We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Execllent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
North Carolina
1 review
“Execllent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Clean, quiet, friendly and breakfast. Don't let the low prices fool you, this is a nice hotel. I've been to plenty of Hojo's and this one is near the top of the list. We even got a call from the front desk an hour into our stay, asking if everything was ok. For $77 a night, you can't ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigracefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    308
    229
    83
    53
See reviews for
367
211
77
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
166 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and it was great. Breakfast was great and fresh. The pool was small but hey it's a pool. The rooms were pretty spacious. The staff was great and quick. It is close to a 7 eleven and gas stations. You also have the Maine mall nearby and the lighthouse. It was a but expensive because of the marathon that weekend but it was a great stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_swimmer_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

People were nice. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was plenty. Price was decent considering the season. Will go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Karsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

When I planned this trip, I originally wanted to stay in Portland, but the hotels were over my budget so I booked this hotel in South Portland (only about 4 miles away) and the reviews were good and the price was good too. It's right off of the I-95 so easy access. The hotel is not bad. Clean, a bit older though. The staff is really friendly and helpful. One of the staff recommended a restaurant right on the bay called Joe's Boathouse in South Portland and it was amazing. I would definitely stay here again if I ever came back. Hubby and I drove to Portland and I am so, so, so glad that we didn't stay there. I really don't like this old, shabby city and the neighborhoods were different than anywhere I have ever been. South Portland is the right place for me. Only thing I will say is that I do wish there were some restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, but there were not. Just a 7-11 store across the street and a dunkin donuts a short walk away. They do serve breakfast here and you can make your own waffle. Maybe I will try that tomorrow.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are exactly the same on all four floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelera826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Address: 675 Main St, US Highway 1, South Portland, ME 04106-5422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Portland
#7 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing