We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay but in need of upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Read the reviews, for the price in the area was best choice; however I should have asked to get another room but on 1st floor and the drapes would not closed -- open to the world!!! Older room and the chair felt dirty-- buggy actually. Shower ok Bed Bath and Bodyworks and New England Coffee amenities nice. The Maine Table attached was nice feature in the rain (did not have to get wet to enjoy a nice meal) Service at check in excellent-- at check out -- they could care less --- it was a challenge to ensure that my rewards number was attached to the room. Usually I just drive home from Portland, but decided to stay over -- Next time, based on this stay will drive home Not worth the price to stay over in a less than average hotel. However in all fairness no drapes and older room I felt safe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not exceptional. I will definitely look into why the curtains did not close in your room. This is not our standard. I wish we had know about it so that we could have moved you to a different room or had maintenance see if it was something they could have fixed. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and the Bath and Body Works bath products. I hope your will consider giving us another try so that we can provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Acadia. We were upgraded to one of their suites since we were on our homeymoon. Front desk staff was very friendly. Rooms werw nice and comfortable. Onsite restauranr is ok. A little loud and slow but the food was good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dp0rter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are glad you enjoyed the upgrade and are happy that we could accommodate you newlyweds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great place to stay for a quick overnight. A little dated, halls especially but all else ok. Clean, convenient. Breakfast was good. Shower was fine. Didn't have time to go to the pool but others looked like they were enjoying it. Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sammyandbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Sammy and Buddy, thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property. I hope you will come back again and try out the pool and hot tub. They are fabulous! Guests call them hidden gems. They love to come back and stay with us in the winter when they can swim under the stars or during a snow storm! The pool is heated to 90 degrees. It is the perfect getaway in the winter, spring, summer, and fall because the pool stays open year-round!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Living in a large city...I was very leery about staying at a Best Western. I was wrong! This property was fabulous! The staff was so very kind and accomodating. The room was fresh and clean. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice and clean. I give this hotel a high rating. We got up a little late and got in the last 30 minutes of breakfast...most of the food was long gone. This was our fault..we were so comfortable in our room..we slept late. Nice place...great experience..changed my mind about Best Western chain....good job Merry Manor!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Winggal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Yay! Another happy traveler! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found Best Western Merry Manor clean, comfortable, and guest-friendly. Our beds are so comfy. Guests rave that they get a better night's rest sleeping in our beds than they do at home. I can personally attest to this and it sounds like you can too! I hope that when your travel in the Portland area, you will come back and stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed at Merry Manor Inn in S. Portland, ME a few times over the last year. It is a convenient hotel to Portland without the paying the Portland prices. The hotel is going through some renovations, but is still clean and has an attached restaurant, that although we have not eaten in it, the food that comes out looks very good. It has a bar that we use with a fabulous bartender. Staff has always been very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you Ella for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your continued loyalty to the Best Western Merry Manor Inn. We hope you get a chance to eat at the Maine Table the next time you visit. The food is delicious! This time of year, lobster is a big hit with our out of town guests. Who doesn't love a Maine Lobster from the Maine Table! Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I would definitely stay here again. Very clean & comfortable rooms. I loved having the full-breakfast included every morning. Great comfortable bed, nice big TV, microwave, mini-refrigerator & coffee maker.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Jane, we would love to have you back any time! Thank you for the great review of our property, listing all the great amenities we provide. Don't forget the best one, the outdoor heated pool! Guests come year round to enjoy the pool and hot tub. We recently renovated the area with rock walls that make the pool area more serene! Please book now for this winter...it is a great getaway, especially when you have the winter blues!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food was good and service was good. CCTV installed. We do understand that it is under renovation but the room wasn't cleaned well. There are tissues and straw under the foot rest. A bit high price for the services and the facility.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Merry Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Joel, thank you for your recent stay with us. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. The prices are competitive with other hotels in the area during the busy summer months. We do run Facebook specials during the winter when tourists are heading South to avoid the cold. Little do they know that we have a great hotel for the perfect "staycation!" The heated outdoor pool stays open year-round and is a big hit with all our guests. I hope you will come back and try us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
4.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in South Portland
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merry Manor Inn

Address: 700 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#1 Family Hotel in South Portland
#2 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £71 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Merry Manor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our heated, outdoor pool will be closed November 1st through the 13th for refinishing. We apologize for any inconvenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Merry Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Merry Manor Hotel South Portland
Best Western South Portland
South Portland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing