We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The Portland Marriott was conveniently located near the Maine Mall and turnpike. The staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, but had a musty smell. (Mine was on the 3rd floor, and shaded by trees.) The smell disappeared after I opened the windows. But I can only give this an average because of two things that happened: the first was when I asked about coffee, the woman directed me to the $3.00 Starbucks, instead of the FREE coffee by the elevator... which I found out about from the people I was traveling with. Not a big thing, but it would have been nice to have been given the 2 options instead of the pay only. The second was that I left my work out clothes hanging on the door hook in the bathroom... interestingly "no one found them"… hummm.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wbtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Wbtravelin, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at Sable Oaks. I am sorry to hear that there your room had a smell to it until you opened the window. We try to keep air circulating during the warmer months of the year. I can assure you there was no underlying motive by our associate directing you to our Starbuck's station as the complimentary coffee is in the open right off the elevator. I can only assume they thought you were looking for an alternative. Some guests are not happy with the New England coffee we provide in the lobby. I will follow up on your exercise clothes and check with our executive housekeeper who is in charge of lost and found. Perhaps there is a possibility that it may have been overlooked initially. It will be filed by your room number and date of stay. We try very hard to return all guest belongings to them in a timely manner. Thank you for staying with here at Sable Oaks. Regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a pet friendly room. We just loved it! We were on the 1st floor and had sliding glass doors exiting onto a small patio and a wooded area. Perfect for letting your pet out and not having to go through the lobby. The room was a good size and had all the amenities. The hotel is close to the Maine Mall area and Downtown Portland. Had their Breakfast Buffet on Sunday and everything was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Totally agree with recent comments about this hotel needing renovation. Stayed on second floor and used the concierge room on the 6th floor during week of Aug 18. Threadbare carpets in hallways on second floor, stains on carpet in room, mold on tile in bathroom, noisy old-fashioned kind of a/c unit under the window. I stay at this place a lot because I have business in the office building next door. Really wish they would lighten this place up. It feels musty and dark all the time. The place feels tired for a Marriott – really under Marriott standards. Re: the Concierge level, the layout is cumbersome - constantly bumping into another guest or the staff who works in the room because of how the room is structured. They should redo it - check out how the Renaissance in Richardson Texas redid their concierge room - updated, modern, really comfortable. Also, need new treadmills with TVs that work on them.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Terri S. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our property. As you said that you stay with us regularly I would like to meet with you the next time that you come to the property. Our property was renovated five years ago. I am sorry that you found the concierge lounge to be crowded. This property was never built with a lounge. The room it is in was a luxury suite that was converted to a lounge. As we have more and more guests attain Platinum and Gold Rewards status the space has become challenging. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts. I look forward to meeting with you the next time you are in the area. Regards, Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed only one night as a pit stop on our way further up the Maine coast. We didn't need anything extravagant - just a clean, comfortable room, some wifi and some room service. While a little pricey, we were satisfied with the hotel. It was easy to access from the interstate, the room was comfortable, the staff were very friendly.

While we did not use the pool or other amenities, the pool looked quite substantial. Even at 9pm there were lots of people, kids and adults, still using it. And despite the pool being located a short distance from our room's window, we could not hear anything.

The room service was quick and not too expensive. For those who want to eat away from the restaurant, there are a lot of restaurant options within a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I travel to Portland once every two months for the last several years. Have stayed at hotels in downtown Portland but service and price do not compete with this property just six miles away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet. Excellent breakfast. Lunch and Dinner are so-so. Easy access from nearby interstate to all Portland area attractions. Two miles from airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GRAPE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here for a week as I was attending a meeting which was hosted at the hotel. The staff are friendly and the evening meals I had there were fine, breakfast was also ok. The hotel is dated and is due a refurbishment, i would expect more from a Marriott in terms of the standard of fittings etc.
The hotel is well located being close to the airport and the Maine Mall. Plenty of free parking outside.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

john a, Thank you for your feedback on your stay here with us here at Sable Oaks. Through comments from our best we hope to better serve our future guests. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our staff as they are our greatest asset. I am sorry to hear you felt the property was in need of renovation as we were completely renovated in 2009. I will share your thoughts with our ownership. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you here again sometime in the future. regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was clean, well maintained and the staff was very friendly. Would definitely stay there again, easy on and off the hiway.

There is a charge for the wifi unless you are a Marriott member, but no charge for parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanukster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Kanukster, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us here at Sable Oaks. We are always looking for better ways to serve our current and future guests, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and our staff. We do offer two tiers of internet, one is free to guests and the other is charged a fee. We hope you will return to visit with us again in the very near future, Best regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
840 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Address: 200 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3278
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Portland
#4 Family Hotel in South Portland
#5 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £91 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our South Portland hotel's new and improved features include, newly renovated lobby complete with a business center, contemporary designed guest rooms with plush bedding, and new high speed in-room technology. We invite you to stay with us and enjoy swimming in our new heated indoor pool. Indulge all of your senses in our new restaurant and lounge. Meet, greet, and entertain in our spectacular grand ballrooms. Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is nestled on the hill of the scenic, yet modern, Sable Oaks community - just minutes from Portland Airport and historic downtown Portland. You will enjoy our location, including fine-dining and boutique shopping in the Old Port. Bring the family to the legendary Old Orchard Beach nearby and sight see at Portland Headlight historic lighthouse. Enjoy a sunset cruise on Casco Bay or visit Portland's own Museum of Art. Offering dynamic meeting space, business center, golf course, indoor pool, fitness center, and more, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is the perfect location to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Marriott At Sable Oaks Hotel South Portland
Marriott Hotel South Portland
Marriott South Portland
South Portland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing