We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice stay, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The room here was typical for a good, nice hotel in the vicinity of $100 a night, everything we expected for what we were paying. The bed was comfortable, the room well laid out with good quality furnishings, and no complaints about the bathroom. Where it shined was the service--the clerk at the front desk was wonderful, friendly and very helpful, giving us very useful advice for our trip.

Room Tip: Just ask the clerk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuce444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for posting your comments! I am happy to hear you had a positive experience with us. I think our favorite part of being in this business is helping people enjoy our area by making recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    106
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
74
69
25
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york,ny
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

the beds at this courtyard are terrible. The food options with the new lobby format are second rate, if you order a cocktail it comes from a mix not a real drink. staff was ok breakfast was lousey. You have to leave the hotel to get a good meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ale722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamus R, Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
I am sorry to hear of your sub-par experience with us. We have taken your concerns to our bartenders and let them know that if requested, they can make drinks in the traditional manner. Thank you for letting us know how we can improve to better suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

First the staff of this hotel were excellent!!! Great customer service, so friendly, you ask and they jump! At least if they were able too.

Sadly the staff was the highlight of this stay. The hot tub was not hot, my bath water is hotter and my bath tub jets are better. The jets barely trickled. We did say something to the front desk and immediately someone was looking into it and turned up the heat and had engineering look at it the next day. The next evening it was hotter and the jets had slightly better force, but my bath tub was still more of a hot tub then this was.

The room was far too hot for our liking. But I do realized we like things cold. We don't even turn our heat on at home. The rooms are set to go only as low as 65 which is boiling hot to us. We mentioned it to the desk and they gave us a fan to put in front of the crack of an open window. I really wish in general hotels would go back to individual room heaters/AC or at have windows you can open more then a crack.

The lobby is beautiful and new. But honestly I don't need all the pizazz of a fancy lobby where they then charge you for drinks & food. I miss the hospitality that I've come to expect from Marriott with their complimentary coffee & teas and cookies in the lobby.

The worst part of the stay was the beds. The WORST bed I have slept in, in a hotel. :-( My back & side still hurt from where the springs dug into me.

Because of all this I do not see us returning to this hotel upon future visits. It's a shame. we are usually very happy with Marriott...just not this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
I am so sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We will look into the temperature of the hot tub to insure it is up to standard. Thank you for letting us know during your stay that it was cooler than you expected.I am pleased to hear the staff was responsive to your comments.

The new Courtyard Lobby and Bistro is designed for the traveler who prefers a top quality coffee experience like Starbucks, and is willing to pay for breakfast made to order. It is dissapointing that we were unable to provide the atmosphere you would prefer. There are many Marriott brands, all with a different focus. If the Courtyard brand is not what you are looking for, please give one of our other brands a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
402 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here before a early morning flight and it is newly updated lobby and also has all the flight schedules in the lobby so you can check the status of your flights, which I found very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, clean...check in and check out was super easy...I will stay here again next time when I am flying out. The price is very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area and much more updated...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTCouple310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamus R, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad to hear that you took advantage of or wonderful new Go-Board. In addition to the flight board the go board can also show you weather, print directions, and a whole lot of other useful things. Our new look has us all excited. It is wonderful to see the great reactions that people like yourself are having to the new atmosphere in our lobby. Hopefully next time around your flight will take off later in the morning giving you a chance to try our new Bistro breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

This hotel is one of the nicer Courtyards I've stayed at. While the rooms are the same as any Courtyard, the lobby area is brand new and quite stylish. The breakfast cafe serves a decent meal at a reasonable price. Most importantly, every staff member I encountered was genuinely friendly and eager to help. I will stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LoganHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
We strive to always give top notch friendly service and are glad that you experienced just that! The Bistro has been a great addition to our wonderful Courtyard and we love to hear how our guests (such as yourself!) have been thoroughly enjoying all that it provides from delicious breakfast sandwhiches to envigorating starbucks coffee. We look forward to you visiting us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here overnight while travelling to NH. It is close to shopping and the I-95. This is an upscale hotel so you can expect the service and amenities that go with that. There was lots of parking. It's pricey though. Breakfast not included.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie K, Guest Service Representative at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were accessible to your needs (I-95, shopping, etc). We also just newly renovated our lobby area and definitely appreciate your mention of our upscale appearence! We hope to see you stay with us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Our room was shared by 5 women. The hotel lobby was nice, the staff friendly and welcoming. Our room was very spacious, clean,and not noisy at all (we were facing the turnpike), however the beds were extremely soft and uncomfortable! ! One of the beds were broken - you felt like were were sleeping downhill. In addition, something was wrong with the hot water because everytime you turned the faucet on, it make this ungodly screaming and thumping noise - needless to say with 5 women in the same room, the hot water was used frequently. Also, the room temperature was not consistent although it was set on 72 degrees - it would be hot than cold, etc. etc. - terrible draft from windows as well. With this all said, nobody in this room slept through the night for one reason or another whether it was the temperature, the screaming/thumping noise when the hot water was turned on or because of the most uncomfortable beds!

The chlorine smell in the pool area so overwhelming it burned our eyes - definately something was amiss with the chemicals in the pool.

We had requested extra towels and extra coffee cups and they were not in our room when we arrived. We had to ask at the desk again and only received a couple of extra towels - no coffee cups. The desk was advised of the issues in our room and was told they would have maintenance look at at.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayna R, General Manager at Courtyard Portland Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about the service, and for letting us know about the issues you encountered while staying here. You can be assured we are working on correcting the things you have mentioned in this review.

Feedback from our guests is one of the primary tools we have for maintaining our quality standards. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
2.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Airport

Property: Courtyard Portland Airport
Address: 100 Southborough Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-6906
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#3 Family Hotel in South Portland
#6 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 miles from the Portland Jetport, minutes from the Maine Mall, and less than 1 mile from I-95 and 295, Courtyard by Marriott Portland Airport is the perfect location for shopping, site-seeing, or visiting a corporate client. Sebago Brewing Company Restaurant, a local favorite, is just a short walk across the street. Fairpoint, Fairchild, Unum, and Hannaford are among the businesses within minutes of our door. Visit nearby beaches, dine on Lobster, and experience the friendly service that keeps people returning. Free Shuttle available on request to Airport, area offices, and restaurants within a 5 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland Airport Hotel South Portland
Courtyard South Portland
South Portland Courtyard
South Portland Marriott
Courtyard Hotel South Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing