We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stay here often for business and find the staff helpful and cheerful. The restaurant is low-key, but has excellent food and service, and the location (across the street from the Maine Mall) provides easy access to stores and many restaurants by foot if needed. The shuttle to the airport is free and convenient if you need it. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I'd like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel and the Hilton brand! We truly enjoy you choosing our hotel as your home away from home! Thank you for sharing your feedback, and I will see you again soon!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We are hilton gold members, so when they gave us our room we got to the floor and it said welcome honors members,this is the 1st time I have ever seen this in a hotel it makes it feel like the hard earned gold status we have strived for was well worth stuggling to keep it and we had a good few evening meals 1st hotel we have ever seen that goes out of the way to fix a meal in the rewards center for honors members, 1 nite they had chicken, salad, potatoe salad, desert, breakfast was always just as good, so we could not have made a better choice it was on the pricey side but figuring in meals also not bad,plus we got the warm cookies upon check in, and drink coupons so as far as hilton members this was 1st time ANYWHERE we have been treated so well, so for this I am so glad we stayed there.

Room Tip: If you are honors members stay on the 9th floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtlegirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Portland, Maine. While we truly value each and every one of our guests, we really look to go the extra mile with our Hilton Gold and Diamond members. The loyalty that is brought to the brand by our Hilton Honors members should be rewarded and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience!

Think of us the next time you are in the area!

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for baseball tournament nearby. Warm cookies on checkin were great! Room was clean and adequate. Morning team breakfast was fine. There are a number of inexpensive dining options within walking distance and mall is across the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with our property during the baseball tournament you attended this past month. While it seems that the rooms, service and food were good, you feel it could have been better. If there is anything that you think would have made the stay more enjoyable, I would love to hear!

Thank you again for staying with us.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely hotel. We were lucky to get a room at the last minute. The room was comfy and so were the beds. A little expensive esp. since there was no complimentary breakfast. But we had a drink at the bar and that was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 698Billy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your last minute trip to Portland, Maine. During our busy summer season it can certainly be difficult to get room’s last minute, so it was nice to hear that it worked out for you!

With that said rates can generally be lower the further out that you book. So if you have a time period in mind, always give us a call in advance to book the lowest rate!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

As good as any 5 Star Hotel, the staff is the BEST and the food is excellent. Good Gym, pool, a very clean, high end and comfortable room, nice lobby and, again, the staff is as friendly and helpful as any I have met.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing our property as your home away from home! As I mentioned to you before, we always enjoy your visits and are looking forward to many more in the future!

I'll certainly share your feedback regarding our service with the team! See you soon!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My lady friend and i travel regularly around Maine to visit friends and family. This was our first of what i'm sure will be many stays here!

Property is very clean. Food and drink is top notch. Check and and check out very efficient thanks to the front desk team of Arial, Angie and a couple others i sadly forget names of. Restaurant staff Betty was very friendly and fun to talk with.

Travis the van driver has a very nice demeanor and was always smiling. He made two great restaurant recommendations on the day we decided to eat outside the property.

Pool and fitness room are a nice touch. Good vibes and karma all around.

Check this place out!

Room Tip: We stayed in the East tower. Not sure what the difference is between that one and the main tower but...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit to our property.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our service, especially from Ariel, Angie, Travis and Betty. I will be sure to pass along your kind regards to them!

With our recent and future changes, your question is exactly right: Why stay anywhere else?

Come see us again soon!

All the best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel 6/23 for business. Spend 100-120 nights per year in Hilton properties, and would classify this D/T property as average.

Pros: Inviting staff, spacious executive lounge, well priced food at restaurant. Reasonable room rates.

Cons: Room was colossally tired, and badly needed renovation. To me, I can care less about the lobby, restaurant, hallways, etc. If the hotel wants to have repeat stays from guests, spend what money is available for renovations on the rooms, and move out from there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

I'd like to start by thanking you for choosing our property and your loyalty to the Hilton brand. It is always nice to hear feedback from our valued Diamond members about what our property can improve on.

Our ownership is committed to ongoing renovations to improve upon our product. In recent months we have undergone exterior renovations to our parking lot, and landscaping. In future months we have plans for our guestrooms as well. The plan is to update the look and feel of all guest rooms as well as the corridors.

I truly appreciate your honest feedback, and I will be sharing it directly with my owner. Thank you again for staying with us!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
807 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 13 in South Portland
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in South Portland
1,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £99 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing