We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accomodation close to the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice accomodation close to the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a large doubletree in close proximity to the airport and near the shopping mall. Located about 5-10 minutes from downtown Portland and a lot cheaper than the rooms downtown. The rooms were not huge but a comfortable size. A little loud downstairs at the bar, but there were no problems in the guest room itself. We only stayed here one night as a brief stopover, and this location worked as a nice stop and I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our property as your hotel destination in Portland, Maine. It is very nice to hear that overall you enjoyed the location and quality of the property. I thank you for taking the time to give us the feedback that will ultimately only make our hotel better!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    286
    179
    83
    41
See reviews for
247
254
53
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massapequa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

room clean,shower old style but otherwise fine.needs refridg.microwave,safe in room.Go over bill for extra charges,we found bottled water on our bill.The manager removed this charge.The location to old portland was a good drive,but close to the highway.For our stay we didn't use any of the facilities offered,so we can't comment on them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your most recent stay at our property. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the property and its convenient location, which is just a short drive to downtown Portland. As an added note we do have rooms that included a refrigerator and a microwave. Certainly something to think about for your next stay! Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the Portland area.

Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

If you are looking for a good hotel with a pleasant staff Double Tree has it. Rooms are clean and fresh. The complimentary breakfast is OUTSTANDING. They even had a Starbucks on premises, mmm. thank you, one satisfied customer

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel among the many in the Portland area. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service levels of the property! Please think of us again the next time you are here to visit.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed there when we went to Old Orchard beach my husband and I. Sleep quality was soso, we could hear everything that was going on in the hallway.
The hotel was clean and the staff was helpful but it is not a hotel I would go again...
Nothing was included, no drinks no breakfast no nothing, so that wasn't super convenient.
It is not a hotel I would necessarily recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your most recent visit to our property. While it is nice to hear that the cleanliness and service of the hotel were points that you enjoyed, it is ultimately difficult to hear that you wouldn't stay with us again. At the moment breakfast isn't included in every room type, but we do offer a lot of free amenities. Those include free internet, parking, access to our pool and fitness center, business center and more. We are always looking to get better and your feedback certainly helps. Thank you again for staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in this area.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great stay on our family vacation, great service and the room was excellent, clean and quiet. Nice pool. Great location next to the Maine Mall, and easy access to the I-95. Not cheap but a nice clean, well maintained room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear that overall your visit was a pleasant one. Please think of us again the next time you are in the Portland area.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The lady at the front desk was excellent! She took very good care of us, even changing rooms for us at my request even though the hotel was almost full... That being said, we were quite disappointed in the quality of the room & hotel in general. The room was not very clean and lacked both a fridge and microwave. Furthermore, both my wife and I went looking for an ice machine and never did find one on our floor or the main floor... If you want this kind of hotel quality, go to a Best Western or Super 8 and save yourself a bunch of money and get a free breakfast too!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chickengeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton during your trip to Portland, Maine. While I'm very happy to hear that our front desk team assisted you in giving you excellent service, I am also concerned about the rest of the feedback that you raised.
Without knowing some of the specifics on what you have indicated as hotel quality, I would have to say that there is a vast difference between our property and those properties that you mentioned.
We have six ice machines located throughout the hotel as well as ice located at our restaurant. We do offer refrigerators and microwaves at an additional cost, but we also have both of those available for guest use in our lobby area.
Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I do hope that you change your mind some day and decide to give us another shot. Please feel free to contact me directly if you do.

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Having previously stayed on this property with excellent service & amenities, we chose it for a brief overnight stay for business. We booked through Hotwire. At check-in we were made to feel like 2nd class citizens because of it. Very rude front desk, condescending & made us feel unwelcome; our room door was unlocked, but we didn't find out until we came back from dinner (nothing was taken), no water, no cookies & they reluctantly gave us our Executive Lounge privileges for being Hilton Honors Gold members.
We filled out a comment care but never heard back from anyone apologizing for our bad stay. Probably will choose other Hilton hotels but avoid this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your most recent visit to our property. Obviously the content of your feedback is difficult to hear, but I appreciate you taking the time to let us know your concerns while you were at our property.
I'd like to first say that our hotel as well as other Hilton properties appreciate your loyalty to the brand. Regardless of how you book, staying with Hilton properties is important to our hotel and the Hilton brand.
With sites such as Hotwire, you don't get a chance to know what or where you are booking. This is why some of the benefits that would normally come with booking through the hotel directly don't come when you are booking through a third party. Regardless of this, you should have never been treated in any different manner. I truly apologize if this occurred or if you feel this way.
Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the Portland area.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing