We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were staying at the Merry Manor Inn while attending a conference in the hotel. When we stepped through the door of our room our jaw dropped. We stayed in the Captain's room on the 4th floor. It was decorated in such an elegant style with a jacuzzi tub, desk, massage chair. What a cozy room. Food was great in the hotel and the staff was really friendly.

Room Tip: The captain's room will not disappoint you. There is so much to do in the room, sit in the jacuz...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGrant111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

The Captain Lafayette suite is one of two of our luxury suites that we have at the Best Western Merry Manor. It is decorated with a nautical theme, with the California King bed, fireplace, massage chair and Jacuzzi tub. The other luxury suite is the Maine Lake Lodge that is decorated with a log cabin theme. It has the same amenities as the Captain Lafayette suite. I am so happy that you were able to enjoy the room while here at your conference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Merry Manor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

902 - 908 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great place to stay with or without dogs. Due to circumstances beyond our control we had to travel with 2 Labs. The staff was great, rooms were nice and clean and we had a nice area to take the dogs out. They also offer a really nice complementary breakfast. Also we were traveling to Bangor and the staff called and made reservations for us at The White House Inn. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravelinggirlxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Best Western Merry Manor. I remember seeing your 2 beautiful lab dogs while you were here. They were so well-behaved! We are a pet-friendly hotel, although we do not allow pets in our suites. Also, we were awarded a 5 out of 5 by Fido's Favorite! We have a list of local dog parks and beaches that allow furry friends available to our guests. We hope that when traveling in the Portland area again, you will stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place to stay. Clean, helpful, and accommodate our entire family - including our dog - when we travel. The rooms in the back are perfect for travelers with pets. Adjacent restaurant makes it very comfortable, convenient.

Room Tip: Back rooms in the back open to the outside which is helpful when traveling with pets.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Charley, thank you for your recent visit to the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We appreciate you recognizing the great staff that we have here! They are all dedicated to delivering superior customer service to all our guests. Many of our staff have been here for 5, 10, 20 years! That shows the dedication that they have to our hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

All 6 of us, in our group, were extremely happy with this motel. All 3 rooms were impeccably clean, the staff was so helpful and friendly and the décor was very tasteful!!!! The chocolate chip cookies, at the front desk, were so delicious and we loved the stuffed moose in our rooms that were up for sale and proceeds went to cancer research!! I would recommend this place to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Jennifer, we loved having your group of friends stay with us. As I remember, you were coming from Old Orchard Beach! I am so happy that you found everything to be AMAZING, including the chocolate chip cookies! Thank you so much for purchasing Morris the Moose. 100% of the money we collect from Morris sales goes to the Lafayette Cancer Research Foundation, which is near and dear to our hotel. We hope that when traveling in Maine you will visit us again. We enjoyed having you all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had excellent experience staying at the hotel. Desk staff was very helpful, informative and there was no question too "stupid" or "minimal" to ask. Rooms were very comfortable. Moose Lake Lodge room that a relative had was thoroughly enjoyed by her. I would have loved to experience that room for myself. Didn't use internet. Restaurant food variety and tast was good. Temperature not. Overall, a very enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Alison, we are overjoyed by wonderful review. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. The Maine Lake Lodge is one of my favorite suites. You will definitely have to experience it for yourself. Thank you for mentioning that you found our staff to be excellent. They strive at providing the best customer service! They love to offer suggestions regarding local attractions and events. We are also delighted that you had a terrific experience at our restaurant, The Maine Table. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel offered us four nights' accommodation south of Portland proper, for a decent price. The hotel was comfortable but certainly not luxurious, and badly in need of updating. When we stayed, construction was going in full-force: an entire wing of the hotel was off limits and construction workers had blocked off large portions of the parking lot, so we had to park in the back, relatively far from our room. When we first drove up, it didn't even look like the hotel was still open, given how much of the front was being worked upon.

Pros: decent price, convenient location (although not a terrific street -- commercial and charmless), nice staff, bathroom seemed newer than rest of room and was clean, small microwave and minifridge were convenient, heated outdoor pool got lots of use by my daughter, indoor hot tub also was a plus, downtown was a short drive away and a nearby mall provided options for chain restaurants and picking up any forgotten items.

Cons: room was lackluster in terms of style and badly needed updating; musty smell; maid service was uneven (really, the maid should ALWAYS replace the coffee pods in the morning!), pool needed cleaning, the construction made parking inconvenient, location was on a nondescript commercial street.

Room Tip: Pool is outdoor and open until 10 -- so if there's a loud group out there, you'll want a roo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you Carol for your recent stay and review of the property. We appreciate hearing about your experience and use the information we receive by our guests to review training and policy issues. I am glad that your daughter enjoyed the heated outdoor pool. As you mentioned, we are currently working on repaving the parking lot and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you during your stay. With such as LONG winter this year, the project was late getting started but will be finished before the busy summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel is currently being renovated; however it's not intrusive and in no way effected our 3-day stay. A very good, clean place to stay and very well located for Portland shopping and sightseeing. The attached restaurant was a big disappointment; both the food and the service was mediocre at best. The wait staff did not seem to like honoring the breakfast coupons in the morning and we had one evening meal there which was very poor and pricey for the quality of the food. You would think that the quality of the restaurant would be better considering the size of the hotel and all the tour buses that stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank richardlU8383MZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Richard, thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel and restaurant. We appreciate hearing about our guests experiences and use guests comments to help us deliver a superior experience to guests in the future. I apologize that your experience at the restaurant was disappointing. The restaurant is working on improving customer service and training new wait staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
807 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#17 of 20 in Portland
590 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £83 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing