We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good points:
-Convenient location. The hotel is near everything but off the main road therefore away from traffic noise. South Portland is a great place to stay for those who don't want to pay the exorbitant hotel rates of downtown Portland.
-Quick, easy check-in with friendly and efficient staff.
-Well-equipped room with refrigerator, coffee maker, plates, silverware, lots of pillows and towels.
-Tote bag with snacks and water included. (We were unclear if it was free at first but clarified with reception.)
-They fulfilled my IHG rewards account request for a room on a high floor away from the elevator. However, it was right across the hall from the ice machine which was noisy but it didn’t keep me awake or anything.

Bad points:
-Breakfast, which was included in our stay, ends at 9:30. I'm a late riser but that just seems unnecessarily early, especially on the weekend. As a result, we missed it.
-The room had some design flaws. The sink was outside of the shower/toilet room. That's fine, but as a result the shower room was quite small. Also, since there was a living room and bedroom separated by a half wall they put the TV in the middle between the two, so no one has a good angle to view the screen. The TV does not swivel and you have to move the whole thing.
-We didn't watch much TV anyway because it took several seconds to switch from one channel to the next. This may seem minor but is pretty annoying over time when you do not have a TV guide and must flip through the channels.
-There was a mildew stain on the tile grout just outside the shower. Some bleach and a scrub brush could fix that.
-For most of our stay (2 nights) there was a housekeeping trolley parked in the vending/ice machine room. It blocked the vending machine almost entirely. It seemed a little careless and inconsiderate.
Anyway, not a terrible stay, not a great stay, just o.k.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Not_from_here617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Not_from_here617,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is great to hear that you have not encountered any problems at check in. On the other hand, I would like to apologize that some items are not working in the room. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    130
    80
    45
    28
See reviews for
130
103
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

One exit from downtown Portland, this hotel was clean and comfortable, with an accommodating and friendly staff. Prices were MUCH better than staying in Portland itself. Breakfast was the typical HIE fare, but plentiful. We stayed 3 nights, no problems at all. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vpmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights this past week. Everything went well! The breakfast was pretty good... the only problem was that they ran out of a few items... but it was still good. Our room was big and spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The worst experience I've had at a Holiday Inn. Started with the receptionist at check in. What a grouch!! Them she stuck us in the room by the elevator! Noisy!!! I'm sure there were plenty of other rooms, the lot wasn't even half full!!Bed was as hard as a rock. This was not what I expected when I decided to stay there. For the money we spent we could have gone to a cheaper hotel and gotten a better room and saved money. Very disappointing since we have stayed at Holiday Inns before and had fabulous experiences. Won't stay there again, will go to the Marriott next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Stephanie K,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. We would like to apologize for the issues you had during check-in and the room accommodations you had was less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Portland hotels

Bakersfield, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived with 3 grandkids in tow. Requested roll away. It arrived with no bedding. Pull out sofa had no bedding. Had to call front desk. Bedding arrived still very damp. Called front desk again. Blankets provided for roll away and pull out had holes in them.....appeared to be cigarette burns. Had to make the beds myself. No mattress pads on either pull out or roll away. Mattresses very iffy. Sheets and pillowcases, as well as bedding were well worn and not the crisp bedding I have experienced in other Holiday Inns. I paid for a suite and felt as though I was at Motel 6. Cannot recommend this particular Holiday Inn

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I don't recommend staying here. There are several good things about this hotel, but they are all useless because of the cleanliness and smell of the room. Although the staff was nice when I complained, the room was "cleaned" twice more by someone who obviously had vision and scent issues because it only slightly changed from thoroughly disgusting to less thoroughly disgusting. I can't say I would ever stay there again and they have soiled (pun intended) our family's view of Holiday Inn hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisatravels4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lisatravels4608,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our staff commendable. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again here in South Portland.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.We were a party of four with dog and were quite comfortable in their suite style rooms. Rooms are clean and they are pet friendly. It is located in a quiet area and there is a sidewalk to walk your dog. Free wifi worked well and enjoyed the complementary hot breakfast. Restaurants within a five minute drive. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank qlidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Portland
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.2 mi away
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks
#4 of 12 in South Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland
Address: 303 Sable Oaks Drive, South Portland, ME 04106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > South Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in South Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express South Portland Hotel at Sable Oaks. Renovated in June of 2006, we are updated to provide you with the best service!Hotel features include free local phone calls, free wireless Internet, pool and fitness center, and a complimentary Express Start Continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, hard boiled eggs, and yogurt. Recently we've introduced hot items such as sausage and eggs! We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Located conveniently next to the Maine Mall and only a short distance from the Freeport and Kittery outlet malls, the South Portland Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay while you shop. Just two miles away from the Portland Jetport, our free shuttle will be there to pick you up and bring you directly to the hotel. Visit South Portland, Maine, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites South Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites South Portland
Holiday Inn Express South Portland
Holiday Inn South Portland
South Portland Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing