We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel”
Review of Towne Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Towne Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skowhegan
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice motel”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Would sleep there again. A bit old but clean and staff was friendly. Nice pool.
Well located.
Went there in our trip from Quebec to Bar Harbor with my 1 years old. We wanted to cut the travel because of our young girl and this was the first place where there was something around.
We took a few walks in the streets nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    33
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
24
44
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moose River
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed at this motel while visiting family, everything from the check in to the cleanliness was great. Very knowledgeable front desk staff and the room was nice and clean. Wi-Fi worked well and this motel's pool was spotless. Centrally located in the town and surprisingly quiet for being on the main street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

What a deal! Free WiFi, free breakfast nice heated pool as well as newly renovated rooms. We were pleasantly surprised given the price. Only 1/2 mile to downtown and minutes to Waterville. We are on way to Quebec City but would be good stop for Colby College visits.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There are not many hotels to choose from here and this one is a step above the rest. I have stayed here multiple times in the last few years and each time my stay has been consistently good. It is not a 4 star hotel but it is a great basic stay location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deempell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Hill
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent two nights at the Towne Motel in Skowhegan. It is located just north of the center of town and within walking distance of several restaurants. This is a 1970s era motel with an outdoor pool and clean basic rooms. Our room had two queen size beds, a desk, two arm chairs a refrigerator, a coffee pot and a tv with cable. There was Wi-Fi and a wall AC unit, too. The mattresses on the beds were firm and very comfortable. There were extra blankets and pillows available in the closet. The lighting was dim but the room and bath were sparkling clean and spacious. It was still off-season so two nights cost us less than $90 a night including a continental breakfast...which we did not try as we had to be off very early for the 10 mile yard sale in neighboring Cornville. That's another story!

Room Tip: The street is busy so pick a room at the back of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

What a lovely place. Spotlessly clean, well equipped room with fridge and coffee maker, comfortable furnishings, and nice firm bed. It has a pool (unheated!) and while on a main road is set well back so noise is not an issue. The front office staff were very helpful, directing us to a nice restaurant a 2 minute walk away for dinner. Breakfast on the day we left (Saturday) was not till 8am, so we missed that as we had an early start. Will definitely stay there again of travelling through Skowhegan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank academic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborahdp, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. The Heritage House restaurant (just a few doors away) is truly a gem. While on winter hours breakfast starts at 8 only on Sat & Sun, it begins at 7 am every other day. Starting Memorial Day weekend, we change to summer hours and breakfast will begin at 7 every morning until mid October. We are very glad this guest enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been staying here in the Towne Motel since last NOV 2012. The rooms are clean & quiet as well comfortable and not overpriced for the comfort. Where the location of this Motel is easy to get to the resturants and downtown area as well as the shopping centers. The service staff is very friendly and will go out of the way to help with ab

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skowhegan
14.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
258 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
214 reviews
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
304 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Property: Towne Motel
Address: 172 Madison Ave, Skowhegan, ME 04976-1306
Region: United States > Maine > Skowhegan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Skowhegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Towne Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towne Motel offers clean comfortable rooms and a complimentary breakfast. We have a large pool, free wifi, AC and have select pet friendly rooms. Online reservations from our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Hotel Skowhegan
Towne Motel Skowhegan, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing