet, well maintained place to stay. There was an excellent continental breakfast with the best blueberry muffins ever, according to our 5 yr old granddaughter. It was a pleasure to find the rooms comfortable and very clean as well as equipped with Wifi. The grounds were neat and well groomed. The outdoor swimming pool, which we were not able to use due to cool weather, was also very clean and well maintained. The front desk staff was friendly and helplful they made us feel very welcome.

We returned to our home in Wisconsin pleased with our stay at the Towne Motel in Skowhegan, Maine. We have recommended the Towne Motel to friends who will be traveling to the Skowhegan area in Oct.


Thank you to the Poulins and the great staff for helping make this special trip even more special .

The Dixons

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiagaraWiNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Whenever I go to Skowhegan, I have stayed at the Towne Motel. The rooms are clean and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. The last time I was there, I left my computer electrical cord. They packaged the cord up and I received it in a couple days. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Skowhegan area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I booked at the Towne motel, not knowing what to expect but what I found was a very nicely done motel that was modern in every way. The rooms were clean, very large, with nice appointments, mini-fridge, WiFi, etc. The staff were very helpful plus there is a gourmet restaurant, the Heritage House, only a few doors down. That was an extra bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tosh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skowhegan
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
16.0 mi away
Pittsfield Motor Inn
Pittsfield Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Pittsfield
22 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
219 reviews
14.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
270 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Address: 172 Madison Ave, Skowhegan, ME 04976-1306
Region: United States > Maine > Skowhegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skowhegan
Price Range: £84 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Towne Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel offers clean comfortable rooms and a complimentary breakfast. We have a large pool, free wifi, AC and have select pet friendly rooms. Online reservations from our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Hotel Skowhegan
Towne Motel Skowhegan, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing