We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was good except wifi was poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room was great and the staff was friendly (especially Timothy at check-in). The only complaint I have is the wifi was poor - had a hard time connecting and staying connected! When we checked out no one asked how the room was or if there were any problems. Close to airport and shopping. Quite a few restaurants in the area around the mall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Greetings RF Alberta,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. I'm glad that you found your room "great" and staff "friendly." I'll make sure to let Timothy know that you mentioned him. He will appreciate it! I do apologize that you had trouble with the Wi-Fi. I appreciate your feedback on this and will look into it. I also apologize that you were not asked how your stay was at check out. This is not a norm and actually, asking how your stay was, is something we value very much! I'll review this as well. I am glad that you found our Mall/restaurant location convenient. We hope to see you again! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

In Warmest Hospitality,

Jessica L Geary, Sales
207-775-0409 or jessica.geary@withamhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is where we always stay if we're staying overnight in Southern Maine. There is nothing fancy about this place, but here's why we stay there: it's in a very safe area, close to the airport and the interstate, the rooms are well taken of and clean, it has free wi-fi that actually works (which should be a given everywhere, but isn't), the continental breakfast is decent, the staff is consistently good, and there's almost always a coupon that brings down the cost a bit. Another reason this will continue to be our go-to place is the fact that they're pet friendly, which we found out when we were travelling with our cat. Renovations were underway when we were there last and I'm looking forward to seeing the improvements when we go to Maine this fall.

Bottom line: if what you're looking for is a clean, comfortable room for the night, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmK339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Greetings EmK339,

We are honored to know that this is where you choose to stay, when staying in southern Maine. I appreciate hearing why you have chosen us, "it's in a very safe area, close to the airport and the interstate, the rooms are well taken of and clean, it has free wi-fi that actually works (which should be a given everywhere, but isn't), the continental breakfast is decent, the staff is consistently good, and there's almost always a coupon that brings down the cost a bit. " Our staff try's hard to accommodate all guests and, yes, the coupons are always good! I'm glad that you brought your cat with you. We are very pet friendly. Although we don't have cat treats (only dog treats), maybe we'll relook and invest into those too for our kitty guests. Thank you for noticing our renovations. We are always striving to keep up, keep comfortable and be our guests home away from home.

We hope to see you again soon. Look for the cat treats (or ask the desk). Please let me know if I can provide any assistance.

In Warmest Hospitality,

Jessica L Geary, Sales
207-775-0409
jessica.geary@withamhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived early, a couple of hours before check in. We had gotten lost trying to drive around Portland first and were already tired. We were greeted by Erin who turned our day around 180 degrees!! She quickly worked to get us checked into a ground level room. She gave us maps and all sorts of good information for the area. She even got us a better rate that what we had booked!! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The next day Erin gave us menus to a couple of restaurants who delivered in the area since we had to return our rental car. Breakfast was excellent. The gentleman who was in charge of the breakfast made sure there was plenty of the items that were offered and the area was clean and tidy. And, he had a smile on his face! Erin stopped by our table to give us a downtown shopping tip. We purchased several items at this "Maine" store. The next morning our shuttle to the airport was ready at 5:15am. Coffee was ready too! Airport is very near by so we made our flight with plenty of time for breakfast there. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Greetings Janet J,

First, we're glad you found us!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review on the stellar service some of our staff members provided. They take pride in their jobs and try hard bring customer service to higher levels. I am also pleased that you found our rooms "clean," beds "comfortable," and breakfast "excellent." I will make sure to share this will all team members as they will appreciate your positive recognition.

We do hope to see you again! Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

In Warmest Hospitality,

Jessica L Geary, Sales
207-775-0409
jessica.geary@withamhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel has everything you need to crash overnight before your flight. It is easy to find, has a nice staff and clean rooms with comfortable beds. The bathrooms are very small. There really aren't any local dinner options near by- just chain restaurants, but a short 20 minute drive will get you wherever you want to eat. We had a quiet and restful night here. If I have another early morning flight, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Greetings Trumpditty 1,

We are delighted to hear your positive feedback on our hotel! I will be sure to share with my team, that you found our staff "nice" and rooms "clean." For dinner, did you try the Mall area? This is one block away. If your looking for unique, we are 4.5 miles from the Historic Old Port district. Please let me know if you are in the area again as I would love to offer some fabulous recommendations on where to go.

We hope to see you again. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

In Warmest Hospitality,

Jessica L Geary, Sales
207-775-0409
jessica.geary@withamhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This Comfort Inn is exceptionally clean, has a very friendly staff, the rooms have been recently redone and the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast is very good, as well. This is a great reasonable place to stay near the Portland Jetport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ross5100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Greetings ross5100,

We appreciate your positive reviews of hotel being "exceptionally clean," our staff "very friendly," breakfast "very good," and that you overall found our hotel a "great reasonable place to stay." I will make sure to share all of this wonderful feedback with my team. We hope you come back soon!

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance.

In Warmest Hospitality!

jessica.geary@withamhotels.com or 207-749-5065

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night before flying down south for three weeks. Upon our arrival, I was quite surprised to stand at the front desk totally unacknowledged while the front desk clerk carried on with a very personal phone call right in front of me. Once we got past the weirdness of that, we got settled into our room which was surprisingly nice and decently equipped.

Shuttle the next morning was perfect and left on time. When we returned, we simply called the hotel and they sent the shuttle for us and it arrived within ten minutes. We got back to the hotel and our car was still there, so bonus points there...

All in all, decent place to stay and the park and fly was a great deal....

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackTheDog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Greetings JackTheDog1,

I apologize that your check-in process was not proper. This is not standard nor acceptable. Please contact me so I can get some more information on this situation and make this right for you. We take great pride in our services and any issues that do occur, we want to deal with. I greatly appreciate your feedback on our rooms being "nice and decently equipped,"as well as, that you found our shuttle service "perfect," and the return process easy.

I look forward to hearing from you.

In Warmest Hospitality,

Jessica L Geary, Sales
207-775-0409 jessica.geary@withamhotels,com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have stayed here several times in past years. Since our last stay 2 years ago they have redecorated the rooms and re-modeled the entrance and breakfast area. This is a nice place. Quiet heat, comfy beds, good breakfast, friendly staff, and this time we were glad that they have a washer and dryer available for their guests to use. One feature I like is that the basin area is outside of the bathroom, so I can shower first and while my husband is showering I can brush my teeth, put on makeup etc in a non-steamy place. If in the area we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blandergren, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Greetings Saxeygirl,

Welcome back! Thank you for noticing our updated rooms and renovated spaces such as our entry way and expanded breakfast area. We did just recently purchase a new coin-op washer and dryer, as well as, added new refrigerators and microwaves in all of the rooms. I will be sure to pass along to my team that you found our beds "comfy," breakfast "good," and staff "friendly." I also appreciate your feedback regarding the convenience of basin area outside of the bathroom area. I too find this set-up easier while traveling. We do hope to see you again, and please ask for me next time you are in the area. I would love to meet you in person and say "hi." Repeat guests like yourself are like family to us!

In Warmest Hospitality,

Jessica L Geary, Sales
207-775-0409 or jessica.geary@withamhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
2 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,761 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 20 in Portland
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Address: 90 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Portland
#3 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £48 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is where you want to be! One block away from the largest mall in Maine. Unwind in our private BBQ/Patio area. We have it all. Beaches, Lighthouses, Entertainment and the Tastiest Restaurants around! Why not enjoy a lobster while you’re here?Smoke Free and an Environmental Leader, Comfort Inn South Portland offers hospitality at it's best! Freshly updated rooms, and an expanded breakfast area offering a complimentary hot breakfast daily, 24 hour Coffee & tea, afternoon cookies, free wi-fi,free long distance in the U.S. & Canada, & flat screen TV's with H.D. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel South Portland
Comfort Inn South Portland
South Portland Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing