We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold In Shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn South Portland
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Going cheap is just that, going cheap. What you have to give up is the issue. Black growth on the bottom of your bathing facilities shower curtain is not what I would consider a "quality" experience. What else is being neglected would be my next question. Overall if this were the last place left to stay it would beat sleeping in the car. Don't waste your time on what this facility calls a "continental breakfast" unless you consider a box of Dunkin Donuts and a couple of pieces of fruit a continental breakfast. Personally I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

We've been prisoners of motel franchises in Portland ever since our son and his family moved here a few years ago. We found Knights Inn when the franchises were all sold out on a busy weekend. Knights Inn was a pleasant surprise: clean, no evidence of smoker contamination, and windows that actually open! It was basic, but the room was clean and quite adequate, and a lot cheaper than those franchises. Very close to beautiful downtown Portland, too. We didn't have any contact with the management, but that's okay by me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Room was very clean and spacious with excellent value for your money rates! Hotel managers very friendly and eager to make sure your stay is just right. Would definitely stay again and recommend to other travelers.

Room Tip: Right on Route 1 in Maine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 341PeggyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The cleaning lady is loosing her hair everywhere in the room.
If you are drunk and don't care about weird sperm spots on the blanket, maybe it is a good motel for you, but other than that you should definitively pay more for a better quality room. Bring your Lysols and Febreeze!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joeyfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed in the yellow building and was very happy. The room was clean, had a fridge and microwave, the bed was comfortable and the price was great for what we got. would stay here again. Great for the money. As others said, was a bit wary and it looks like nothing special from the outside but the room was good and they had free coffee and donuts in the lobby.

Room Tip: King size bed, yellow building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BlueBlonde13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My second time here. Hotel is clean with new carpet and painting. Bathroom is a new one piece. Will book again and any time I am in Portland. It is close to shopping and all amentities. They have a fridge and microwave that is a bonus if you don't want to spend a lot on eating out.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Beware the little signs in the supposed non-smoking rooms that smell of smoke and then being accused of smoking in the non-smoking room. Little signs read $150 charge for smoking in room. Also this site booked me for the wrong date with no way to refund or change. I attempted several times to call the overseas number without an answer.



  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,383 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
160 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 21 in Portland
1,716 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn South Portland

Address: 634 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: £54 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing