We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful nights rest with a nice authentic Mexican...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 8 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here mid July and have a good stay. Portland hotels are very expensive this time of year and thought the price was very reasonable. Rooms, corridors, furnishings are typical mid- priced hotel. The bed was very comfortable! Complimentary breakfast had a variety of choices and was well maintained by the staff person. Front desk folks were very nice.

There is a heated indoor pool but no hot tub.

Only real complaint is that the towels were thin and not many were provided for the room. Suggest that the hotel load up the towels if they are going to keep using this kind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb_RVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our room smelled mouldy, and our bathroom had visible moulds in it. Not the best construction to say the least.
Our room was noisy, as we could hear guests in adjacent rooms and people in the hallway quite well.

We spent two nights here and on both days the cleaners occupied the hallway between 8am and 6pm. The hotel feels cluttered that way.

Breakfast is the worst: it's a very small room, with a very, very noise airconditioning, with only very unhealthy choices to be made foodwise (muffins, turkey sandwich, scrambled eggs, processed bread, waffles). The result of the small room and the complimentary breakfast is that it feels as if you're part of a locust swarm getting your hands on something to eat.

This hotel is not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank broset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Leann H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Address: 675 Main St, US Highway 1, South Portland, ME 04106-5422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Portland
#7 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £46 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson South Portland Hotel South Portland
South Portland Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing