We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveller rating
228
239
109
55
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
239
109
55
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungefront deskhotel restaurantthe general managerbusiness parkold portclose to the airportbreakfast buffetbit datedminute driveconvenient locationcookiesindoor poolpalmerportlandmallconference
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 655 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2014

I was tired after a business meeting and looked for a hotel away from all of the tourist noise etc. I drove around and after looking at many other hotels, ended up at this Marriott late evening. Kali at the front desk was so welcoming and hospitable. She was kind enough to give me a good rate and being a rewards member, upgraded me to the concierge level. The hotel is on a hill with a nice layout. Well designed lobby with plenty of computers in the open style business center. The room was huge, with all amenities including a pod coffee and tea maker. Bathroom was spacious and clean. I left the window open because I like fresh air, it was very quiet and I slept like a baby ! The concierge lounge was very nice, good breakfast, Deborah was very hospitable. The only thing that the hotel could improve on would be the shower head.....just didn't have enough punch to it ! I expect to stay at this hotel next time I am in the area and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: concierge level is nice !
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

We have been loyal to only marriott for the last 20 years. This one is just average at best. Sad part was my socks were black after walking on the carpet in the room for a few minutes. General manager seems really nice and is friendly and looking to improve this location.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Mark R., Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor in reference to your stay here at the Sable Oaks Marriott. We appreciate your twenty years of travel with Marriott being your primary provider. I am sorry to hear that you found the carpets to be dirty. We contract out for this service twice a year and then also do them in-house once a year. I hope when they were done last we did not skip some rooms. We will do our best to determine the room that you occupied so that we can attend to the issue. I can assure you that this feedback is essential in for us to provide quality service and accommodations to our future guests. We hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future as you will see this is not a common issue throughout our two hundred and twenty-six rooms. best regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We stayed here recently while visiting family in Portland. The price is far better that the outrageous prices in downtown Portland, but the hotel is very run down. Really poor quality for a Marriott. The room smelled like a smoker had been there (when was the last time they allowed smoking in a hotel room??) and there were broken door handles and rusted doorframes in the hallways. The pool area/locker room smelled of urine the entire time we were there. The cardio room and weight room are on different floors, so a little cumbersome if you want to do cardio and weights. The bed was, however, very comfortable and were got a great night sleep. The staff is great. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet was very good and reasonably priced and dinner there was good, but a little overpriced. I would probably stay here again, although only because the price is far better than the $400-$500/night hotels on the waterfront in Portland!!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

linda j...Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at the Marriott Sable Oaks. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with the quality of our facility. I can assure you we take pride in the facilities that we offer here. The reason there are two exercises spaces is that the required space was increased several years ago and we could not expand in the original space. We do try to maintain some weights in the cardio space. Our entire building is none smoking and we post that a $250 charge will be imposed if the rule is broken. We are happy to hear that your night's sleep was restful and that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings. We do hope you will return to stay with us as your patronage is greatly appreciated. Regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Once again we had a wonderful experience at the Sable Oaks Marriott. We had two rooms for our family on the fifth floor. The staff is always accommodating, beds very comfortable and the food is consistently great. We love the cookies that are available by the elevators in the late afternoon. The fitness area is always stocked with water, towels and sanitary wipes. I leave wishing I had more time to really enjoy this beautiful hotel and its facilities.

Room Tip: we love the pet friendly first floor when we have our grand dog in tow... and I love the 2nd floor for its proximity to the fitness center and we can use the stairs to the lobby. but any location is good.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

tropss77...Thank you for your kind words in reference to our hotel here at Sable Oaks. Your feedback is very motivational for our staff as they work very hard to satisfy our guests. Our property was renovated five years ago and our engineering and housekeeping staff work diligently to maintain our quality accommodations. Our executive chef has been with us for over twenty-five years and views this restaurant as he was the sole proprietor. He and his staff take great pride in their product. We hope you will return to see us soon. Best regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My friends and I stayed here for the weekend and had a great time. The grounds are beautiful and the pool was really nice and relaxing. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast buffet was amazing (I suggest getting an omelet). It's also nearby the fisherman's grill which was by far the best seafood I've had in all of Portland and is a MUST if you're in the area. The hotel is located a little outside of main nightlife and shopping area near but still a great place to stay. Overall we had a good experience there and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed_Palmer, General Manager at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Jbmall, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay here at Sable Oaks. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are located slightly removed from downtown Portland but most of our guests prefer that. We hope you will return to stay with us in the near future. Your patronage is greatly appreciated. Regards, Ed Palmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews