We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We recently stayed at the Double Tree Inn in South Portland. The hotel seemed to very popular with people traveling on business, especially airline staff. For business purposes, I think it's probably a decent stay. But we came for vacation. Just a few observations - the rooms are very small! They have double beds instead of queens (it mentions this when you make a reservation, so I expected it). The bathrooms are tiny, the toilet is sandwiched between the sink and shower with little space in between. The pool looks very little like it does in the pictures - the windows in the pool area could use a good cleaning. The rooms themselves were very clean and the staff was very polite. The woman working the executive lounge during our stay (weekdays) was very friendly. The breakfast selections in the executive langue was ok, nothing amazing. We never made it back to the hotel in time for cocktail hour. But the fridge was kept well stocked with water, juices and soda. The location is nothing great. You're surrounded by chain restaurants and shopping centers (although the kids loved Friendly's!) The view from our room was Target and Toys R Us. But it's close to the highway and you can be at the beach in 15 minutes. The location makes it a good jumping point if you want to check out different parts of the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your recent trip to our property. I truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know what went well and more importantly what we can improve on.

We like to think of our property as being very versatile. Our hotel does house a lot of business guests and airline crew members as you mentioned, but we are also a top leisure hotel in the Portland market. This being that we offer an indoor pool, free parking and wi fi and a great location that is near so many different things.

Two notes for your future travel. One being that we do plan on doing bathroom renovations in the near future. The other being that we also plan on doing work to our pool exterior in the near future. Stay tuned on those things as it won't be long and we will have made new major updates.

I thank you once again for choosing our hotel during your visit to Portland. Please think of us again someday in the future.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed at Doubletree in Portland last year and had nothing but good things to say. This year we went with another family and now they know why it's the best...warm pool for the kids, buffet breakfast for the kids in the morning was only $5.50, and the location next to the Maine Mall couldn't be better. Beds were very comfortable as well. Planning on another trip next year!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for making our hotel your "home away from home" these past two years. I'm very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at our property. Please feel free to contact me directly for your future trips!

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Double Tree by Hilton in Portland, ME. The staff was very helpful and friendly. You gotta love those warm chocolate cookies after a three hour drive! I had a special request for the acting manager, totally spur of the moment and he, (Brendan), was more than accommodating and helpful (: Thanks again Brendan! The barkeep, (all three), that we met over the weekend were great. Wonderful personalities! The rooms, by my standards, we very clean. The bathrooms, although were spotless, possibly need some updating with the toilets, showers and bathroom tiles. Just my opinion. But at least everything was clean (: We even ordered a cot for me which was very comfortable and for only $20! Overall stay was very good and although the Embassy Suites down the street offer more amenities the Double Tree made up for in niceness! Lol, thanks for listening (: Keep it REAL!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Portland. I'm very happy to hear that your stay went well, and I will be sure to pass along your feedback to housekeeping and Brendan. I will also let you know that we do plan on future renovations to the bathroom, so stay tuned! Thank you again, and I look forward to seeing you again someday soon.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Double Tree in Portland was a wonderful resting place for our family last weekend. The surroundings were lovely and the room attractive and quiet. I enjoyed the Starbucks downstairs where I got my morning coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Constance L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

I'd like to thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Portland, Maine. I'm very happy to hear that overall your stay was a pleasant one. I hope that during your future travel to this area, you decide to choose us again!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in the Junior Suite for three nights with my family, as a quick vacation to Maine. The hotel is excellent, except the pool was very cold, and no hot tub. The Executive Club breakfast hostess was rude. But, overall this is a very nice hotet, and well maintained. Free Parking, Free Wifi, and close to the most anything, makes this hotel very attractive compared to the downtown Portland hotels. We have stayed here in the past when it was Shearaton and Wyndam, but I think under Double Tree, the hotel became one of the best in Portland to my opinion. Keep the pool warm! And get better Executive Club Room hostess.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Muselyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel during your visits to Portland, Maine. I truly appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback so that we can know what went well, and more importantly what we can improve on. I will be certain to share your feedback with our management team, so that we can continue to be what you mentioned and what our hotel aspires to be.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Room was updated, but very tiny! Especially the bathroom. Wish I had looked over the other hotels better- would not go there if I had! They are renovating but fall short! Do NOT eat at this place, it's gross! I honestly can't say anything great about the place . . . Sorry!

Room Tip: Don't choose one! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

I'd like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your trip to Portland, Maine. While the content of your feedback is greatly alarming to me, I appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we can improve on. Without knowing what you had for dinner or when you ate, I can say that I shared your concerns with our Food and Beverage management team for review. Thank you once again for staying with our hotel and for your feedback. Please feel free to contact me directly with any other feedback that you may have.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My first and last stay at the Round Tower Double tree hilton in portland me. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean, those are the only 2 positives. the "no excuses" gym lacked much of the equipment I would normally use and find in my local gym. the AC in the room was loud and cycled on and off frequently (5-10 min). the exhaust fan in the bathroom sounded like a blender. The room was small for a couple, but this is where they put a family of 4, both my boys are 6 feet tall. The full beds are adequate for a single person, I squeezed in with my wife, while one of my sons slept on the floor. the hotel is on the outskirts of Portland, next to the airport and highway - so not an upscale area, so a rate of $309 is ridiculous. I've paid less for a room with 2 kings in downtown NYC. tired and disappointed

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with our property. While it is difficult for me to hear that the stay wasn't entirely pleasant, I appreciate you letting us know the things that we can improve on. I will also be sure to share your feedback both positive and constructive to our entire management team.

As you may be aware August in Maine is the states busiest month. All hotels are priced accordingly to the level of demand that comes up during this month. There are times where our hotel and all the others around us are $300+ each night, and that is always based upon the demand of the market.

I'd also like to add that our hotel has one of the largest and most modern fitness centers in the southern Maine market. We are certified by Precor an industry leader in fitness technology. While the hotel could never compete with a local gym, the fitness equipment is all brand new and the room is very large.

Thank you again for staying with us. Please feel free to contact me directly to share any other feedback that you may have.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
849 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,418 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
612 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £77 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing