We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well run, comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here, and will stay again when we are in the area. The reception area is cheerful, and the staff very helpful. We arrived around midnight, and they sent the shuttle to the airport to pick us up. While its looks small, the breakfast area serves a lot of people remarkably easily. The coffee is good, and the selection more varied than I have seen in other hotels. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had enough chairs for the two of us!....... thank you, Holiday Inn :) It is close to the airport, highways and a large mall, but is in a quiet area with a lawn and nice landscaping. It wasn't the cheapest hotel in the area, but we think we got our moneys-worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxbabe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel itself was not bad.....despite the fact that the tack strip (for the carpet) between the bathroom and the bedroom area had 3 tacks sticking out (sharp side). I stepped on it three times.....spoke to the front desk and they just apologized.

Breakfast was terrrrrrible! We've stayed at Holiday Inn Express Hotels before and the breakfasts are usually pretty decent. This one had some sort of "omelette"....looked like fake eggs made to look like a soft taco shell, folded over, and on the inside was some sort of concoction (guessing it was ham and red peppers in some sort of sauce...only about a tablespoon of it at that) that looked like wet pencil erasers. The egg tasted like cardboard and I couldn't make myself eat the filling.

Coffee was super weak. So was the orange juice. Decided to stick with the hard boiled egg and some prepacked yogurt.

Not overly impressed with this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Susan C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the breakfast options has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here because we didn't book a Hampton Inn room ahead of time and when we arrived they were sold out.
This was our first Holiday Inn Express and in many ways it is similar to what we are used to, but it is over priced for what you get.
The room was nice and clean.
The breakfast and presentation was below average!
The biggest turn off of our stay was the grumpy gentleman who was trying to keep the food stocked, he looked out of place, it reminded me of a manager or owner who was too cheap to hire proper staff and was trying to do it himself.
This place is ok, I would stay again if I had to but I will be making reservations in advance next time so I won't have to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear mark t,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am so pleased to hear that you like our room accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I'm sorry to see you received staff service and breakfast that was less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the chance of hosting your stay again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

In Portland for a wedding, I was looking for a place to sleep that was cheap. No frills, just a clean place to lay my head. Well, I was quite surprised when I arrived! Was I expecting to walk into a room with a seperate kitchenette, a fully-equiped work desk and ergonomic chair, a deliciously fluffy bed, a flat-screen television, and a sparking and polished bathroom?

Ummm...no.

Simply put, this hotel is an amazing value with everything you need to make your visit comfortable, be it one night or many. Well done, Holiday Inn! You really threw me for a loop here!

(Actual Travel Date: May 2009)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We saw this motel listing on my smart phone search and it was a good price and the location was good for us as it was right off the highway and it was time to stop for the day.. Holiday Inn Express are very consistently good places to stay. This was certainly was and the price was good so we stayed an extra night so we could go sightseeing in Maine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LasVegasSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is a great location for shopping (the Maine Mall and Target) and if you want to do to Portland you just have to take the highway.( ~10 min.) We stayed 2 nights. WiFI signal not very got. (Not all bars depending which room you are in) Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a typical mid-range hotel. It was clean, comfortable stay for what you pay. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. There is an Egg and I Restaurant adjacent to this hotel, something that made us stay here rather than other like-hotels in the area. Just fine for a night or two.

Room Tip: The room faces a main thoroughfare in the front and a highway in the back - I don't think it rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#4 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#5 of 13 in South Portland
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: £77 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing