We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster Company
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Meh!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Poor parking situation, only accepts cash, very, very expensive, and who? Who for the love of your God idea deep fries scallops? And what reputable seafood restaurant serves those cheesy packeted tubs of tartar sauce? You do get a mini view of a very crowded harbor though.

You may enjoy this restaurant if you are the type of person that has only 2 days and wants to experience Maine at it's most mediocre. This is just one small step down from cafeteria food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank h0trudderedbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    153
    76
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phippsburg, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood, Great fast service but......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The fried seafood combo I ordered for dinner last night was delicious!!! Crumb coating( batter is an option but not available this evening) was crunchy and not greasy at all. The scallops might have been my favorite, the we're juicy, warm all the way thru, sweet and just delicious!!!! Fries and coleslaw were standard issue. My husband had a clam cake sandwich. It is an obvious purchased product, nothing special seems that should be made in house with the crabmeat that is available locally in Maine. Biggest disappointment was the packaged Kraft tarter sauce. Come on guys, this is such an easy thing to make and would taste 1000 times better than what you offered!! Prices seem high but it's summer, coast of Maine, touristy restaurant so expected nothing less. BE AWARE it's CASH only. They do provide an ATM in the small dining room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not a Chance!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We drove down to see the waterfront and relax a bit. While there, we decided to check out the menu for Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster Company,as we dined with Harraseeket in the Village the night before and were extremely impressed with service, food, and atmosphere.
We decided not to dine with the Lunch and Lobster Company because of the poor attitude of the young lady at the window. After several attempts of gathering information about the menu, she continued to be rude and uninterested in helping us or serving us. We walked around a bit and decided Not a Chance will we dine there. We have enjoyed our time in ME and sorry that we had to experience this poor quality treatment and service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamestownRGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“It's Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I love fried clams. These are just okay, nothing special. When you sit outside, you really are sitting in a parking lot with a view of cars and some boats in storage. You can get up and walk around after you eat and see the marina and the river.
I prefer other places. There's a lot in the area to try. My friend had a lobster roll, which was good. Also, this can be hard to find. From Route One, TURN TOWARD THE WATER AT THE GIANT INDIAN!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Spookahontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winslow, Maine
Level Contributor
234 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing too exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We live in Maine....so this was "normal" for us. It's a little place to eat by the water. It's expensive, you pay for the view. It's out of the way. The food was normal for the type of place it is. The lady taking orders had no personality. No ac if sitting inside. The only tables left outside were in the sun. We tried it once and that's good. Plenty of places around just like it. The food was good, but nothing special. Good for tourists. The guy sitting on a pop up chair near the entrance, extremely creepy. Not sure who or what he was waiting for, but it was weird.

Helpful?
Thank TELLITLIKEITIS04901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster Company also viewed

 

Been to Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing