We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is convenient to many restaurants and a short drive to the airport. It was perfect for one night before my flight went out the next morning. The room was large, clean and comfortable. It had a small kitchenette, a living area with a couch and a bedroom and bathroom. The only issue was the parking, it was very full and they almost ran out of spaces. Due to the construction, you had a longish walk to get into the hotel as there was no back entrance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express room 106 for three days on a shopping trip to South Portland. The hotel is conveniently located with easy access to all the stores. I booked the hotel under the impression that I was giving a non refundable deposit for 1/2 the first night but when I got there they took the entire first nights room as a deposit. Not a big deal but it seems that the central booking and the hotel staff are not on the same page. The room was a little run down .... the doorknob was broken, the safety lock was broken and pictures were missing from the wall. Construction is going on in the back of the hotel we we were woken up every morning at 7am with the work going on outside. However, the rooms are perfect for several adults travelling together and have two double beds, a sofa bed and a roll away cot will also fit into the room easily! The room is large and comfortable and conveniently located so I would definitely return. Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel away from the construction. Be prepared that the central booking non refundable deposits that are quoted to you may be different when you arrive at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are quieter as construction is going on at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel in May 2014. I've read some other reviews about this hotel before writing mine just to make sure that I wasn't the only one disappointed. There was hair (long and short) in the tub, on the walls, and on the shower curtain. It was disturbing. Before I checked in, while standing at the check-in desk, I asked the girl working the desk, if there was Bacon in the breakfast. Who doesn't love bacon for breakfast? She assured me there was so we stayed. Well, the next morning there was no Bacon. When I asked about it, they said they "alternate days" for Bacon. So, the guests that stayed the day before me got the Bacon but I didn't because I stayed on the "alternate day" but paid the same rate?? Most travelers stay one night. It'd be nice if every Holiday Inn Express had the SAME breakfast every day for ALL guests. There were sausages but I don't eat sausages. So, please change your policy to offer it every day. Every day you have new guests. Shouldn't we all get Bacon? This may seem like a small thing to some, but the point is .....why offer it on alternate days when the majority of guests stay just one night? Between the girl promising me there was Bacon and the hairs in the tub/shower, I will never stay at this hotel again. FYI: Choose a room on the front of the Hotel. The garbage guys empty the dumpsters out back at 3am. It's very startling to wake up to a loud banging noise at 3am (like I did).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear CanadianGirl66,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. I appreciate that you have chosen our hotel for your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that we haven failed to meet your expectations regarding our rooms and breakfast. Your comments are very important to us for this will help us with our goal to continuously improve on our service. I have taken note of your concern and forwarded it our hotel management so we can serve you better in the future.

I hope we have the chance to give you the best hotel experience on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I really enjoy this hotel, great service, helpful and friendly staff, accommodating.
The rooms are roomy and comfortable--- love, love, love the suites!
Beds very comfortable.
Suite has microwave and refrigerator and stocked with some dishes.
Very close to Mall, and not far from waterfront and Old Port!

Room Tip: Had a pool which we very much enjoyed. Also work out room. Decent breakfast and plenty and good ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linnea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel 3-27-14 thru 04-01-14 and it was a total disappointment. My room was on the 6th floor and upon getting off the elevator the smell hit me in the face. I was just nasty. Hoping once I got into the room it would get better, but it only got worse from there. The room was dated and musty as well. I decided to make the best of it, seeing that I was not going to spend anytime in this room except for sleeping and showering purposes. I just attributed it to being a Hotwire room, as I did book it thru Hotwire. Well, I actually slept there for 3 out of the 5 nights, but on the 4th night I couldn't take it anymore. I called down to the front desk to tell them of the musty smell and other issues and before I could finish telling him of my concerns, there was somebody at my door ready to help move me. They put me in a room on the 4th floor, the furniture was still frayed on the corners, but I was finally able to breath must free. On my last night as usual, a bill was slipped under the door. Not having ordered any services, and having pre-paid thru Hotwire, I was surprised to see they gave me a bill for 14 dollars and some change. At that point, I was just done with them, called Hotwire and they straightened it out with them. When I mentioned it to the clerk at the desk, she just shrugged it off. Overall, I was very disappointed with this stay and will never here again.

Room Tip: Stay off the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear sandra770,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

I am disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room condition particularly with the smell and we are truly sorry for the dissatisfaction you had with our level of service.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The first room i checked into had a broken lamp and i could hear every word of the family next door. So, they graciously moved me to another room that really was no better. The layout of the both rooms was horrible. The bathroom was practically in the bed with me. The TV was weirdly floating on a piece of furniture awkwardly in small space between the combo bed/bathroom and the living/kitchen. It was LOUD. I could hear next door AND above me probably because the bathroom above me was right over the sleeping area.

The walls needed a good scrub and there was a beer bottle cap on the floor. That just makes you think they aren't cleaning very thoroughly.

I'm really not picky, but i was quite surprised at how rundown this place felt.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marisapNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear marisapNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and superior accommodations. It seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to the noise and conditions of your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves in. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We were here for 1 night. Service was good, rooms were clean. Beds were comfy. Had a good night sleep. I was actually surprised at the size of the suite with 2 double beds. A lot larger than expected. A few small issues. No info book in the room. Not a huge deal, but it's nice to look at what hotel and area have to offer. Breakfast was sub par. They had great cinnamon buns like always, but the fruit looked like it was there for quite some time. It was by no means fresh or edible. The eggs looked like prison food. I made due with a bagel and cream cheese. They are renovating now, so I'm sure that was the cause, but the windows were leaking during a heavy rain storm. I don't think we'd return. I'd spring for the one in the old port. They have a hot tub and a nicer pool area.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LisaLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#2 of 13 in South Portland
862 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
Best Western Merry Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in South Portland
1,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#7 of 13 in South Portland
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Portland, Me
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#6 of 13 in South Portland
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Address: 303 Sable Oaks Dr, South Portland, ME 04106-3279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range: £66 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing