We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great special occasion place for dinner”
Review of Migis Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Casco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Migis Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Casco
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As we have a place on Sebago, we haven't been able to justify staying at Migis Lodge, but we have had the pleasure of dining there when the restaurant is open to the public, not just their guests. We went on the buffet night, and wow - it was fabulous. Lobster, all kinds of seafood, steaks, chicken, pasta, vegetables, breads, and desserts. We were full to bursting and were wishing we had room for more. Great service, lovely ambience - expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I read the reviews online and visited the website before booking. While it looked beautiful and tranquil yet rustic, A few people had complained about it being musty and there being bugs. We stayed in the ledges cabin and experienced neither. The property is sprayed for bugs and its definitely apparent when walking around in the evenings. The cabin we stayed in had plenty of room for our family of five and was nicely furnished and immaculate. The meals were fantastic always offering a vegetarian or seafood option since I don't eat meat. There were numerous activities for us and the kids yet at the same time if you wanted to come here, unwind and just do nothing you could do that as well. And lastly the service was excellent! It's a young team they have working here but it runs like a well oiled machine and everyone is quick to offer a lesson on the water or lend a hand. I was thinking migis was going to be too rustic for me but I would come back in a second.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Staff very nice , especially those involved in the children's program, the ski boat operator, and the kitchen services. However, the cabins have no air conditioning, no locks, and no safes for valuables. Additionally, although wi-fi isavailable the signal is very weak and did not work inside the cabin. Saturday night dinner is formal (jacket required) - which I found ironic for a rustic cabin retreat located in the woods without basic amenities such as air conditioning and locks! Since there is no informal alternative and I was without a jacket - we needed to drive to town for dinner. This would not have been an issue but the only way to rationalize the steep rates is to take into account the included meals - which in this instance wasn't included. They also don't take credit cards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David14106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed P, General Manager at Migis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We appreciate the time you spent reviewing your recent stay at Migis Lodge. I trust you learned at check in that you can lock your doors from the inside when you are occupying your cottage, and that we indeed have a safe for any valuables you would like stored. We offer a lakeside cottage experience (since 1916) that we hope includes opening all windows wide to the breezes and the sounds of the birds and occasional bounce of a tennis ball. I see you were here for a very warm stretch of weather; typically Maine summer days are warm and evenings are suited for a light sweater so air conditioning is very seldom called for. Our jacket requirement for gentlemen after 5:30 is a decades long-standing tradition (waived for our casual outdoor Friday lobster bakes) and often our younger male guests look forward to the day when they are grown up enough to be part of it. We offer loaner jackets to gentlemen (for use in the air-conditioned dining room) right at the front desk so regret that you missed a wonderful Migis meal! The wi-fi signal was installed in 2011 and as we speak is undergoing a complete propertywide upgrade for strengthening as more guests use multiple devices. We are passing along your compliments to the staff, and we look forward to having a chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Migis Lodge is something like the summer camp you went to as a kid, with cabins in the woods, a main lodge, waterfront activities on the lake, cook-outs and campfires. But the cabins are well-appointed hotel suites, with updated bath, living room with fireplace and flat screen TV, spacious bedroom(s), all in rustic style.
A major difference from your summer camp is the level of service. The well-trained and enthusiastic house and restaurant staff are warm and accommodating. They could not do enough to make our stay a pleasure.
Like camp, all meals are included. But these meals are well-prepared and have a range of dishes that anyone can enjoy. For example, one cook-out buffet lunch had hot dogs, hamburgers, fajitas, jerk grilled chicken, and an assortment of salads. Dinners are served and are much fancier, with a printed menu and a choice of many items. Breakfast is buffet or you can order just about anything from the kitchen. For all meals, the dishes were almost always well-done and excellent quality. The portions and choice are plentiful. The wait staff went out of their way to accommodate special requests. Lobster always seems to be on the menu (this is Maine).We felt that wait between courses, especially when serving the entrees, was long. But perhaps this was because it was early in the season.
Cell phone coverage is good, and free Wi-Fi is available throughout the grounds. The hotel staff laid the fire and filled the ice bucket every day.
This is a good location for family retreats, or destination weddings. If you want to relax with a book, this is a good place. However, activities are limited to swimming in the lake (no pool), sailing, canoeing, kayaking, motor boating and tennis.
Be aware of Migis’s unique policies. They don’t take credit cards. There is a 30-day cancellation policy. Men are expected to wear jackets for dinner in the lodge. There is no air conditioning in the cabins. The central lodge and its rooms are air conditioned (A/C may only be needed a few days in the summer; fans are provided).

Room Tip: The cabins differ in arrangement and time since update. The rooms in the lodge are smaller and air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frqunt_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed P, General Manager at Migis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for the thoughtful review of your stay at Migis Lodge. I hope on your next trip you are able to take advantage of a lake cruise on our vintage Chris Craft, walking trails, morning lakeside fitness classes, standup paddleboarding, wood fired sauna (then quick run into the lake), shuffleboard, horseshoes, karaoke, bonfires with s'mores, games in Boulders (our recreation room), even bingo on Wednesday after dinner.....as well as relaxing with your favorite book!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We were guests at a destination wedding at Migis. Wow! Staff super friendly and on top of everything! Food was excellent, nice activities too,,, oh, and did I mention the view?? Rooms a bit rustic, but then that's what you get on a beautiful peaceful lake setting in Maine!! We have no hesitation recommending Migis!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ObjectiveTruth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Gorgeous lake and natural setting among the pines! Costly, but first-rate all-inclusive resort run by hands-on family. Excellent (and plentiful) food and service; warm and unpretentious. Swim, boat and picnic to your heart's content. We stayed in a main lodge room with traditional decor and A/C. A variety of houses and family cabins are available (did not see those interiors). One week stay usually required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swimmingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just so splendid! Adorable cabins. People need to realize that these are cabins! It's not the park plaza hotel! That's what makes it charming! The food is exceptional! Suit coat for dinner is required for men which I love! Finally a place that doesn't allow jeans and a sloppy shirt at a meal!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank watrskiergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jed P, General Manager at Migis Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your visit, and your meals, and we're appreciative that you also like to dress up a bit at dinner time! We do like to relax during the day, and step it up a little in the evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Migis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migis Lodge

Address: 30 Migis Lodge Road, PO Box 40, South Casco, ME 04077
Region: United States > Maine > South Casco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Casco
Price Range: £310 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Migis Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migis Lodge is a Full American Plan resort located on the northern edge of Sebago Lake. You'll love staying in either one of our 8 lodge rooms, or in one of our 35 modern, comfortable cabins featuring wood-burning fireplaces, flat-screen HD televisions, and other modern amenities vacationers seek today. All meals are included when you stay at Migis Lodge, and everything is included with the exception of use of motor boats and drinks from the bar. Enjoy water-skiing, island cookouts, frisbee golf, and many more exciting activities, or just lounge around on the beach and relax. Come see why families return to Migis year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Migis Hotel South Casco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing