We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good yet Pricey Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Weston, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Good yet Pricey Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel but it wasn't cheap. The room, bathroom and lobby were nice and clean. The only complaint was the sound proof which was below average. We could hear the noises of children from next door and it didn't go away until we made the complaint to the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sansan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our property during your visit to Portland, Maine. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit and the cleanliness of the property was up to the high standard that we set forth.
While I completely understand your concerns regarding the room rate, I will let you know that they changed dramatically during other times of the year. At this time we are in our high season, so the rates are reflective of that.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    286
    179
    83
    41
See reviews for
246
254
53
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Like other reviewers, I will agree that the hotel was very average... One MAJOR complaint was that the room only had sheer curtains! So we were awake every morning at 6am with the light shining in... not great if your looking to sleep in... The bathroom was very strangely set up; the door was right in front of the toilet, making it awkward to move around in the bathroom.
NOTE: if you are looking to visit Portland, this hotel is convenient, but you do have to drive to the city (3 miles) and yes, people on this site did rave about the FREE parking at the hotel, but didnt mention its $30 to park in Portland..... so next time I will pay the extra and stay IN the city (Hampton, HGI, Marriott)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at our property. I truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how you felt. I'd like to let you know that I will be addressing your concerns, especially the one about the room only having sheers in it. I assure you that this is something we will correct immediately and I truly apologize for the issue. While I wish your feelings regarding our property were different, I do hope that someday you choose to give us another try. If this is something that you ever feel interested in, please contact me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Overall quality was average. The location was across the street from the mall and convenient to target for anything you need. Only a couple of minutes from downtown Portland, and approx 15 minutes to Freeport where LLBean is. Staff is friendly, but the housekeeping was poor. Free internet access is limited. The walls to the room are thin, so you can hear whoever is next to you well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. While it is nice to hear that the service overall was pleasant, it was also alarming to hear that you did not receive proper housekeeping service. It is important to me that cleanliness and service are of the highest quality and I truly apologize for a lack in the housekeeping area. Feel free to contact me further to discuss more in detail. Thank you again for choosing our hotel. I look forward to hearing from you someday soon.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a decent stay, check in was very fast and they gave us cookies which was cool. I went to the front desk for spoons and glasses and they were very prompt and helpful. Only issue was no free wifi, otherwise had a pleasant stay for a night being there for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Portland, Maine. I hope everything went well for all involved with the wedding that you were here for. I'm happy to hear that overall your stay was pleasant. I also wanted to inform you for future visits, our internet is complimentary. We have an option for turbo speed internet that we charge for, but all other internet is free, including wireless and in our business center! Thank you once again for staying with us.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff checking us in was cheerful and expressed a desire to be helpful and at our service.

The room was quiet and roomy with a comfortable king bed with a nice view of the area. The bathroom was OK with a very good shower over the tub.

We choose the hotel due to the location being very close to the Portland airport yet quiet away from the noise of the planes.

The hotel is located close the a very large shopping mall surrounded by strip centers with manr restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear that you chose our hotel as your destination close to the airport. It is also very nice to hear that the service level was up to the standards that we set forth for our staff. Thank you once again for staying with us. Please think of us again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived mid-afternoon and were greeted with warm cookies upon check-in. Rooms are relatively spacious and clean. The bath products smelled nice. There was a sign in the bathroom (as there are in all hotels) to throw towels on floor if need refreshing and keep on rack if OK. We kept leaving our towels on the hooks/ racks, yet they were refreshed every day. Felt very un-environmentally-friendly, despite our efforts to be green.
We left our blackberry charger at home and the front desk receptionist was able to get one for us quickly, which saved us a trip to BestBuy.
The hotel itself is about a 10min drive from downtown, but close to the highway. There was free parking but no free wifi.
There is also a pool at the hotel but we didn't get a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoratheExplorer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel on your visit to Portland, Maine. It is nice to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service and cleanliness were to your liking. While we can never change our location, it is in a spot that has easy access to downtown and a lot of local attractions. I also wanted you to be aware that yes the hotel provides free parking and internet is also complimentary! There is an option for a turbo speed internet that costs money, but the rest of the internet is free. Thank you once again for staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

On our way to portland we grabbed one of those coupon books you get at rest stop. We never use them but this time we called hotel and asked if we could get room for 99 special. The clerk said there were only a few rooms available at that price but she did check and was able to give it to us for that price. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, check out was at noon which is better than 11. Our coffee we ordered in the morning was late but the gentleman apologized. We did eat at the Blue Wave restaurant found the dinner to be reasonably priced and the steaks were good, staff friendly also. Thought this hotel was by the water but is not. We would stay there again for the price but normally it is over priced.

Room Tip: The 99 special is double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. The coupon book is a great resource to find heavily discounted rates for same day bookings if the rate is available. It is nice to hear that this worked well for you and that you had an enjoyable visit.
While we can't change our location, we do have a lot of great things to offer nearby. The other great thing is that Portland is less than 10 minutes away!
Thank you again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing