We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for the money plus perfect for pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great deal for the money plus perfect for pets”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had trouble finding a spot for a holiday weekend and stumbled upon this. I was a bit concerned as they were willing to take out two dogs and the price was very inexpensive for the time of year.

The rooms were neat and clean...nothing fancy but I was not paying a fancy price. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms had a small fridges, free Internet, microwave etc which made it very convenient to hang out. The dog walk was right across from our room. The property is located very close to the highway for excursions. They also have a gym, pool, hot tub, service computer, common sitting areas, restaurant etc but we did not use them. Tub needed a bit of caulking. There were plenty of towels with out asking and even Bed and Bath complimentary items.

Only issue we had was that both of out dogs has some allergy issues shortly there after but I am so not sure if it was related to commercial cleaning supplies there or not. It certainly did not have a pet smell in the room.

Room Tip: IF you have a dog I recommend the first level in the rear. It is very quiet. You have your own enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlm97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay to the area. We are happy that you found the accommodations to your likings and the room convenient for your pets. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    456
    183
    59
    27
See reviews for
468
455
52
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Merry Manor Inn is a great deal for the money; not a luxury hotel, but the prices are not luxury either. My 2 queen bed room was pleasant, with a comfortable beds, a small fridge, microwave, large flat screen TV, and the bathroom was divided into anteroom with a sink, with an additional sink with the commode and shower. The room appeared to have been redone, with tiled bathroom, and everything clean and in excellent condition. My friend was staying in a king bed room and her room had a massage chair which gave an excellent massage. The lobby is pleasant, with a fireplace, chocolate cookies for arriving guests, and some Maine souvenirs for sale. Staff was helpful and check in and check out was quick. The location is excellent, right at the turnoff from hy. 295, and near Maine Mall, as well as close to downtown Portland. Breakfast is complimentary and served in the attached restaurant. It was good, not outstanding; scrambled eggs, various meats, potatoes, pancakes, waffles, juice and hot beverages, the last served by the waitress.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schwartzapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you liked the updates that we made to the rooms and enjoyed the All American breakfast buffet. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us in the future when traveling in Maine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Cleanest place we ever traveled. Loved the outdoor heated pool and hot tub-they are handicapped accessible with a lift chair. Great shower chair provided to me for the tub worked well, as no handicapped rooms were left available. Loved the complimentary hot breakfasts each morning at The Maine Table-nice to make my own waffles and have a wide variety of food to pick from. Will stay here again in a heartbeat if in the area-staff was friendly and helpful throughout. You can tell they care about their customers, and that makes all the difference. Only problem was the bathroom door-I couldn't leave it open to get in the tub, and it was a bit too warm with the door shut. No temperature controls or fan in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
I apologize that we did not have a handicap room available during your stay. It sounds like the staff were able to accommodate your needs. We are normally able to fulfill any requests that guests may have, such as the shower chair. We strive on providing great customer service and a pleasant stay for all our guests. I am also glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We recently added the waffle machine for guests to make their own waffles. Our restaurant, The Maine Table, is also open for dinner daily from 5pm to 9pm and the lounge open from 4pm to 12pm. The Maine Table was just featured in our local newspaper, highlighting all the fresh Maine dishes we serve. I encourage you to visit us again and please dine at the Maine Table!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madawaska, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Arrived at the Merry Manor Inn late on Friday Oct. 25th. After traveling 7 1/2 hours to get there we were very tired and couldn't wait to get to our room. Upon checking in the front desk gave me my room key. Room 108. I had always stayed on the second and third floor so wasn't sure what to expect. In my opinion they should not rent these rooms out. I felt like I was sleeping in someones dingy basement. The bathroom was super small. You had to actually close the door before you could use the toilet. You don't have indoor access to the pool and hot tub. These rooms are not in the hotel. They are outside rooms with an outside entrance.. What didn't help is the fact that I've been staying with them for years and am a loyal customer. I felt they don't really appreciate loyal customers. They might have thought that we were just passing through but that wasn't the case. We take our vacations to Portland twice a year and always stay 3 nights.
After not sleeping most of the night...the beds were not very comfortable. My husband kept rolling on me. I went to the front desk and complained and we were given a room on the third floor. That room was much better but we shouldn't have been put in that room to begin with. It was a inconvenience moving all our stuff from the lower level to the third floor. We should have been compensated in some way.
On the plus side...I do love the location of this hotel and most of the time our rooms are great. I will go back but if they ever give me the 100-110 rooms I will refuse.

Room Tip: Lower/outside entry rooms are older, noisy and smaller. Stay away from those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I apologize that you were not happy with your original room. We try to accommodate all our guests needs and in the future please let us know if there is a room you like in particular. We try our best to always please our guests.
Our exterior rooms are very convenient and preferred by many of our guests. The easy entrance allows guests who have a difficult time walking to drive right up to their room's door and easily unload and get into their room. Guests with pets also love these rooms as they allow easy access to the wooded area in the back of the hotel to walk their dogs. I'm sorry I can't comment as to why you were assigned this room, but if you are ever unhappy with a room, please don't hesitate to contact the front desk. Most of the time we can accommodate any request or rectify any problems that arise during your stay. We hope that you will consider staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This hotel Inn is so nice. It is clean, friendly, and has a great pool...even in the winter months. We were welcomed as we came through the door and got excellent service. They were able to answer any questions we had and were very accommodating. Now, the pool is an outdoor pool. However, we were able to go into the pool during the month of October when the temperature was in the 40's degrees. The pool was a very warm 89 degrees so it was so much fun swimming outside in "cold" weather and still feel as warm as toast. So fun! They had two clean whirl pools that were just waiting for us as we exited the pool. Although we didn't need the whirl pool to get warm it was still nice sitting in the whirl pool...relaxing. This Inn is so so easy to find. It is right on route one....can't get lost if you stay on route one. love it! I will return for sure. Great stay. Thank you Best Western...Merry Manor...Maine!

Room Tip: We were facing the pool. It wasn't noisy at all but it was October. I don't think it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are so pleased that you had a relaxing stay with us. So many people question swimming in an outdoor pool in the fall and winter months but your review just shows how nice it really is! You enter through the inside and swim outside. The pool is kept at 89 degrees year round which makes this a unique experience for our guests. People are amazed that you can swim when the snow is falling all around you! We are happy that you found the pool and hotel to be clean and the staff friendly. We would hard at providing a great experience for all our guests. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milbridge, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you are looking for an excellent hotel, with clean comfortable rooms, an outstanding staff and close to the Maine Mall and shopping this is the place for you. We have been coming to this hotel for 18 years and every time we come here, it is a wonderful experience!! From a comfortable bed, good sized room to the heated outdoor pool that you can swim in year round I can't think of anything negative to say. The staff goes out of their way to see to your comfort, and they even now offer a full buffet breakfast with your room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you Brenda for your continued business over the last 18 years! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for the nice review and recognizing our hotel for the excellent customer service you have come to know and expect! We are pleased that you continue to find the hotel clean and comfortable and up to your standards. We want ever visit to be a special stay and after 18 years you are like family! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Best Western in Portland Maine. Would definitely recommend this and would stay here again. We had booked this on the internet and were just passing through. Our room was exceptional with microwave, fridge, massage chair, fireplace and couch. Were ended up in the honeymoon suite.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate you choosing our hotel when passing through town. We are happy that you enjoyed the Honeymoon suite with the fireplace and massage chair. Please visit us again soon and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our hotel. We appreciate the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 20 in Portland
1,633 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#16 of 20 in Portland
583 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
438 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Property: Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing