We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portland Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(South Portland)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks(South Portland)
US$161
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Portland Airport(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tru by Hilton Portland Airport Area(South Portland)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,461 results
Traveller rating
670
501
195
67
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
501
195
67
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chairthe outdoor heated poolhot tubyear roundattached restaurantrestaurant next doorgreat poolroom was cleanfree breakfastwafflesportland areaking roomnew englandeasy accesswould stay here againgreat place to stayoff the highway
Filter
Updating list...
961 - 966 of 1,461 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a fair place with a comfy bed and a big flat screen tv and nothing more, this place is for you. Nice size rooms, tiny bathrooms and above average service all describes the hotel. You can skip the breakfast, below average food, but great staff. Also, the location is only about a 5 min drive from downtown Portland. Overall, if you are looking for a place to come back and sleep this is for you, just don't expect anything else.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Nate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you Nate for your recent stay with us. I am sorry you did not get a chance to enjoy the heated outdoor pool or hot tub. It is one of the biggest reasons why our guests stay with us, as well as a place to sleep. Many guests love our centrally located hotel that is near all major highways, airport, and downtown Portland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We wanted to stay in Portland for an overnight but the hotels right in downtown Portland were booked and at least $100 more per night. This hotel was very nice, good sized room, very comfortable bed, nice amenities both in the room and on the grounds. The staff was very helpful and our room was ready when we arrived, an hour-and-a-half before check-in time. The complimentary breakfast was a hot buffet, not at all like the typical breakfasts we've had at other hotels. We drove and it was just one exit from downtown Portland and just 25 minutes from Freeport, home of LL Bean. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Stephanie, thank you for recommending our hotel. We appreciate your recent stay with us and great review of our property. We hope you were able to enjoy the relaxing outdoor pool and hot tub while staying at the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you enjoyed all the amenities the hotel has to offer, such as the All American breakfast buffet at our adjoining restaurant, The Maine Table. We look forward to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel as number two for south Portland here on trip advisor. It was located in a spot with great access to major roadways to get to downtown Portland. Although it was cheaper than downtown Portland I still feel this hotel was not worth the nightly rate. It had a good breakfast and everything needed, but was not to the caliber a $200/night hotel should be in my opinion. It was out of date with some improvements/updates randomly here and there. It gave the vibe of more of a motel than hotel. I am not sure how nice the Hampton inn is at #1 rated for south Portland but I'd just go out on a limb and stay there instead for the money.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Michael, we appreciate your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that you did not feel like the hotel was worth the rate you paid. Our prices are competitive to area hotels during the summer peak season, and as you stated considerably lower than downtown hotels. We recognize that our hotel is older and we are continuously making capital improvements on the hotel and restaurant. Our loyal guests, who have help made us #2 on Trip Advisor, love the great customer service they always receive and love the changes and updates we have made to the property. We respect your opinions but we do not know of any "motel" that includes an All American breakfast buffet, Bath and Body products, delicious cookies and coffee at check-in, or free Wi-Fi to their guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a comfortable and well-maintained facility with a nice restaurant in close proximity. Cordial and helpful staff, good accommodations. It's convenient to major roads and not far from the Maine Mall. For us, it's a perfect stop on Maine's coastal Route 1.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Frank, it was a pleasure having you as our guest. We appreciate your wonderful review of our property and appreciate your business. We are centrally located to all major highways and attractions. Many guests stay with us on their way up to beautiful Bar Harbor. It is a perfect stopping point where guests can enjoy our relaxing pool and hot tub before continuing their journey. We look forward to your return visit to the Best Western Merry Manor Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We go to this motel in the dead of Maine winter to swim in the outdoor heated pool. Such fun in the snow! For many people the motel itself is the destination. There are often children in the pool but, as a teacher, I love kids so it is no problem for me. The rooms are really nice with microwave and mini fridge in each. If you love to swim but indoor pools are just too noisy, try it. You won't be disappointed. Great full breakfast, too.

Room Tip: I always like the upstairs room because no one is above me. There is an elevator
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Sandra, thank you for your continued loyalty to the hotel. The pool is a wonderful retreat in the winter and the summer! Guests love the updates we did to the waterfall and pool area. We are delighted to hear that the hotel itself is the destination that is being sought out. We are a great escape during the winter and the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews