We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay - Doubletree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were a spur of the moment overnight stay and at the Doubletree Portland. Our room was good and quite clean. The amenities were fine and we found we were quite happy with our decision. The location was close to many restaurants and shopping. I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Hema05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property after your most recent visit. I'm happy to hear that your spur of the moment decision to stay, had you stay with us! I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our staff.

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

776 - 782 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was looking for a place to spend the night after being at a meeting all day. My daughter and I chose this for the unique shape of the building. Wonderful stay. The room was clean and quiet. It was a good choice and would stay here again. Conveniently located to the Maine Mall too. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Felecia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

I'm happy to hear that your search for a hotel in Portland ended with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with our property. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our staff and please think of us again the next time you are in the area!

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had a king size room on the 8th (Hilton Honors) floor. I found the staff to be friendly and efficient. As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I was given access to the executive lounge which had appetizers and drinks during happy hour and sodas, coffee and snacks available at other times. This was handy and a nice surprise. The room was clean, contemporary and large, although the bathroom was a bit tight. The room had a fridge and microwave, which I was not expecting. The location was convenient, close to the Maine Mall and a multitude of restaurants. It was also close to the freeways and a quick drive to downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevenGause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for choosing our property during your visit to Portland, Maine. I appreciate you taking the time to evaluate our property, and I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our Executive lounge certainly sets us apart from the competition in the area, so please think of us again the next time you are in Portland.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel was nice, staff members were very pleasant. The construction on site made the experience the absolute worst. They were working first thing in the morning and not only was it extremely noisy. The entire bed shook every time they dug in the ground. This made my business trip extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for business while you were in Portland, Maine. Obviously the feedback that you shared is of great concern to me, and I will be passing it along to our owner. While construction to our parking lot and the surrounding area should be finished soon, the last thing that our hotel wants is for it to interrupt our guests. I truly apologize for this. I hope to see you for another business trip someday in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel was a very good place to attend a conference. It was easy to move around an attend differ classes. The food was the best in the area. The room are somewhat older but very clean. All in all I would be happy to attend the same conference next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback from your most recent visit to our property. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our management team, and give special "kudos" to our chef.

We hope to see you back again for your next conference!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Although this was still a decent stay with nothing that would keep me from coming back, it is the "worse" of the Hilton properties I've stayed in over the years. But "worse" for a Hilton property is still better than the worse out there.

I'll get to the problems later, but I'll start with the positives.

The staff were great (for the most part.) Check-in, restaurant, room service, and housekeeping were all very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. I ate at the hotel for most of my three night stay. All the entrees I had eating at the bar were great. It's very close to the airport and right across the street from the Maine Mall.

So the negatives.

When I first arrived, early, I merely inquired if there was a room available. I do this often and when there is not, no problem. I know I'm in early. However the young gentleman who I spoke with replied with a slightly attitude-filled "This is way too early for you to have a room available." Fortunately a young lady took over from him. I left my luggage with her and all was good. I returned at 1:30 and she was still there and excellent.

The hotel needs work. I was told by someone in the area it has recently been refurbished. Well only slightly if that is true. There are lots of detail problems that need attending to. The room doors have holes in them from where hardware used to be, only painted over, the holes still show. There are mold stains on the grout in my room. The bottom of the bathroom door shows signs of water damage and warping that was only painted over. A vacuum cleaner was left in one of the (very slow to get) elevators one day while there was grass all over the lobby at the same time. Weird. The man who was cleaning non-occupied rooms later at night one evening had the remains of a six pack of Bud Light on his cleaning cart and an open beer. His cart remained in the hallway much of the evening.

All in all it wasn't a terrible stay. Just definitely not up to the Hilton/Doubletree standards that I'm accustomed to.

Additionally there is lots of parking lot or something construction going on around the entrance to the hotel. The rude construction workers doing this block different parts of the driveways so you don't know where to go and then are nasty because you are confused. Real jerks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for choosing our property while you were in Portland, Maine. I appreciate you taking the time to evaluate us on what we do well and more importantly what we need to improve on.

You certainly bring up some very valid points, especially in the area of training our staff. When you arrived to check in on the day you did, I know that the hotel was sold out the night prior. Regardless of if we could get you into your room or not at the time, the hotel should certainly have a better response.

I will also share your feedback regarding the construction crew with our ownership. While they have a job to do, our guests our most important. There should be no reason for anyone with the crew to be rude or act like a "jerk" as you mentioned. This I can assure you will be addressed immediately.

Thank you again for staying with us. Please think of our hotel again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Their restaurant offers decent choices of food.I am a vegan and had no problem. I had Steel cut Oats with fruit- was great! Orderd a tasty veggie plate for dinner. Had a nice bar next to restaurant and a Starbucks.. and a Chipolte Grille next door.Who could ask for any more !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our property from your last visit. I will be sure to pass along your feedback to our food and beverage team. Please think of us again the next time you are in the Portland area.

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
843 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,408 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
611 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing