We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I searched for an economical night's stay in the area and found this facility to exceed our expectations. We got a king room with couch, chair, desk, & mini kitchenette. There was no view to speak of, but that didn't bother us. We were close to the jetport & highway, so there was a bit of noise, but nothing that kept us awake. The room clean and comfortable, & the bed was comfortable. If I had a complaint, I would mention the pillows: totally flaccid.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bperkins1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

As a holiday inn express it does its job.

The first thing that struck me was just how musty and smokey the corridor was on the top (suites) floor was. Lord knows when smoking stopped, but perhaps the carpet is the same. It was the same in the room. It is kind of amusing to read the small print of a couple of hundred dollars to fumigate a room if you choose to smoke. I wonder if it works the other way?

The other amusing thing is that we booked a King bed suite. You know, it was for two of us. Perhaps unusually for a married couple we like to sleep next to eAch other just like we do at home. That worked just fine. Unfortunately for a suite, there was only one comfy chair ... Hey, with a footrest. So we are tossing a coin on who might like to sit comfortably. The conclusion is one sites, one sleeps. I know, I know, one bed, one person maybe. Two chairs is not a lot to ask.

I was marginally excited to find my wife had booked us a suite. But then I am the one who currently has the comfy chair...

It is fine, but I wouldn't rush to return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sheet_bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Sheet_bend,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here while on our way to visit family - and have stayed in lots of Holiday Inns. As expected the hotel itself was clean and functional, the free breakfast was good and the room was clean and spacious. The staff at this hotel, however, were less than impressive. The young lady at the front desk was dressed in a gray hoodie and barely noticed our presence at any time. On checkout, another clerk also had very casual dress and we had to "interrupt" them to get our bill t pay. Compared to other recent stays, the staff at this hotel need some serious lessons in customer service - not rude or anything, just didn't give off that "I care" attitude...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear bc_2008NovaScotia,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

There is a disclaimer when you walk into the reception to pardon the inconvenience, but improvements are being made to the hotel. I suppose they are starting with the lobby, our room, 314, had not been renovated.
Check in was a breeze at the rate AARP agreed upon. Once we got upstairs and saw that our room was the closest to the elevator, we were a bit concerned. As it turned out, we were never bothered. Couldn't hear it all.
Room was a king suite. It would have been okay had it not been so dated and there were stains on the wall by the sink. Also, the a/c fan was so loud we had to really turn up the volume on the tv.
We were originally booked at the Hilton Garden Inn closest to the airport, but decided to save about $60.00. Unable to partake of the breakfast due to early flight.

Room Tip: Room 314 faces the airport and beside the elevator, but don't let either scare you off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear MissBonie,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy that your check in experience went smoothly. I apologize if the refurbishments were a bit of a dissatisfaction. We are excited to show you what we have done and hope you can give us another opportunity in the future to host you again.

Again, thank you for your review.

Kindest Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have not stayed at a holiday inn in years. We were pleasantly surprised. Rooms were spacious and clean. Nice for families that want a little extra space. Staff was friendly. Pool was clean. This rating does not imply that this hotel is on par with a ritz Carlton or something of that nature. However, for a basic hotel it was great. We also had no problem with the free breakfast. More than a continental breakfast... Cereal, yogurt, pancakes, bagels, toast, juice, bacon sausage...it was enough to get us started for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just spent 3 nights here, and will stay again when we are in the area. The reception area is cheerful, and the staff very helpful. We arrived around midnight, and they sent the shuttle to the airport to pick us up. While its looks small, the breakfast area serves a lot of people remarkably easily. The coffee is good, and the selection more varied than I have seen in other hotels. Our room was clean and comfortable, and had enough chairs for the two of us!....... thank you, Holiday Inn :) It is close to the airport, highways and a large mall, but is in a quiet area with a lawn and nice landscaping. It wasn't the cheapest hotel in the area, but we think we got our moneys-worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxbabe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel itself was not bad.....despite the fact that the tack strip (for the carpet) between the bathroom and the bedroom area had 3 tacks sticking out (sharp side). I stepped on it three times.....spoke to the front desk and they just apologized.

Breakfast was terrrrrrible! We've stayed at Holiday Inn Express Hotels before and the breakfasts are usually pretty decent. This one had some sort of "omelette"....looked like fake eggs made to look like a soft taco shell, folded over, and on the inside was some sort of concoction (guessing it was ham and red peppers in some sort of sauce...only about a tablespoon of it at that) that looked like wet pencil erasers. The egg tasted like cardboard and I couldn't make myself eat the filling.

Coffee was super weak. So was the orange juice. Decided to stick with the hard boiled egg and some prepacked yogurt.

Not overly impressed with this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Susan C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the breakfast options has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#5 of 13 in South Portland
458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 13 in South Portland
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#6 of 13 in South Portland
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing