We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Kings Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kings Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 South Paris B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Everything you would ever want in a B & B. The food was plentiful and home made. The room was cozy, charming and very clean. The setting was magical overlooking a large meadow with a chapel. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. Bring your appetite for breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night at this lovely inn, but we had a really nice time. The innkeepers are kind and helpful. When I arrived, I was greeted with homemade bars and cookies warm from the oven. The VIEW from the balcony is amazing and the property itself is full of history and beauty. Breakfast including homemade blueberry pancakes, homemade coffee cake, sliced fresh fruits....it was all delicious! They even accommodated for breakfast, quite happily, some guests I was meeting who weren't staying at the inn. Instead of having to meet at a restaurant, we simply all had breakfast around the big dining room table. It was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Arrive early enough to watch the sun go down. It is a spectacular view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilacgirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Our first B&B stay and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was quaintly decorated with many small touches. The view from the deck was breathtaking
and the flower gardens were to die for. The hosts made us feel like a part of the family and gave us a tour and the history of the property. Breakfast was
superb and lunch was easily skipped. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the deck rooms have a super view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Readytogonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I stayed at the Kings Hill Inn during a business trip, there are not many hotels in the area and I was hesitant at first about staying at a B&B, but my fears were soon forgotten and I was very warmly welcomed! It was a pleasure staying here and I hope to do so again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

A very quiet and relaxing B&B, reasonably priced. Clean, well decorated room. Bountiful breakfast cooked by owners. Short trip into South Paris Center for shopping and dining.
Owners are very supportive of veterans and returning active duty military.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralphcramd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Could not ask for nicer people or a better night's stay - the location is quiet and beautiful. Janice and Glenn are wonderful hosts. Breakfast was great. The inn is charming and the grounds are just beautiful. We chose the location because it was not far from the New Hampshire border and the White Mountains. Make sure you drive up to Lovejoy and check out their property up on the hill...the view is amazing! Wish we could have stayed for more than 1 night!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askssk715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I had to be in the area for a last minute business meeting and went online to see what I could find in the area. It was the height of foliage color, the big Freyberg Fair was on and my only hope was that I was going to need just one room - on a Thursday - for just one night. I tried a couple of the local hotels in the area and struck out - turned out to be a blessing - but called the Kings HIll Inn and they had just one room and just for one night. I had to drive up through Boston from Southern New England and told them I would be a little late as I expected traffic and I was right. Got there at 10PM and got a bright-eyed enthusiastic welcome from Glenn, the owner-inn keeper. I was beat and declined his offer of a beverage. Went up to my room which was a very generously sized room with king size bed (very comfortable) and a queen sized wrought iron day bed. It was a perfect New England farmhouse bedroom - neat as a pin but real comfortable.

Got up early after a good night's sleep and was welcomed with a cup of hot coffee by Janice and Glen who were in the kitchen getting breakfast started. The dining room has a couple of tables with one being a large 'joiner's table"; plenty of room for everyone. This is nice as you get a chance to meet other guests and hear some great travel stories; this is a nice way to get the day started - at least for me. Breakfast was great - fresh fruit, home made waffles with real maple syrup, fresh eggs and sausage, orange juice, coffee - could not have asked for more! I even had my business friend come up from town and join me which my hosts were happy to accomodate - as a matter of fact they suggested it when I made my reservation.

Could not ask for nicer people or a better night's stay - the location is quiet and beautiful. Try it and you'll enjoy it. The cost is also reasonable which in this economy is good news. I'm just glad that there was no room in the motels and hotels as this inn on King's Hill was just what I needed - expect I will be staying here again the next time I'm in the area - maybe this winter as they are only 30 minutes from Sunday River!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danshedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kings Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Hill Inn

Address: 56 King Hill Rd, South Paris, ME 04281-6122
Region: United States > Maine > South Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Paris
Price Range: £122 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Hill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic B & B is the homesite of Horatio King who was the Postmaster General of The United States under President James Buchanan in 1861. White Mountain views and gardens are beautiful and the beauty, peace and tranquility are so refreshing. Afternoon tea and cookies are available in the dining room daily as well as a seven course morning breakfast. Allow your hosts, Janice and Glenn. To treat you as a "king and queen" each time you visit King's Hill Inn & Barn. Call them now with any questions, concerns or special needs. The 115 year old barn is now available for weddings, events and receptions. "Like" King's Hill Inn on facebook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing