We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-week short visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is very beautiful and the room was clean and comfortable. I would not recommend the room service but the bar downstairs was great. They had a limited menu but the food was very good. It is in a very good location with alot of businesses around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. It's always nice to hear what went well and just as importantly what we can improve on. I will share your feedback regarding our room service with our Food and Beverage Manager. The next time you visit us, I do hope that you will have a better experience with it!

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts about our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

stayed 5 days for a business trip. Staff were exceptional, food was good but limited, room was nice and i slept like a baby. The location was convenient, everything i needed with close by. Had a chance to check out old port, the hotel staff gave me some great recommendations! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property from your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that you had the chance to see what Portland has to offer! I will be sure to pass along your nice feedback to our staff as well. The next time you are in the area, please think of us.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everything we needed was there. The landscaping was in process of being updated. It should really nice now. It had a bar, a restaurant, a pool, a workout room, and warm cookies. Plenty of stores in walking distance. Close to Old Port and lighthouses. Close driving to beaches and other tourist spots. Easy to get to and easy access to the highway entrances. Would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your visit to our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. Our location is very convenient for guests who are looking to be close by to beaches, golf courses, shopping and it is just a short distance from downtown Portland!

Our parking lot construction has been finished and the landscaping is almost complete! Come see us again to see the finished product!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

When first arriving at the Doubletree in Portland, I had high expectations. I couldn't have been more wrong. When first arriving in our room, it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, even though they stated how it was a smoke free hotel, with the closest designated smoking area 50 feet away from the door (nevermind that I was on the 7th floor). We brought this up to the front desk staff and the woman noted in the computer that we were not responsible. She offered us a room change, but we mistakenly declined. Later on that evening while preparing for bed, my fiance and I were getting into beds (I'd mistakenly booked two double beds for us instead of a king). She discovered a half empty bottle of hotel lotion underneath her sheets, leading us to believe that our sheets had not been changed at all, merely just maid back over when the bed was made. We then went down to the front desk to inform them of this. The person at the front desk offered a very unenthusiastic, general apology and went to talk to the manager (whom never showed their face). The staff member came back out and told us they would drop $15 from our bill and send someone up with sheets. About 15 minutes later, someone arrived, dropped of our sheets without a word and left us to change our own sheets (mind you it's now after midnight). Due to the time an the fact that we were exhausted, we c hanged the sheets on our beds only to realize that they hadn't given us any new pillowcases. We called the front desk yet again and ask for new pillowcases. After another 15 minutes, the same person brought us two pillowcases. Two pillowcases would be fine, however we had a room with 8 total pillowcases in it. Instead of calling and creating more of an issue, we sucked it up and went to bed figuring we'd deal with it in the morning. Upon checkout, we were not asked how our stay was and dismissed rather rudely by the front desk staff. I would not book a room with Doubletree Portland again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I can't apologize enough for the issues that you encountered while you were at our property. This truly is not a depiction of who we are or what we want to be.

I have addressed all of these issues with our staff, and I assure you that the response that was made will not happen again.

With all this said, you had mentioned to our staff that you wanted to receive compensation for the lack of service and all of the issues that occurred. You had mentioned that you would be sharing your feedback on social media sites for others to be aware. It is just unfortunate that this situation wasn't handled differently, as our hotel did not charge you for the night.

I know that you mentioned you will not be back with us. Should you change your mind, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We held our conference at the Hilton Doubletree hotel in Portland Maine. The experience was excellent. Staff were always professional and available to assist and answer questions. Service was fast, and the food was very good. The conference facilities are designed well and run well. The location across from the Maine Mall was a bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel for a conference, business or individual stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit to our property. It is nice to hear that your conference went well and you enjoyed our accommodations and service. I hope you think of us again the next time you are in the Portland area!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ease of Check in and check out Meals were very good Great for conferences Did use the pool area but advised it was a good experience Parking was free of charge and close Would stay aqain if in the area

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our property. It is certainly nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel while you were here. Our complimentary amentias cater well to both our business travels and our leisure ones! Hopefully we see you soon in either travel fashion!

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My organization booked us here for our weekend conference and I'm glad they did. I had a great time, and the staff seemed happy to serve. I'd recommend this to anyone seeking gracious, confident, trouble-free hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback from your recent trip to our property. It is truly a pleasure to hear the feedback that you provided, and I will be sure to pass it along to our team. I hope you think of us again the next time you are in the Portland!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#2 of 13 in South Portland
807 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in South Portland
1,349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £99 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing