We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Conveniently situated and easy to find. It's quite close to the interstate, but really not far into Portland itself either. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would recommend it to anyone. The restaurant across the car park does a really good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheshire_Cat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

The Best Western Merry Manor is conveniently located. We are just minutes away from Portland which offers many great dining and shopping options. We are also just miles away from the Maine Turnpike and I-295. This makes it easy to take day trips to Boothbay Harbor, Freeport, Kittery, or even North Conway to see the foliage this time of year. Our wonderful staff is always available to provide directions or recommendations for dinner or things to do in the area. One of the things that anyone visiting the area should plan on is a visit to the Portland Headlight that is just a 15 minute drive from the hotel. This lighthouse was commissioned by George Washington and is one of the most photographed lighthouses in the area. We appreciate your recent stay and hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,075 - 1,081 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for exploring Maine beaches and the city of Portland. The service was good and the room, though it was older, was comfortable. The breakfast was adequate with eggs, bacon and sausage available every day. Overall, a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank robandlaura2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is an older hotel and we are working at renovating the rooms. This winter we will be replacing all the bathrooms to granite. We strive for great customer service and a clean and comfortable hotel room for our guests. Thank you for sharing your review with others and we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I love the comfortable rooms. They are great to my dogs. Have the best service and caring helpful people. They usually can find a room for me. The Hot tub with the waterfall is wonderful after a long day on the road. the indoor/outdoor pool is great especially in the winter with the snow coming down and your in the pool

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Theresa we are so pleased that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay with us. We are a pet-friendly hotel but also have rooms that we have set aside for those guests with severe allergies, with Pergo flooring that helps eliminate any dander from carpets or carpets. We are happy that you had a chance to relax in the hot tub and pool. It is open year-round! We keep the pool at 89 degrees so that our guests can swim outside even when the snow is falling! Thank you for your continued business. We can't wait for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The lay out of the hotel was not very good for a handicap person! The food and the prices were not at all to what I was told that it would be. We had a very nice room and all the staff was very friendly and helpful. The chair in the room worked very well and it was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Eldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you Eldon for your recent stay. I apologize that the layout of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We do have handicap rooms that are easily accessible to the front entrance of the hotel, restaurant, and pool area. Anytime you stay with us, let us know if you have any special requests or needs and we are happy to accommodate. We want to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable every time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

They REALLY need to update this place! They are dog friendly and the complimentary breakfast was GREAT but the rooms NEED updating! So many Best Westerns have new beds and are really pleasant, I've come to expect nice. This one is way behind the curve.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere until this place get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thanks Lisa for your recent stay. The hotel has renovated several rooms and are continuing to complete more. You mentioned that your have stayed at different Best Westerns. There are different types of Best Western chains: Best Western Premiere, Best Western Plus, and then Best Western. I am not sure where you stayed in the past, but each tier have standards that we must meet according to Best Western. If you are comparing us to a Best Western Premiere hotel, then no we are not going to measure up to what you have come to expect. It is like comparing apples to oranges. Our hotel is pet friendly and that is one of the many amenities that our guests have come to appreciate. If you are looking for a warm, clean, comfortable stay, with all the amenities to ensure a restful stay at an exceptional value then the Best Western, Merry Manor Inn is where to stay. If you are looking for something more high-end then check out the Plus and Premiere Best Westerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spacious & comfortable rooms & the newly refurbished 'Maine Table' on site restaurant was really lovely for both ambience & food. We had a coupon towards a breakfast of our choice & it was great to eat from china plates - unlike most motels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hildenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy that you loved the on-site restaurant, The Maine Table. The restaurant features fresh Maine dishes such as Lobster Macaroni and Cheese. Our head chef, Kimmo Meronen, was just featured in the Portland Press Herald highlighting some of the dishes our guests have come to love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Room was clean, spacious, quiet. Bed was very comfortable. Public areas were clean and attractive. Large and delicious choice of breakfast foods. Convenient to major roads and airport. Staff at front desk, in breakfast room and other support staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk away from the elevator and lobby. If walking is a problem, ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredMassacqusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for the good ratings! We appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your wonderful stay. We are happy that we could meet all your expectations. If you have special requests, please don't hesitate to ask! We are here to make your stay enjoyable and want to provide all our guests with a great experience! Please come back and visit again soon! We love getting repeat business and making you part of our extended family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
868 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £64 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing