We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel with our two children as a weekend get a away. The room we stayed in was a suite. The beds were comfortable. We were able to use the pool which was nice during a winter day. The room was very clean. The only issue I had was that we actually had to wait until 3pm to check in. I have never had any problems before with any hotel checking in early. We showed up at 2:15 trying to get into our room. The lady at the front desk stated that it was not ready yet. When we showed back up at 3, my fiance signed up for some kind of privledge card of some sort. Come to find out, you can use the points you earn to check in early. I am not a big fan of this. With not being able to check in until 3 pm and having to check out an hour earlier because of day light savings time, it felt like we were barely there. I feel that if your room is ready, you should not have to use rewards points to check in early. I stayed at a Motel 6 two weeks ago and was able to check in at 10 am. I understand that places want to have special rewards, etc, but to make someone use points to get in early, is not right in my view. If the room is ready, let me check in. Besides this, the place is very nice. Breakfast in the morning had all kinds of items including; eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, cereal, bagles, toast, muffins, etc. All in all, a nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    130
    80
    45
    28
See reviews for
130
103
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Shopping around for prices, I decided to take a chance on the Holiday Inn Express Park and Fly.
I was not disappointed at all. The price was fantastic, the cookies warm, and the bed comfortable. Shuttle service was provided to the airport in a very timely manner. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, Dorset
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here as part of a road trip through the area, found the hotel to be clean, with comfy beds, a hot shower, and free breakfast, wifi and parking, plus very friendly manager and staff on reception. A good value for money hotel. If you want the Four Seasons, pay for it!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gecko7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed here for one night. The hotel was pretty close to the airport and the mall area, which was nice. When arriving at the reception I was welcomed very neutral. This instantly affected my stay here. I started to notice things here in a slight negative way. I was surprised positively with the room. It was clean and comfortable. The bed was good and I slept well.
One thing I did not understand at all. The hotel is situated along a highway and close to a major airport, but breakfast was served earliest at 7 o´clock?

If you are really hungry, just walk to the Ramada hotel. There they still have a nice restaurant to serve you good food with good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikingOlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear VikingOlaf,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomaston, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

This property is average, but apparently undergoing renovations. The lobby was nicely appointed and the staff were very personable. Our room was a king suite on the fifth floor. The bathroom was spotless, but we did find candy wrappers behind the coach. One of two phones was broken. The heating and air conditioning unit was covered with dirt and dust inside. We decided not to use the unit since the temperature was OK as it was. The internet service worked well and was free. There were several free choices for breakfast but the hot items were very poorly prepared and unappetizing. This is clearly a hotel in transition but not sure weather it is improving or deteriorating.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

I've stayed at numerous hotels in my life, but the one night we stayed here was one of the worse. The room had an awful smell when we walked in that we thought was from a prior guest smoking. So we thought if we turned on the air we could try to air it out. The smell wouldn't go away and upon closer look we saw water pooling on the air conditioner unit. Apparently it was a reoccurring problem because when we woke up in the morning from the sun blaring in, we realized the curtains had been cut from water damage. We also waited over an hour for linens for one of the beds, and almost two hours for a table at breakfast, which was cold. Luckily we switched to another hotel, but this was disheartening because the esthetics of the building were wonderful and the reputation of Holiday Inn & Suites is generally well earned.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DionneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear DionneA,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the unusual conditions of the room you received. Your comments have been shared with our maintenance team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your future travels.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Portland hotels

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel is not what is was twp years ago. The rooms/furnishings are in need of a major overhaul as they are looking very tired and worn. Housekeeping also, needs to pay better attention as they clean ( we found 13 peanut butter packets in a drawer in the room - a great way to invite bugs to visit) as well as dust and stained sheets . This Hotel has so much potential but next time we will be staying elsewhere in South Portland!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEIGUY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Dear PEIGUY1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Address: 303 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing