We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel with small issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I really like the location and the hotel except for my mattress and there is no fridge in the room. The staff was friendly but i asked for early check in which didn't happen and I was promised. I would still go back here again because of the location and it looks pretty. I also loved the pool

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sheronda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let me know how everything went with your recent stay. While I wish everything went exactly perfect, I do appreciate you letting me know what your issues were so I can share them with the staff and make improvements. It is also not often that we hear of guests having issues with our mattresses as they are brand new Hilton sweet dreams mattresses. With that said, if you would like to provide further feedback as to what room you were in feel free to reach out to me.

Thank you again for choosing our property. Hopefully I will see you again someday soon!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

the hotel is nice but the parking lot is very open and no security you leave car at risk . staff are very pleasant. there are no refrigerators in room . they leave the doors off the second tower unlocked till ten pm anyone can walk in. this is not what you pay for when you pay their rates . the cookie is good . the pool is great and the hours are great but not worth the price. the room was neat but not clean mildew in bath room. my wife did find stay hair in the bed. they are much better then this. the over sight must be missing so save money and go to cheaper 3 star hotel

Room Tip: any room is ok but due to security go some where else also rooms not cleanest
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brad9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

I wanted to sincerely apologize for the experience that you had with our property. Certainly housekeeping and the cleanliness of our entire hotel is of the upmost importance to me and all of management here at our property.

I'd also like to share that rate and price are relative to season. With that said rates during our busy summer months are going to be reflective of what all hotels are selling at that are in our competitive set. During our offseason months this would be the same, so that may change not only your feeling about our property, but other properties in the area during high season.

Thank you again for staying with our property.

Warm Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Staff are very nice and the restaurant food exceeded my expectations. The beds are comfortable as always. The bathroom could have used a little bleach but other than that a nice stay. Saw families with kids have a wonderful time in the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Daisy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for choosing our property and sharing your feedback from your recent visit. It is nice to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us. If you wanted to share any more details regarding your housekeeping experience, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Thank you again for staying with us!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Hotel was clean with good service. Restaurant service for breakfast was poor. I had to ask for water to drink each of the three days i was there. Get up and ask for refills at the bar and listen to why the food was not available each of the three mornings when I arrived after 6:30.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with our restaurant. I certainly will be sharing this feedback with our food and beverage team, and we will use it as a tool to get better. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your visit, and I can assure you that this type of feedback will make us focus more on the details!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We were staying overnight in Portland en route to New York. This hotel is in a good location and is well kept and comfortable. Our service was very good. The only downside is the cost -- it is a bit pricey for what you get. The cookies are a nice touch and delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for choosing our property during your trip to Portland, Maine. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. As for the rates this time of year, they are relative to the market. This is high season, so our rates and rate at other properties will be a lot higher than other times of year.

Thanks again for staying with us, and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are always please with our stay at the Double Tree in Maine. Our daughter's wedding reception and hotel stay for many family and friends was here. They talk about it still - a year later! And when we checked in for a recent visit to celebrate out 28th anniversary, the staff remembered us from our daughter's wedding. We love the personal touch!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I'm very happy to hear that you continue to choose our hotel as the place to get away while you are in Portland, Maine. Your daughter’s wedding reception was such a nice event for the hotel that the whole staff truly enjoyed. Happy anniversary once again, and come see us for next year’s anniversary!

Best Regards,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel was awesome. Great location that is convenient to everything. Staff was incredible and provided comfort in a tough situation (last flight out for the night was canceled...). Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jaimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick S, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to our property. It is very nice to hear that even in a difficult situation, out hotel and staff came through for you! Please think of us again the next time you are in the Portland area!

Best,

Nick Shumate
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#2 of 13 in South Portland
807 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in South Portland
1,349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 13 in South Portland
602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland

Address: 363 Maine Mall Rd, South Portland, ME 04106-3214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Portland
Price Range: £99 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated DoubleTree by Hilton® Portland Maine is ideally located just minutes from Portland's International Jetport, historic downtown Portland, and situated right next door to Maine's largest mall, The Maine Mall. Make yourself comfortable in our newly renovated guestrooms with thoughtful amenities including Sweet Dreams Beds, complimentary high-speed internet, and ergonomic workstations. Enjoy a dip in our refreshing indoor heated pool or get a great work out in our Fitness Room featuring Precor® exercise equipment. Stop by the Blue Wave Grille to enjoy a savory meal for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Unwind after a long day at our bar and lounge. Also, offering 10 versatile meeting spaces, on site catering, AV rental, and a devoted team, the DoubleTree by Hilton Portland Maine is the ideal space for your business meeting or event. We look forward to welcoming you to our property with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham South Portland
South Portland Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing