We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
woburn, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pool!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

staff is friendly, Pool is great! rooms are average, price is fair. Breakfast is Great! didn't like the restraunt for dinner we miss govenor's!!!! if they can fix the dinner issues, under staffed ran out of food long wait, etc... it is a great place to bring the family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Bruce! Thank you for your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. We are delighted that you enjoyed the pool and the complimentary All American breakfast. We have been experience an increase in our dinner patrons and have recently added more servers during the evening to eliminate any inconvenience for our guests, We have listened to a lot of feedback we have received from our guests to make changes to our menu at the Maine Table. Monday through Friday we offer a "Wine Down" menu that includes more bar fare and beer and wine specials. We also have Live Music every Friday that has been welcomed by our patrons. I hope that you will considering giving the restaurant another change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    427
    170
    58
    24
See reviews for
425
432
49
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The entire staff was courteous, helpful and friendly. the room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and not run down. Nice to have a lounge and restaurant on premises and accessible thru hotel. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gct538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We are so delighted that you were completely satisfied with your stay at the Merry Manor. We appreciate your recent stay with us and the kind review. The restaurant/lounge was renovated last year and we have been getting very favorable responses. We recently featured our "Wine Down" menu at The Maine Table, which is available Monday through Friday from 4-7pm and we have begun having Live Music on Friday nights. We are very excited with the turnouts! We eagerly await your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Sure, the rooms are average..., its not fancy..., & who wants/needs frills when traveling with kids? Unless, of course, you're able to do something on your own. I took my two daughters here in February for a little getaway..., & we thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor heated pool!! That in itself makes this hotel worth it!! The on site restaurant is also a big +!!, especially when traveling w/ kids under 10.
Yet, it can't be ignored that the staff here are very friendly and helpful. I often take my kids on little winter getaways, and I don't usually encounter such nice people at the front desk on the off season. Truly, a good time for the kids & more relaxing for moms & dads entertaining them :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you Katy for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business and always love hearing about our guests stays. I am so happy that you enjoyed the heated outdoor pool and restaurant. Our staff are always here to make sure your stay is everything it should be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

So I read where this hotel is ranked #2 in South Portland. I questioned the TripAdvisor rating system at about 1am. Now, in defence of BW: our room was OBVIOUSLY in an older part of the hotel. But yeaahhhh. Not awesome. But we paid $80 or 90 bucks. And we had a place to get out of the car for the night. That's about it. The tub was "mushy" under our feet, it was clean though. If I was super tall (like my cousins), I'd have hit my head on the ceiling in the tub. The beds were…not great. My mom and I were travelling together and at 5am she said "this is ridiculous." I agreed, as I too was awake. But the beds were indeed CLEAN. The first room we were offered has them stripped to the mattress, so we know they clean them thoroughly daily. Bonus points. The best part was the breakfast: instead of the toast and tea routine often involved in these "included" breakfasts, we got a coupon for a full, proper, cooked breakfast! GREAT. And the staff were all very helpful, kind and lovely. Just get a room in the "newer" section. You can tell age of section by the brightness of the carpet.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer section!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMorris711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with. I apologize you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is very unusual that guests experience issues with the comfort of the beds. We have some rooms with Temper-pedic mattresses that some guests love, while others prefer our Serta mattresses. I am not sure which room you stayed in, but if you stay with us again, we can look up the room you stayed in and make sure you get a different room with a different type of mattress. Also, we have recently renovated some of our rooms that I think you might enjoy. If you come back to visit us, we would love the opportunity to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTLAND,MAINE, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The outdoor pool is wonderful!!! Warm year round.The only drawback is they rent it out and hotel guest can't always use it.Some times it is just too crowded and unruly by the renters for hotel guest to use

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ethelanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you Ethelanne for your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoy our heated outdoor pool. We keep it heated to 92 degrees throughout the winter. We are unique in that we are the only hotel around the area with a heated outdoor pool. We do allow non-guests to use our pool for a fee, but we do not rent it out. We only allow this when the hotel is not busy, as we want to make it a priority that our guests staying with us are able to enjoy the pool area. I apologize that you were not able to enjoy it more. However, I do want to reiterate that we never close the pool down for our guests for outsiders to rent. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

In October 2013 my wife and I stayed for one night in room number 241, a disabled accessible room on the ground floor. We paid £47 /$77, which represented good value for the area.

We arrived at 2.50pm after a three hour drive from the White Mountains and were eager to get into our room, freshen up and take a drive into Portland before eating. When we parked up in the disabled bay right next to the front door Laura came out and offered to help us with our luggage, which was a nice touch. Once inside though she told us that our room wasn't ready - disappointing as we were only ten minutes ahead of the advertised check-in time. Another member of staff contacted the housekeeping staff and instructed them to get our room finished; we waited in the lobby, which is bright and airy with comfortable sofas but it was really warm though with the sun shining through the windows and the open fire blazing away.
Our room though did not become available until 4pm; the housekeeping staff had cleaned the wrong room! I asked the Duty Manager Kathy what the problem was; she could not explain; not even an apology! Now, perhaps I'm expecting too much here but where a hotel has only a couple of accessible rooms surely it should be a priority to make sure those rooms are ready and available in time for guests checking in, especially if one was pre-booked.

Our room was quite large and there was more than enough room for my wife to manoeuvre her power wheelchair. It had a king size bed, which was comfortable, had plenty of pillows and was of an appropriate height for my wife. The room had the usual amenities you would expect in a Best Western hotel; fridge, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV and decent WiFi. One good feature of note was that the table lamps had USB ports in the base for charging phones etc.

The bathroom wasn't that large but did have a roll-in shower with a heavy duty fold down seat. The inward opening door to the bathroom though did take up valuable space.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant next door upon production of vouchers. There was plenty of seating available and there was a very good selection of hot and cold items, which were regularly freshened up by the attentive waiting staff. The coffee was good too. I would say that this was easily the best free breakfast that we enjoyed on this trip. I think we were the only Brits in there though as my wife was bemused when I spoke to one of the waiting staff and every other diner stopped dead in their tracks and stared as if Hugh Grant was in the room!

The hotel has a fitness room, hot tub and heated outdoor pool, which we didn't use

Despite the hiccup at check-in we would, if in the area again probably choose to stay at the Merry Manor Inn again - just so long as the room was ready in time for our arrival!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerChubbyHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
My sincere apologies for the confusion with your room. If you do stay with us again, I would love the opportunity to make things right and personally apologize for the mess up. I am pleased that despite the issues at check-in that you found the restaurant to your liking and the room to be comfortable. Cheerio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Merry Manor Inn is a friendly, comfortable, family style place to stay. They have an outdoor heated pool which is open year-round and enjoyed. They also have a hot tub with a waterfall that soothes your shoulders and upper back. The rooms are comfortable. Anything you need to know about the area, staff will tell you or look on the computer and then tell you. They have detailed maps of the area, too. Even though this is great for families, it works just as well for other categories of guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you Charlotte for your recent stay with us and the wonderful review. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and can't wait for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
Address: 700 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing